Log in

View Full Version : How to insert values into mysql in vb3.5


Jaynesh
03-11-2006, 10:39 AM
Could someone please tell me how to insert values into a table for php in vBulletin 3.5

i tried


INSERT INTO tablename VALUES ('$myvalue');


Nothing happened, no error message. just nothing.

i also tried

INSERT INTO " . TABLE_PREFIX . "mychat VALUES ('$message');


Nothing happened, no error message, just nothing.

What is the correct way of doing this in vBulletin 3.5

Marco van Herwaarden
03-11-2006, 11:23 AM
Are you using this in a PHP-script or standalone?

If in a script, please post a snippet.

Trigunflame
03-11-2006, 11:28 AM
Could someone please tell me how to insert values into a table for php in vBulletin 3.5

i tried


INSERT INTO tablename VALUES ('$myvalue');


Nothing happened, no error message. just nothing.

i also tried

INSERT INTO " . TABLE_PREFIX . "mychat VALUES ('$message');


Nothing happened, no error message, just nothing.

What is the correct way of doing this in vBulletin 3.5

It depends on the table schema,

ie. if i wanted to insert something into the vbulletin datastore manually from the Vbulletin Query Tool in the Admincp

The schema of this table dictates 2 (columns/fields) which are Title and Data

INSERT INTO datastore VALUES ('test','whatever')

Would insert into the Title field 'test' and 'whatever' into the Data field.

In a php file using Vbulletin I would do something like

$vbulletin->db->query_write("INSERT INTO datastore VALUES ('test','whatever')");