View Full Version : Damn Classes /; (the php type)
pyro.699
12-05-2005, 07:30 PM
ok, im working on a vb free site and im setting up a code so that inorder to write/read a query i need to only type
$db->query();
now, here is what i hvae built so far!
class Blizz { var $blizz; }
//set the function
$this->connection = $resource;
($resource = mysql_connect());
function query($query)
{
$resource = mysql_query($query, $this->connection);
if (!$resource)
{
$this->debug_query($query);
}
return $resource;
}
$db = new Blizz($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass, $dbname);
ok,
$dbhost
$dbuser
$dbpass
$dbname
are all defined above... in the part of the sript that you can't handle!
why isent this working? ill give you my current error:
Fatal error: Using $this when not in object context in C:\apachefriends\xampp\htdocs\blizz\connect.php on line 35
i dont know if this matters, but line #35 is
$this->connection = $resource;
anyways, i would ask AJ but, i feel like ive bugged him enough ^^;
Ty in advance
~Cody Woolaver
Guest190829
12-05-2005, 07:40 PM
$this should only be used inside methods AFAIK...
*I'm still very new to OOP*
pyro.699
12-05-2005, 07:43 PM
Im new aswell ^^
umm, so, where what should i put it inside of?
Guest190829
12-05-2005, 08:02 PM
Well that function isn't even in your class, you're defining a class with no methods in it. I don't know if the below will work as I haven't tested it....nor am I an OOP guru, as I am still learning myself.
var $resource =mysql_connect();
class Blizz {
//set the function
function query($query)
{
$this->connection = $resource;
$this->resource = mysql_query($query, $this->connection);
if (!$this->resource)
{
$this->debug_query($query);
}
return $this->resource;
}
$db = new Blizz;
$query = $db->query("QUERY");
And also what do you mean by a vb free site?
pyro.699
12-05-2005, 08:09 PM
Update of code:
class Blizz { var $blizz;
var $resource = mysql_connect(); }
//set the function
$this->connection = $resource;
($resource = mysql_connect());
function query($query)
{
$resource = mysql_query($query, $this->connection);
if (!$resource)
{
$this->debug_query($query);
}
return $resource;
}
//Connect
$db = new Blizz($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass, $dbname);
Parse error: parse error, expecting `','' or `';'' in C:\apachefriends\xampp\htdocs\blizz\connect.php on line 34
Line 34
var $resource = mysql_connect(); }
Guest190829
12-05-2005, 08:12 PM
Your closing the class before defining any methods, you have to wrap the closing bracket "}" at the end of all you methods.
pyro.699
12-05-2005, 08:27 PM
yeah, i had a feeling that was an answer
Updated Script
class Blizz { var $blizz;
var $resource = mysql_connect();
//set the function
$this->connection = $resource;
($resource = mysql_connect());
function query($query)
{
$resource = mysql_query($query, $this->connection);
if (!$resource)
{
$this->debug_query($query);
}
return $resource;
}
}
//Connect
$db = new Blizz($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass, $dbname);
Parse error: parse error, expecting `','' or `';'' in C:\apachefriends\xampp\htdocs\php_testing\blizz\co nnect.php on line 28
Line 28:
var $resource = mysql_connect();
AN-net
12-05-2005, 09:14 PM
you can not run a function or set a var when initialzing it, except for setting it as an array. if you want to set that var as mysql_connect create a constructor function at the beginning of your class.
The Geek
12-05-2005, 09:20 PM
Just to build on AN-nets excellent pointer:
class myclass
{
var myvariable;
function myclass($var)
{
//your constructor is a function with the same name as your class
$this->myvariable = $var;
}
}
HTH's
pyro.699
12-05-2005, 09:26 PM
so, after that, is there anyhting else i need to do? or did i have a whole bunch of shit in mine that wsent neded?
