Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.7 > vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Global Tag Cloud in Side Bar or Anywhere Details »»
Global Tag Cloud in Side Bar or Anywhere
Version: 1.03, by lafsunlmtd lafsunlmtd is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2013 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Miscellaneous Hacks - Version: 3.7.x Rating:
Released: 04-27-2008 Last Update: 07-16-2008 Installs: 139
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

What this plugin does

This plugin lets you call the tag cloud on any page. We wanted a tag cloud in a side column on our forum, and also the freedom to call it from within any template.

Live Demo

You can view the plugin in action on AdminFusion

Installation Instructions

1. Login in to the AdminCP -> Plugins and Products -> Manage Products
2. Click the Add/Import Product link at the bottom of the page and browse to the plugin's xml file.
3. Add the following variable where ever you want the tag cloud to appear:

Code:
$vbcloud
4. If you want to display just the cloud (i.e. without the category) open up the tag_cloud_search template and replace everything with the code below:

Code:
 
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != tags">
$cloud[links]
<else />
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
	<td class="tcat">
		<div class="smallfont" style="float:$stylevar[right]"><phrase 1="$cloud[count]">$vbphrase[these_are_the_x_most_used_thread_tags]</phrase></div>
		$vbphrase[tag_cloud]
	</td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td class="alt1" style="text-align:justify">$cloud[links]</td>
</tr>
</table>
</if>
Version Information:
1.01 -- Updated to make compatible with Vbulletin Blog
1.02 -- Script rewrite. Fixed time stamp issue, blog issue and other minor problems.
1.03
Now returns the most popular tags as opposed to the most searched for tags.
Some minor optimizations made.
Instructions revised (uses tag_cloud_box template instead of tag_cloud_search)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #82  
Old 06-08-2008, 02:35 PM
Mecho's Avatar
Mecho Mecho is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 648
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerry-Anne View Post
1. Edit the tag_cloud_link template and replace the contents with
Code:
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/tags.php?$session[sessionurl]tag=$thistag[tagtext_url]" class="tagcloudlink level$thistag[level]">$thistag[tagtext]</a>
Thanks but something wrong . when i use this code , there is no space between tags , no Enter between lines and it will broke the page .
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 06-08-2008, 10:42 PM
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 6,504
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

That is the exact contents of my template and as you can see at www.superclickers.co.uk it is working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 06-09-2008, 06:33 AM
SuperTaz's Avatar
SuperTaz SuperTaz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 744
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I don't even see the tag cloud on my site to use this. lol How do I turn on the tag cloud. I have 3.7.0 Gold.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 06-09-2008, 03:21 PM
Mecho's Avatar
Mecho Mecho is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 648
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerry-Anne View Post
That is the exact contents of my template and as you can see at www.superclickers.co.uk it is working fine.
Yeah , it was my fault . it is working well now. thank u

i tried to "Add Module" and move this TAGS to the sidebars , but then i have 2 title box . one the name that i have to put in new Module and another one is the default of TAGs title box .

anyway to fix this somehow ?

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 06-13-2008, 09:20 PM
Coop1979 Coop1979 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is there a way to call this on a page outside of vBulletin? I use vBulletin for my forums on a Drupal page and would like to have the tags show up in a block on my Drupal pages. I can do a php block, but I tried to do a block with the $vbcloud variable in it, but nothing shows up.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 06-14-2008, 07:30 AM
dutchbb dutchbb is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 899
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hello

I tried this but the cloud does not show? I added the variable in a custom template called 'sidebar'.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 06-16-2008, 12:33 PM
slinky slinky is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 202
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have the same problem. I pasted the $vbcloud variable into a template (forumhome) and it doesn't show. Using vb 3.7.1
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 06-16-2008, 07:09 PM
ArnyVee's Avatar
ArnyVee ArnyVee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 944
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerry-Anne View Post
1. Edit the tag_cloud_link template and replace the contents with
Code:
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/tags.php?$session[sessionurl]tag=$thistag[tagtext_url]" class="tagcloudlink level$thistag[level]">$thistag[tagtext]</a>
Okay, so I've done this. Now, where do I put the "$vbcloud"? Or, how do I make it appear on my vBadvanced homepage? Do I create a new template? And, what do I put in the template to make it work?
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 06-16-2008, 11:09 PM
slinky slinky is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 202
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldilocks View Post
I use $tag_cloud and it works just fine.
Where are you trying to put it ?
The instructions are wrong and this dude is right on target. $vbcloud is the wrong variable. Use $tag_cloud and it appears like magic...
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 06-17-2008, 12:41 AM
tommac3 tommac3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 120
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Does this work with VB advanced?

I am trying it out but for some reason it works in preview but nothing shows up.
Could this have something to do with the forums directory?
Like I have this at my root dir ... does it need to be under forums?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.07109 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,312KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete