PDA

View Full Version : Variable scope within plugins


Dean C
11-12-2005, 05:49 PM
I'm trying to debug one of my plugins and see why it's outputting an error. The obvious thing would be to output the variables and check they are all there right?

Try putting this in global_complete:
$var = 'moo'; function moo() { global $var; echo $var; } moo();

Nothing is output. However, if you put this in there:

$var = 'moo'; function moo() { global $var; echo $var; } moo(); echo 'test';

It'll output 'test'. Am I missing something here ;)?

Andreas
11-12-2005, 05:52 PM
Yes :)

You are missing that global_complete is within function print_output(), so $var will only be visible within this function - but not in moo(), even though you define it as global there.

Dean C
11-12-2005, 05:53 PM
Ah of course - thanks! And congratulations on your new role ;)