----
ok, scrap what i just said
i am completely lost, can you guys amke me an example? that fully works!
i want to type
$db->blizz->query("QUERY");
and for that query to be ran
you should see all the backup files ive made for this project.. lol.. ig to about 20... and none of em work! i just need this made, idc how much space it takes! i really need this ;) it will save me a lot of time!
AN-net
12-05-2005, 10:29 PM
i dont know what version you are running but why not just call another instance of what ever class file vbulletin uses for mysql communication. no need to rewrite that redundant code.
pyro.699
12-05-2005, 11:02 PM
im making another site for somone else, who dosent have vbulletin ^^
im using php version 5.0.4
Alan @ CIT
12-06-2005, 08:48 AM
Something along the lines of the following should (untested) work:
// The database class
class Blizz
{
// The database link pointer
var $link = 0;
// The constructor - connect to the sql server and select the database
function Blizz($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass, $dbname)
{
$this->link = mysql_connect($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass);
mysql_select_db($dbname, $this->link);
}
// Query the database
function query($query)
{
$result = mysql_query($query, $this->link);
return $result;
}
}
// The code that you would use in your app
$db = new Blizz($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass, $dbname);
$result = $db->query("SELECT ... whatever ...");
You should probably add some sort of error checking / handling in there :)
AN-net
12-06-2005, 07:52 PM
your not susposed to do var $link= 0;
you are susposed to set this in a constructor function, the first function of a class just used for setting variables.
I.E.:
class foo
{
var $variable1;
var $variable2= array();
var $variable3;
function foobar()
{
$this->variable1= '';
$this->variables3= 'george';
}
}
Guest190829
12-06-2005, 07:54 PM
Don't you mean
function foo()
{
// blah blah constructor
}?
And I thought all variables have to be declared(not set) outside the class?
Adrian Schneider
12-06-2005, 08:03 PM
Here is my DB class for one of my sites.
<?php
class Database
{
var $host;
var $username;
var $password;
var $databasename;
var $connection;
/**
* Constructor Method
* Initializes connection and selects database.
**/
function Database($host, $username, $password, $databasename)
{
$this->host = $host;
$this->username = $username;
$this->password = $password;
$this->databasename = $databasename;
$this->connect($this->host, $this->username, $this->password);
}
/**
* Establishes MySQL connection.
**/
function connect()
{
$this->connection = @mysql_connect($this->host, $this->username, $this->password);
if (!$this->connection)
{
$error = new Page;
$error->error('Could not establish database connection.</p><p>' . mysql_error());
}
return $this->select_db($this->databasename);
}
/**
* Selects MySQL database.
**/
function select_db()
{
$resource = @mysql_select_db($this->databasename, $this->connection);
if (!$resource)
{
$error = new Page;
$error->error('Could not select database "' . $this->databasename . '".');
}
return $resource;
}
/**
* Executes a MySQL query.
**/
function query($querystring)
{
if (strpos($querystring, "\t\t\t\t") !== false)
{
$querystring = str_replace("\t\t\t\t", "\t\t", $querystring);
$querystring = str_replace("\t\t\t", "\t", $querystring);
}
$resource = mysql_query($querystring, $this->connection);
if (!$resource)
{
$this->debug_query($querystring);
}
return $resource;
}
/**
* Fetches rows from the database.
**/
function fetch($result)
{
if (mysql_num_rows($result))
{
$resource = mysql_fetch_assoc($result);
return $resource;
}
return false;
}
/**
* Halts execution of the script and displays the problem.
