Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates)
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,046

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Gary King Gary King is offline 03-03-2004, 10:00 PM

Want to create your very own vBulletin powered page which includes the header, footer, and the user permissions system as well?

Well now you can

Want to know how it will look? Take a look at the attached screenshot below!

Now includes the Who's Online modification!
Also, instructions included on how to create your own pages that are integrated with current vBulletin files!

I'm going to give you a generic page but you can easily modify the contents of the page by changing the template

So here we go

Instructions:

Create a new file, whatever you want to call it (let's say test.php).
Open up test.php and add the following (replace TEST with whatever template you want to show):
PHP Code:
<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS'1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT''test'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(
    
);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
    
'TEST',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Test Page';

$navbits construct_navbits($navbits);
eval(
'$navbar = "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEST') . '");');

?>
Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name, and change 'test' to the filename. Also, change 'Test Page' to whatever you want to show in the navbar, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

Now create the template, called TEST with the following content:
HTML Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header

$navbar

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
    <td class="tcat">Title</td>
</tr>
<tr>
    <td class="alt1">Text</td>
</tr>
</table>

$footer
</body>
</html>
All done
Now check it out by going to test.php

Who's Online Modification

Now if you want to show who is browsing this new page of yours, just open up includes/functions_online.php and find:
PHP Code:
    case 'bugs.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
        break; 
Below, add:
PHP Code:
    case 'test.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'test';
        break; 
(Be sure to change the values to your own!)

Then find:
PHP Code:
        case 'modcplogin':
            
$userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
            break; 
Below add:
PHP Code:
        case 'test':
            
$userinfo['action'] = 'Viewing Test Page';
            break; 
All done!

----------------------------------

Also if you want to create your own pages 'within' current vBulletin files, do the following:

Open the file you want, and then right before the final ?> in the source code, add the following:

PHP Code:
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'xxx')
{
    eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEMPLATE_XXX') . '");');

Replace 'xxx' with whatever you want ?do= in the query string to be (for example, replace 'xxx' with 'showprofile' so then someone would type in example.php?do=showprofile to view this template.) Then of course, change TEMPLATE_XXX to your template name, it's that simple!


edit by Lynne: If running 3.8.4 or above, see this post to take care of the PHP 5.3.0-related problems - https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....postcount=1171
Attached Images
File Type: jpg template_test.jpg (62.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 03-28-2004, 01:43 PM
PKRWUD's Avatar
PKRWUD PKRWUD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 124
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Okay, I just copied it straight out of the control panel, and those "+" marks weren't there. I have no idea where they came from, but when I pasted here, they showed up.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 03-28-2004, 01:49 PM
PKRWUD's Avatar
PKRWUD PKRWUD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 124
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Fascinating. For some reason, my copy of BBEdit is placing characters in those places in my files when I save them. Looks like problem solved. Thank you.

One question, though; There's no link in the NavBar for the page. Where in the NavBar should it be?
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 03-28-2004, 02:07 PM
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King Gary King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,046
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FASherman
I believe this is incorrect. If yo do it this way, you will display a non-functioning navbar. The pop-up menus will not work. I don't know why, and I don't know how to fix it, but I do know if you create test.php in your forum root dir and the TEST template exactly as given in the first post, it works.

Take that same script and more it to another directory and it breaks on global.php. Add the chdir as above just before your require statement and you will have a non-functioning navbar. No pulldown menus.

Any ideas on how this is resolved?
Just chdir() back to the vBulletin directory.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 03-28-2004, 03:13 PM
SVTBlackLight01's Avatar
SVTBlackLight01 SVTBlackLight01 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 504
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FASherman
I believe this is incorrect. If yo do it this way, you will display a non-functioning navbar. The pop-up menus will not work. I don't know why, and I don't know how to fix it, but I do know if you create test.php in your forum root dir and the TEST template exactly as given in the first post, it works.

Take that same script and more it to another directory and it breaks on global.php. Add the chdir as above just before your require statement and you will have a non-functioning navbar. No pulldown menus.

Any ideas on how this is resolved?
Check out this post.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....3&postcount=36



Code:
$vboptions[homeurl]/
also needs to be added to the beginning of all the relative linnks in the navbar and footer templates.

I have many operating pages outside the forums directory using this hack.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 03-28-2004, 03:36 PM
AutomatikStudio's Avatar
AutomatikStudio AutomatikStudio is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PKRWUD
One question, though; There's no link in the NavBar for the page. Where in the NavBar should it be?
You have to manually code in what you want in the navbar. Just go to the navbar template and type it in and link it to your custom page.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 03-28-2004, 05:19 PM
FASherman's Avatar
FASherman FASherman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 289
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVTBlackLight01
Check out this post.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....3&postcount=36



Code:
$vboptions[homeurl]/
also needs to be added to the beginning of all the relative linnks in the navbar and footer templates.

I have many operating pages outside the forums directory using this hack.

I knew I could count on a fellow Texan for help.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 03-28-2004, 06:12 PM
SVTBlackLight01's Avatar
SVTBlackLight01 SVTBlackLight01 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 504
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Some of us need all the help we can get.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 03-29-2004, 03:51 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have removed the following code from the PHP file and it still works. Could you tell me what the purpose of this code is and what it does?

Code:
// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ###################### 
// get special phrase groups 
$phrasegroups = array( 

); 

// get special data templates from the datastore 
$specialtemplates = array( 
     
); 

// pre-cache templates used by all actions 
$globaltemplates = array( 
    'TEST', 
); 

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions 
$actiontemplates = array( 

);
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 03-29-2004, 04:37 PM
Indy Indy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 28
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

OK, read through everything - I think. When I run test.php located in my development forum dir, it comes out correct

When I try to run test.php outside of my dev forum, I get this:

http://www.rimfirecentral.com/test.php

I have modified test.php with:
PHP Code:
chdir('/home/rfc/public_html/forumsdev/'); 
require(
'./global.php'); 
I'll keep playing with it until someone responds, but any assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 03-29-2004, 05:41 PM
raynett raynett is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I had the same style problem on my page outside of the forum. Copying the clientscript and images folders in the directory the test.php page resides seemed to correct that.

The problem I can't figure out though... the links in the navbar and footer portion of the test page do not link properly if the page is outside of the forum folder. The address is missing the forum portion of the URL. Example: link leads to http://www.yourdomain.com/register.php when it should lead to http://www.yourdomain.com/forum/register.php.
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 03-29-2004, 06:11 PM
Indy Indy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 28
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raynett
I had the same style problem on my page outside of the forum. Copying the clientscript and images folders in the directory the test.php page resides seemed to correct that.

The problem I can't figure out though... the links in the navbar and footer portion of the test page do not link properly if the page is outside of the forum folder. The address is missing the forum portion of the URL. Example: link leads to http://www.yourdomain.com/register.php when it should lead to http://www.yourdomain.com/forum/register.php.
$vboptions[homeurl]/

"also needs to be added to the beginning of all the relative links in the navbar and footer templates."

If I have to copy any script out there, I'm not even going to mess with it. I did have use for it if I could get it to work though. I'm also going to use it within my forum dir for two or three pages that I need too. Will start working on those tonight!
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 03-29-2004, 07:09 PM
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King Gary King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,046
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attroll
I have removed the following code from the PHP file and it still works. Could you tell me what the purpose of this code is and what it does?

Code:
// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ###################### 
// get special phrase groups 
$phrasegroups = array( 

); 

// get special data templates from the datastore 
$specialtemplates = array( 
     
); 

// pre-cache templates used by all actions 
$globaltemplates = array( 
    'TEST', 
); 

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions 
$actiontemplates = array( 

);
They save you queries; yes you can remove them, but they are there as 'fillers' so you can put in your own values if you ever need to.

They are for phrasegroups, and also for template-cache; meaning if you put your template names there then you will save 1 extra query.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 03-30-2004, 03:53 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary W
They save you queries; yes you can remove them, but they are there as 'fillers' so you can put in your own values if you ever need to.

They are for phrasegroups, and also for template-cache; meaning if you put your template names there then you will save 1 extra query.
The reason I asked this is because shortly after I install this mod and replaced it with the other version I was using I started getting MYSQL errors. I narrowed down where the errors were coming from. They were coming from to much memory being used. So I removed this mod and put the other version back in and now I have not had any problem any MYSQL errors. I don't know if this was just coindence or not. But I like this version of the mod here and would like to reinstall it. But I am afraid to put it back in because the errors might come back. The other mod that I am using now it pretty much identical to this mod except for the lines I asked about.

Would those lines cause more memory usage?
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 03-30-2004, 12:19 PM
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King Gary King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,046
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Those lines would cause less memory usage.
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 03-30-2004, 12:50 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary W
Those lines would cause less memory usage.
I will switch back over and reinstall it again later this week and see if the errors come back. I hope they do not. I like this version of the hack. I will keep you posted.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06819 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,426KB
  • Queries Executed 31 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (7)bbcode_php
  • (8)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (16)post_thanks_box
  • (5)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (16)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (16)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (15)postbit
  • (1)postbit_attachment
  • (16)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (16)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete