Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 2.x > vBulletin 2.x Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Quick Edit! -Edit posts directly from within the thread itself Details »»
Quick Edit! -Edit posts directly from within the thread itself
Version: 1.00, by EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2021 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 2.2.x Rating:
Released: 06-28-2003 Last Update: Never Installs: 69
 
No support by the author.

Hi,

This hack will allow your users to Edit their posts without having to load the editpost page..

How it works: In the bottom lefthand corner of all your posts will be a small "QuickEdit" radio button (users will only see it in posts which belong to them).. When you click it a small text box will instantly drop down below your post allowing you to edit it in the thread itself.
This will save you a lot of time when fixing those spelling mistakes, typos, or broken links.

Very easy to install.. One file edit, two template edits, and one template to add.

Credits: Thanks to T?Pau's javascript add-on this hack now works with Mozilla.


screenshots
View after clicking the QuickEdit radio button:
Screenshot #1

View before button is clicked:
Screenshot #2

Download Quick Edit (Click Here).

Update: For those who prefer an image button instead of a radio button use these instructions.
Note: Image button version does not work with mozilla browsers!

Screenshot of image button version

Also, added a check box for the signature to both versions.

Quick Edit for VB3 can be found here.




If you find this hack useful please click the install button.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #82  
Old 08-09-2003, 02:37 AM
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Yesterday at 04:01 PM PurpleCow said this in Post #80
Instead of radio button, do u have the image version for this quick edit hack ??

Thank you
Find this:
Code:
<input name="r2" type="radio"  value="" onClick="toggleT('e$post[postid]','s')"><smallfont>QuickEdit</smallfont>
Replace with this:
Code:
<a href="javascript:return false;" onClick="toggleT('e$post[postid]','s')"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/images/quickedit.gif" border="0"></a>
Change the URL in the code above to the path to your image directory. Then upload the image for the button (name it quickedit.gif). I didn't test it but it should work.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 08-09-2003, 04:18 AM
PurpleCow PurpleCow is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 222
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hello,

This works fine, but a minor problem is what i have.

Like, when i click on the image in the post, the window opens up...there the hide radio button is already selected, which should not be so. How can make it so that the Hide option is not selected by default.

Inspite of working fine, it gives me java script erros, how can i avoid showing those java script erros in the status bar.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 08-11-2003, 12:47 AM
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You could use a regular button instead of the "hide" radio button to solve the problem.

Find this:
Code:
<input name="r2" type="radio" checked value="" onClick="toggleT('e$post[postid]','h')"><smallfont>Hide</smallfont>
Replace it with this:
Code:
<input name="r2" type="button" value="Hide" onClick="toggleT('e$post[postid]','h')">
As for the javascript error, try using this for the image button and maybe it'll fix it.

Code:
<a href="java script:return false;" onClick="toggleT('e$post[postid]','s') return false;"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/images/quickedit.gif" border="0"></a>
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 08-11-2003, 12:49 PM
PurpleCow PurpleCow is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 222
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Okay, the Hide problem is solved.

But replacing the new code for image still has problem. When i replace it with the new code in your previous post, and check for the functionality, i get a page not found error when i clcik on the image. Also, when the page load, i get java script errors.

Thanks for any help.

cheers

Quote:
Today at 08:17 AM EvilLS1 said this in Post #83
You could use a regular button instead of the "hide" radio button to solve the problem.

Find this:
Code:
<input name="r2" type="radio" checked value="" onClick="toggleT('e$post[postid]','h')"><smallfont>Hide</smallfont>
Replace it with this:
Code:
<input name="r2" type="button" value="Hide" onClick="toggleT('e$post[postid]','h')">
As for the javascript error, try using this for the image button and maybe it'll fix it.

Code:
<a href="java script:return false;" onClick="toggleT('e$post[postid]','s') return false;"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/images/quickedit.gif" border="0"></a>
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 08-12-2003, 09:02 PM
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

PurpleCow,
My bad, I made a mistake in the code above. Try this instead:
Code:
<a href="java script:return false;" onClick="toggleT('e$post[postid]','s'); return false;"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/images/quickedit.gif" border="0"></a>
I tested that on my own forum and it works fine.

{edit} I just noticed that the image button version will not work with mozilla type browsers. So if thats what you're using you should stick with the radio button version.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 08-12-2003, 10:55 PM
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

For those who prefer an image button instead of a radio button use these instructions:

Note: Image button version does not work with mozilla browsers!

Also, both versions now have a check box to include the signature.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 08-12-2003, 10:56 PM
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Screenshot of image button version:
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 08-13-2003, 02:36 AM
PurpleCow PurpleCow is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 222
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

EvilLS1 - Thanks for the zip file. I have a question before, i proceed with the image version installation.

Now, if i want to install image version, do you recommend un-installing the radio button version and then proceed with image version ?? or much of it remains same excepting a few changes ??

And yes, I am using IE6 and not mozilla. I am also testing it on IE6 only.

Quote:
This hack will allow your users to Edit their posts without having to load the editpost page
You had mentioned this in your instructions file. Okay, i guess the radio button version allows only mods and/or admin to quick edit a post, but does this new image version allows even a registered member to edit their post ??

Thank you very much for your valuable time.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 08-13-2003, 06:45 PM
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The code in functions.php is the same, but you'll need to remove the radio button version's changes to the postbit template and then replace the whole showthread_quickedit template with the html in the instructions above.

Quote:
You had mentioned this in your instructions file. Okay, i guess the radio button version allows only mods and/or admin to quick edit a post, but does this new image version allows even a registered member to edit their post ??
No both versions will allow all registered users to edit their posts via the quick edit feature. You can easily set it up so that only admins and/or mods can use it if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 08-22-2003, 02:39 AM
PacknCanes PacknCanes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quick fix for something that screwed up my computer but apparently is sporadic:

Find "<script type=text/javascript> " in your headinclude template and change it to "<script language="JavaScript"> ".

For some reason my computer was processing the text/javascript command as an infinite loop and it caused my CPU usage to skyrocket to 100% and stay there till I loaded another page. Not sure if this will affect anyone else, but if it hit me it may hit someone else, so it's worth a shot to change. No functionality of the hack is changed by editing that line, for the record.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05416 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,320KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (9)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete