Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Mark Threads As 'Solved' Details »»
Mark Threads As 'Solved'
Version: 1.1.2, by Eric Eric is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Add-On Releases - Version: 3.8.x Rating:
Released: 04-11-2009 Last Update: 01-14-2010 Installs: 232
DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits
Re-useable Code Additional Files  
No support by the author.

My time is very limited these days, with my full time job. I have marked this mod as re-usable code, if any other coder wishes to continue work on it. I may still try to support this mod as time permits.



If you use this modification, please >> Mark As Installed, Nominate for MOTM, and consider donating via PayPal <<, TY!


What is this!?
This modification will allow you & your members (based on usergroup permissions) to mark a thread as "Solved". It will add the prefix "[SOLVED]" to the thread title, and if set in the admincp - it will also close the thread.

Current Version
1.1.2 - You can find the 3.6.x version, here.

Features flagged for future version(s):
  • Thread starter can choose to solve a thread, and input the username of who solved it - that user would recieve rep. points. (admin-configurable amount of rep. points)
  • Given the above - include count of threads a user has solved in postbit & profile
  • Possibly figure out a way to automate everything on install - so there are no template edits.
And anything else that is suggested

Will this work on x.x.x ??
Unless otherwise stated, this will work on all 3.7 - 3.8 versions. This will not work on 4.0. If you are looking for a vB4 version, you can find it here.

Sounds cool. How do I install?
  1. Extract the zip, you should have the following directories/files:

    Code:
    /
    |_ install.html
    |_ product-solvedthread.xml
    
    /upload/
    |_ solved.php
    
    	/upload/images/
    		/buttons/
    		|_ marksolved.gif
    
    	/upload/includes/
    		/xml/
    		|_ bitfield_solvedthread.xml
  2. Upload: (in the below instructions 'yourforum' would be where you have vBulletin installed)
    • /upload/solved.php to /yourforum/solved.php
    • /upload/images/buttons/marksolved.gif to /yourforum/images/buttons/marksolved.gif (upload to each style folder, if you have more than one style)
    • /upload/includes/xml/bitfield_solvedthread.xml to /yourforum/includes/xml/bitfield_solvedthread.xml
  3. Import the product, product-solvedthreads.xml by going to: AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> [Add/Import Product]
  4. Make the following template edits to all of your installed styles:

    SHOWTHREAD

    Find:
    HTML Code:
    		<if condition="$show['addpoll']">
    			<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" vspace="1" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></div>
    		</if>
    	</div>
    	<!-- / thread tools -->
    Replace with:
    HTML Code:
    		<if condition="$show['addpoll']">
    			<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" vspace="1" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></div>
    		</if>
    		<if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
    			<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" vspace="1" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></div>
    		<else />
    			<if condition="$show['solvedthread_unsolve']">
    			<div><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]" vspace="1" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markunsolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]</a></div>
    			</if>
    		</if>
    	</div>
    	<!-- / thread tools -->
    Find:
    HTML Code:
    	<if condition="$show['addpoll']">
    	<tr>
    		<td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></td>
    	</tr>
    	</if>
    	<if condition="$show['adminoptions']">
    Replace with:
    HTML Code:
    	<if condition="$show['addpoll']">
    	<tr>
    		<td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/addpoll.gif" alt="$vbphrase[add_a_poll]" /> <a href="poll.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpoll&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[add_a_poll_to_this_thread]</a></td>
    	</tr>
    	</if>
    	<if condition="$show['solvedthread']">
    	<tr>
    		<td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=marksolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_marksolved]</a></td>
    	</tr>
    	<else />
    		<if condition="$show['solvedthread_unsolve']">
    	<tr>
    		<td class="vbmenu_option"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/marksolved.gif" alt="$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]" /> <a href="solved.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markunsolved&amp;t=$threadinfo[threadid]">$vbphrase[solvedthread_markunsolved]</a></td>
    	</tr>
    		</if>
    	</if>
    	<if condition="$show['adminoptions']">
  5. Set options in AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Solved Threads
  6. Edit Solved Threads Permissions > Can Mark Threads as Solved for each usergroup.
  7. To setup the forums it can be used in, follow the instructions in this post.

Upgrade
To 1.1.2 from 1.1.0/1.1.1
  1. Re-import the product, product-solvedthreads.xml, with "Allow Overwrite" set to yes
  2. Upload the files/folders in the "upload" folder, allowing it to overwrite the old files.

To 1.1.x from 1.0.0
  1. ATM, it is not advised to do an upgrade from previous versions to this one if you already have 1.0.0 installed. Fresh installs should be fine.


That's it! Enjoy!

Changelog
1.1.2 - January 15, 2010
- Updated the product file, permissions, and phrases. This should, hopefully, resolve the blank page problems, along with the permission not showing up for usergroups.

1.1.1 - July 21, 2009
- Updated the product plugins and phrases, this should solve the blank page problem, and the problem of the option not showing in Admincp for ug permissions.

1.1.0 - April 14, 2009
- Small updates to xml file, no version # change. If it works for you, no need to do anything.
- If you have problems uninstalling, please see this post.

1.1.0 - April 12, 2009
- Updated for 3.7 & 3.8
- Now uses the built-in Thread Prefix system
- Instead of 'excluding' forums, since using the Thread Prefix system, you can choose which forums this will be shown in.

1.0.1 - July 12, 2007
- Added the ability to unsolve a thread.
- Added the ability to exclude this in certain forums
- Added the ability to change the prefix in that acp

1.0.0 - June 8, 2007
- Initial release.



If you use this modification, please >> Mark As Installed, Nominate for MOTM, and consider donating via PayPal <<, TY!



NOTE: This mod is marked "unsupported", but I'll try my best (as time permits) to help those who have marked as installed.

Download Now

File Type: zip solved_threads_1.1.1.zip (7.7 KB, 373 views)
File Type: zip solved_threads_1.1.2.zip (7.8 KB, 561 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #82  
Old 06-13-2009, 11:17 AM
marshal_ramdev marshal_ramdev is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 192
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thank you
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 06-14-2009, 03:03 AM
lighthazard lighthazard is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I did everything but Step 6 is not appearing.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 06-14-2009, 03:52 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 792
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lighthazard View Post
I did everything but Step 6 is not appearing.
Are you using the Usergroup Manager? Try running: http://www.yourdomain.com/forum/admi...buildbitfields

Then go back to the Usergroup Manager

Quote:
Originally Posted by migowebdesign View Post
Hi,

this mod creates a new topic-prefix in the admincp, you can edit this there and fill in your html input. much easier than search the phrases...

Cheers
Mike
Bingo! (:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxus View Post
Hello. I think it is very useful hack.

But i have a problem: after choosing the forum in prefix menu, i've just the blank page instead of thread pages.

When i suitch off the product, i can see the posts in a threads. Suitch product on - showthread.php shows me a blank page.

I'm trying the product on a clear bord without any hack.

Any suggestion?
I've not run into this error. Interesting, will check into this. What version of vBulletin are you using? PHP Version?

Quote:
Originally Posted by migowebdesign View Post
Hi,

thanks for this nice mod, i'm just a short step away from implementing this into my board.

But is there an option to activate this URL here? https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/misc.php?...rsion&t=211020 If a add this in the plugin properties in the admincp, it tells me after i click on version check -> Error while reading version.

If you can watch the source of the output, you see that there is an attribut in the xml tag. maybe this should not be there?

THanks

Cheers
vB.org handles the output of that, not me - I suppose it'd be easy to add the url in the next update.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Realist View Post
Installed but received errors.

Tried to remove the plugin but getting more errors so all I can do is disable it for now.
Seems only certain setups cause this. If you want to uninstall, try this: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....7&postcount=34

--

Honestly I don't understand all the problems this mod seems to have, it was built on top of the previous version which didn't have these problems.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 06-17-2009, 01:44 PM
Markos Markos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 522
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hi secondv is there away i can have it like my bump plugin



heres the code i used for that plugin

Code:
<if condition="$permissions['bumpthreadspermissions'] & $vbulletin->bf_ugp['bumpthreadspermissions']['canbump']">
<td class="tcat" align="$stylevar[right]">
<div class="smallfont">
<a href="postings.php?$session[sessionurl]do=bump&amp;t=$threadid" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/bump.gif" border="0" alt="$vbphrase[bump]" /></a>
</div>
</td>
</if>
<if condition="$permissions['bumpthreadspermissions'] & $vbulletin->bf_ugp['bumpthreadspermissions']['candebump']">
<td class="tcat" align="$stylevar[right]">
<div class="smallfont">
<a href="postings.php?$session[sessionurl]do=debump&amp;t=$threadid" rel="nofollow"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/debump.gif" border="0" alt="$vbphrase[debump]" /></a>
</div>
</td>
</if>
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 06-17-2009, 02:48 PM
blue7's Avatar
blue7 blue7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Turkey/Ankara
Posts: 72
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i did everything step by step and i wont get any error but on group permission no any options to set "can mark as solved" and on showthread too no any option to select thread as solved
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (145.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (132.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 06-17-2009, 05:06 PM
Markos Markos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 522
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

u sure u put the images in the right place on your server i got the same thing wen i forgot to put the images on my server lol
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 06-17-2009, 06:20 PM
llaffer llaffer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Same as blue7. Installed everything, put that bloody image in every style i have installed, still no options in group permissions. I still see it in vBulletin general options and also see the SOLVED prefix it made for me, but nothing on user permissions or any buttons on the actual forum.

Marked as Uninstalled.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:31 PM
blue7's Avatar
blue7 blue7 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Turkey/Ankara
Posts: 72
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markos View Post
u sure u put the images in the right place on your server i got the same thing wen i forgot to put the images on my server lol
yes i'm sure , i checked million times.

Quote:
Originally Posted by llaffer View Post
Same as blue7. Installed everything, put that bloody image in every style i have installed, still no options in group permissions. I still see it in vBulletin general options and also see the SOLVED prefix it made for me, but nothing on user permissions or any buttons on the actual forum.

Marked as Uninstalled.
totally agree...
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 06-17-2009, 10:43 PM
Markos Markos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 522
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

works fine for me on 3.8.3
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 06-20-2009, 11:17 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 792
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue7 View Post
i did everything step by step and i wont get any error but on group permission no any options to set "can mark as solved" and on showthread too no any option to select thread as solved
It looks like it's the last option in "Post / Thread Permissions", for some reason when you installed it, it didn't include the permission title; and I can't reproduce this error. The only way this could happen, I believe, is if you didn't upload the bitfield_solvedthread.xml file to the proper folder (/includes/xml/)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06413 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,383KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_html
  • (8)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (4)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete