PDA

View Full Version : Modifying phrase via sql query?


BaconDelight
11-12-2005, 04:12 PM
I'm completely clueless when it comes to building queries. Is there a way to modify the text of an existing phrase with a sql query?

Thanks!

Marco van Herwaarden
11-12-2005, 06:26 PM
What reason would you have to do this? Please try to explain what you're trying to achieve.

BaconDelight
11-12-2005, 06:58 PM
What reason would you have to do this? Please try to explain what you're trying to achieve.I'm writing a plugin product. There's a phrase that, due to what my plugin will alter, won't make sense without rewording it. But the phrase is called in a template and I'd like to be able to install the product without having to do any other steps (edit templates or phrases) manually.

To be precise, I'd like the Searching phrase "posts_from_last_day" to contain the text "Updated posts" instead of "posts from last day".

This would allow me to have a one-step install by adding the query to the install code.

Edit: It ocurrs to me that I might be over-thinking this. Is something like this in the php possible:

$vbphrase['posts_from_last_day']="Updated posts";

Marco van Herwaarden
11-13-2005, 05:58 AM
I would strongly advice against going this route for the following reasons:
1. If you would change the contents of the Phrase in the database, you would still leave the database altered after uninstall of the product.
2. When altering on the fly, you would cause problems for everyone that is not using english language.

Better to add your own phrase and use that then to mess with standard phrases, it would also cause problems on upgrades of vB. In my opinion messing with standard items is the last you would want to do in a hack.

BaconDelight
11-13-2005, 04:34 PM
1) Couldn't I just add uninstall code to return the phrase to its default on uninstall?

2) We don't support other languages, so that's not a concern.

Honestly, I appreciate the advice, but I'm trying to make the installation of hacks as simple as possible so that any of the admins on our board can do it (right now, I'm the only one with enough knowledge to be going in and manually editing php/templates/phrases). I'd really appreciate knowing how to do this, and I'll make the decission whether I should or not (again, unless there's a way to accomplish the same thing without a sql query, but I don't think there is without also manually editing php and/or templates).

Zachery
11-13-2005, 04:38 PM
1) Couldn't I just add uninstall code to return the phrase to its default on uninstall?

2) We don't support other languages, so that's not a concern.

Honestly, I appreciate the advice, but I'm trying to make the installation of hacks as simple as possible so that any of the admins on our board can do it (right now, I'm the only one with enough knowledge to be going in and manually editing php/templates/phrases). I'd really appreciate knowing how to do this, and I'll make the decission whether I should or not (again, unless there's a way to accomplish the same thing without a sql query, but I don't think there is without also manually editing php and/or templates).

Take Marcos advice, just add a new phrase via the phrase system and use it. Altering vBulletins database without explicitic knowleged of how it works and interacts can cause horrible results.

BaconDelight
11-13-2005, 05:34 PM
Nevermind, I can just use a str_replace