**/
function debug_query($query)
{
$error = new Page;
$errormessage = '<h2 class="queryfail">Failed Query:</h2><div style="background-color: #EEEEEE; width:640px; padding:5px; margin: 0 auto;">';
$errormessage .= '<pre class="query">' . $this->highlight_sql($query) . '</pre></div>';
if (mysql_error())
{
$errormessage .= '<h2 class="queryfailHeader">Reason:</h2>';
$errormessage .= '<p class="queryfailReason">' . mysql_error() . '</p>';
}
$error->error($errormessage, 'Database Error');
}
/**
* Highlights MySQL Code
**/
function highlight_sql($query)
{
$query = preg_replace("/['\"]([^'\"]*)['\"]/i", "'<span style='color: #FF6600'>$1</span>'", $query, -1);
$find = array(
'*',
'SELECT ',
'UPDATE ',
'DELETE ',
'INSERT ',
'CREATE ',
'TABLE ',
'INTO',
'VALUES',
'FROM',
'LEFT',
'JOIN',
'WHERE',
'LIMIT',
'ORDER BY',
'AND',
'OR ',
'DESC',
'ASC',
'ON ',
"\t\t\t",
'INT ',
'varchar ',
'VARCHAR ',
'NOT NULL',
'AUTO_INCREMENT',
'UNSIGNED',
'PRIMARY KEY '
);
$replace = array(
'<span style="#FF6600; font-weight: bold;">*</span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">SELECT </span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">UPDATE </span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">DELETE </span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">INSERT </span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">CREATE </span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">TABLE </span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">INTO</span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">VALUES</span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">FROM</span>',
'<span style="color: #00CC00; font-weight: bold;">LEFT</span>',
'<span style="color: #00CC00; font-weight: bold;">JOIN</span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">WHERE</span>',
'<span style="color: #AA0000; font-weight: bold;">LIMIT</span>',
'<span style="color: #00AA00; font-weight: bold;">ORDER BY</span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">AND</span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">OR </span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">DESC</span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">ASC</span>',
'<span style="color: #00DD00; font-weight: bold;">ON </span>',
"\t",
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">INT </span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">varchar </span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">VARCHAR </span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">NOT NULL</span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">AUTO_INCREMENT</span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">UNSIGNED</span>',
'<span style="color: #0000AA; font-weight: bold;">PRIMARY KEY </span>',
);
return str_replace($find, $replace, $query);
}
/**
* Escapes data when going into the database.
* This is not for SQL Injections.
**/
function escape($value)
{
if (!is_int($value))
{
if (is_numeric($value))
{
$value = floatval($value);
}
else
{
$value = (get_magic_quotes_gpc()) ? $value : addslashes($value);
}
$value = "'" . $value . "'";
}
return $value;
}
/**
* Checks how many rows were found from a query.
**/
function num_rows($resource)
{
return mysql_num_rows($resource);
}
/**
* Insert data into the database.
* Generates query based on $data array (field => val)
**/
function insert($table, $data)
{
// Field Names
$columnbit = '';
$columns = array_keys($data);
for ($i=0; $i<count($columns); $i++)
{
$columnbit .= (($i) ? ', ' : '') . '`' . $columns[$i] . '`';
}
// Values
$valuebit = '';
$values = array_values($data);
for ($i=0; $i<count($values); $i++)
{
$value = $this->escape($values[$i]);
$valuebit .= "\t\t\t\t" . $value . (($i != count($values)-1) ? ', ' . "\n" : '');
}
// Run Query
$this->query('
INSERT INTO ' . $table. '
(' . $columnbit . ')
VALUES (' . "\n" .
$valuebit . '
)'
);
}
/**
* Update data in the database.
* Generates query based on $data array (field => val)
**/
function update($table, $data, $whereclause)
{
$valuestofields = '';
$i = 0;
foreach ($data as $field => $value)
{
$i++;
$valuestofields .= $field . ' = ' . $this->escape($value) . (($i != count($data)) ? ', ' : '') . "\n\t\t\t\t";
}
// Run Query
$this->query('
UPDATE ' . $table. '
SET' . "\n\t\t\t\t" .
$valuestofields .
$whereclause
);
}
}
?>
Does anyone know of a good SQL syntax highlighter (that doesn't require installing additional libraries)?
[edit]Usage being:$db = new Database('server', 'user', 'pass', 'db'); just replace the error handling method ... mine uses another class for displaying things.
AN-net
12-07-2005, 02:57 AM
well yes all variables are delcared such as var $foobar; but setting them to anything other than an empty array is not allowed when not in the constructor function.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.