Log in

View Full Version : Two Mysql databases. Please help coders


Vizionz
12-15-2005, 11:50 AM
okay i almost have my radio station completely built just need to do one last script and this is the one causing the most problem..

function connectdbase() {
$db = mysql_connect("localhost", "user", "pass");
mysql_select_db("database",$db);
}

that right there connets to the script.. (radio Script)

<?
chdir('/httpdocs/Forum');
require_once('./global.php');
?>
that above calls the global.php from the forum
which loads the info from the database that the forum runs on
which is seperate then the database the radio part uses

now normally this would work fine but
in the script when it goes to call

connectdbase(); which is the radio script database )
Its not its giving me

Warning: mysql_fetch_object(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /httpdocs/info.php on line 130

line 130 $data=mysql_fetch_object($result);




Warning: mysql_fetch_object(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /httpdocs/info.php on line 215

Line 215 $ldata=mysql_fetch_object($lresult);

so i am taking it that somewhere in that its getting confused and not using the database its suppose too. there both on local host and there both set up and running and it should work but somewhere i am thinking i am missing something that will kill the first call to the forum database after it grabs the theme and then calls the new database. so it isnt still using the vbulletin database Ya understand what i am saying




Now without the Call to grab the vbulletin theme the script works fine gets everything it needs. but once i put the call to vbulletin the script dont work. and this is because somewhere its getting confused on where the info is.

Is there anyway to either call the vbulletin theme besides global or a way to Kill the database connection to vbulletin once it grabs the theme so the script then will run while it already launched the theme

Andrew
12-15-2005, 12:48 PM
Try changing $db to something more specific like $radiodb. It could be that global.php is also using $db, and when it connects to the vB database it overwrites the values you originally stored in it.

Vizionz
12-16-2005, 10:48 AM
tried that no luck :(