Log in

View Full Version : Question about variables stored in a db


error_22
09-10-2006, 04:46 AM
Hi,

I have this script which calls html codes from a database:


$sql = "SELECT * FROM `plugin_frontpage`";
$result = mysql_query($sql) or die(mysql_error());
while ($row = mysql_fetch_object($result))
{
$pf_content = $row->pf_content;
}


The above is stored in a file called plugins.php. Now, theres only one row in that table, and it contains the following html code:


<html>
<head>
<title>En Testsida</title>
</head>
<body><h1>En Testsida</h1><hr>
Nyheter:<br />
<br />
<b>$pfn_title</b><br />
$pfn_content<br />
<br />
</body>
</html>


As you see, there are 2 variables in that html code, and they come from the following mysql query, which is placed in the same file as the first query, i should also add that its placed above the first query:


$sql = "SELECT * FROM `plugin_frontpage_news` ORDER BY `pfn_id` DESC";
$result = mysql_query($sql) or die(mysql_error());
while ($row = mysql_fetch_object($result))
{
$pfn_title = $row->pfn_title;
$pfn_content = $row->pfn_content;
}


plugins.php is called by a file called index.php and the variable "$pf_content" is being printed there.

Now to the problem: The two variables that are stored in the plugin_frontpage table wont be replaced with the content in the plugin_frontpage_news table. The html codes work just fine, but the varibles are just being printed as they are, not with its content. What am I doing wrong? I know its possible, vBulletin works the same way. All templates contains variables.

Thanks in advance!

Niklas

Adrian Schneider
09-10-2006, 07:00 AM
Hi,

You will probably want to use some vBulletin's database object as well as template system - it will make things much easier. You are actually looking to append the data, rather than replace it each time. In my below example I use .= instead of = to add it to the end of the variable. $result = $db->query_read("
SELECT *
FROM plugin_frontpage_news
ORDER BY pfn_id DESC
");

$newsbits = '';
while ($item = $db->fetch_array($result))
{
$newsbits .= "<strong>$item[pfn_title]</strong><br />$pfn_content<br /><br />";

// or below, and have your HTML as it is above in a template
eval('$newsbits .= "' . fetch_template('your_newsbit_template') . '";');
}

eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('your_news_template') . '");');

error_22
09-10-2006, 01:58 PM
actually, this isnt for vBulletin. Thanks a lot for replying.

Niklas

Adrian Schneider
09-10-2006, 06:27 PM
result = mysql_query("
SELECT *
FROM plugin_frontpage_news
ORDER BY pfn_id DESC
") or die(mysql_error());

$newsbits = '';
while ($item = mysql_fetch_assoc($result))
{
$newsbits .= "<strong>$item[pfn_title]</strong><br />$pfn_content<br /><br />";
}

// now $newsbits contains the database data displayed how you want