Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
cellarius cellarius is offline 11-15-2009, 10:00 PM

Introduction

Starting with vB4, templates no longer get output using eval:
PHP Code:
eval('$mytemplate = "' fetch_template('mytemplate') . '";'); 
is outdated.
What's more: Variables and arrays from plugins that are executed on a page no longer can automatically be accessed in the templates of that page. They need to be registered first.
.
Basic functionality to render templates and register all variables/arrays you want to use inside

PHP Code:
/* Some Code, setting variables, (multidimensional) array */
$my_var "abc";
$my_array = array(
        
'key1' => 'value1',
        
'key2' => array(
                '
key21' => 'value21',
                '
key22' => 'value22'
        '
)
    );

/* render template and register variables */
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$templater->render(); 
  • The first line provides the template that is to be rendered, using the new vB_Template class (vB_Template::create). The method gets passed the name of the template as an argument.
  • The following two lines register a variable and an array that we want to use in our template. Arguments passed are 1. the name you want to use to access the variable, and 2. the variable from the code you want to register. You can register as many variables/arrays as you want. Just remember you have to register every variable and array that you want to use in your custom template in this way. If you don't register them, they will not be available.
  • The fourth line renders the template ($templater->render()).
In the template you know will be able to use the registered variables/arrays in this way:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_var}
{vb:raw my_array.key1}
{vb:raw my_array.key2.key21}
Note the last one: multidimensional arrays are perfectly possible.
.
.
.
Now, with the result of the rendering we can do several things:
.
Output template directly - custom pages


PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
print_output($templater->render()); 
This immediatly outputs the template. Use this if you have created your own page, for example.
Note the second line, which is special for this type of use:
PHP Code:
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
This auto-registers the page level templates header, footer and headinclude that you will use in the template of your custom page.
.
Use a template hook


PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos2] .= $templater->render(); 
The template will be shown using the choosen template hook (for example: $template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos2]). See the dot before the = in the last line? The hook may be used by other modifications, too, so we don't want to overwrite it, but rather append our code to it, conserving everything that might already be there.
.
Save into a variable for later use in custom template
PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$mytemplate_rendered $templater->render(); 
Now we have saved the rendered template into a variable. This variable in turn we can later on register in another template, if we want:
PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('my_other_template');
     
$templater->register('my_template_rendered'$my_template_rendered);
 
print_output($templater->render()); 
Again, inside my_other_template we now could call
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_template_rendered}
If you're running the first template call inside a loop, you may want to use .= instead of = in the last line, so that the results of every loop get added instead of overwriting the existing. But that depends, of course.
.
Save into an array and preregister to use in an existing/stock template

PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$templatevalues['my_insertvar'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME'$templatevalues); 
  • This is another, more flexible method to save the rendered template into a variable for future use in an already existing template. In this example, we want to show our own rendered template on forumhome.
  • Problem is: We have no direct way to register variables for already existing templates like FORUMHOME. It's created and rendered in the files, and we don't want to mess there.
  • To help with this, a new method was created for vB_Template class, called preRegister. Using this, we can pass our data to FORUMHOME before it is rendered. Note that the data needs to be saved into an array ($templatevalues['my_insertvar']), a simple variable will throw an error. In the last line the array is preregistered; you need to pass as arguments 1. the name of the existing template and 2. the array that contains the data. Again, this can be done for as many arrays as needed.
  • Of course, the preRegister functionality can be used for any kind of variables or arrays, no matter whether you have saved a rendered template (like in our example) into it or it contains just a simple boolean true/false statement.
To access the data inside the template it was preregistered for use:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_insertvar}
Note: it is not {vb:raw templatevalues.my_insertvar}!

Essentially the same as what I put for preRegister would be the following two lines. They could replace the last two lines in the above php codebox:
PHP Code:
$my_insertvar $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME',array('my_insertvar ' => $my_insertvar)); 
Of course you could add further pairs to that array if you need to preregister more than one variable.
.
.
Bonus track: ...whatever you do, cache your templates!

Now you know how to get your templates on screen - once you succeeded in doing that, make sure to do it in a fast and ressource saving manner: make use of vB's template cache. To see whether your templates are cached or not, activate debug mode by adding $config['Misc']['debug'] = true;to your config.php (don't ever use that on your live site!). Among the debug info is a list of all templates called, and non-cached templates will show up in red.

To cache your templates, add a plugin at hook cache_templates with the following code:
PHP Code:
// for a single template
$cache[] = 'mytemplate'

// for more than one templates in one step
$cache array_merge((array)$cache,array(
    
'mytemplate',
    
'myothertemplate',
    
'mythirdtemplate'
)); 
.
.
Hope this helps!
-cel

----
Addendum - There are now two blog posts on vb.com related to this topic:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/entry...in-4-templates
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/entry...-4-based-files
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 01-18-2010, 08:13 PM
psypher psypher is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

nvm figured it out
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 01-19-2010, 08:45 PM
mokujin's Avatar
mokujin mokujin is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Czech
Posts: 345
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have read all posts and dont know how to call 3 templates in one page.

I have this code:

PHP Code:
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'page1')
{
  
$templater vB_Template::create('temp_page1');
  
    
/* 
    how can I  fetch another template here? 
    in vb3: eval('$pagebit .= "' . fetch_template('page_bit') . '";');     ???
    
    */

  
$mypage .= $templater->render();
}
 
// called 2 templates 'temp_page1' and 'temp_home' OK, and what  'page_bit'?
    
$templater vB_Template::create('temp_home');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('mypage'$mypage);
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render()); 
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:04 AM
derfelix derfelix is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 204
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I would fetch it before...

PHP Code:
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'page1')
{

  
$templater vB_Template::create('page_bit');
 
  
$mypage_bit .= $templater->render();

  
$templater vB_Template::create('temp_page1');
  
$templater->register('mypage_bit'$mypage_bit);
  
$mypage $templater->render();
}

    
$templater vB_Template::create('temp_home');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('mypage'$mypage);
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render()); 

F.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 01-22-2010, 10:29 PM
ChopSuey ChopSuey is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 2,140
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for this, hopefully i'll be able to know what to do.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 01-25-2010, 05:56 AM
TheSupportForum TheSupportForum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,158
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

does anyone know how i can insert this into a template using plugin manager
to be placed in header

Code:
 
function bb2_insert_head() {
 global $bb2_javascript;
 echo $bb2_javascript;
}
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 01-25-2010, 02:30 PM
OcR Envy's Avatar
OcR Envy OcR Envy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 248
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

n/m I figured I was missing $templater->render();
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 02-09-2010, 04:21 PM
moonray moonray is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I am not much of a coder at all, and hence need your help big time.

I want to call a simple php file to be placed just under the navbar. So, I created a plugin:
Product: vBulletin
Title: Insert Simple PHP
Execution order: 5 (it was default)
Hook Location: global_start
PHP code:
Code:
ob_start();
include('simple.php');
$insert_simple_php = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
Plugin is active: Yes

Now, I went to the NAVBAR template and inserted
Code:
{vb:raw insert_simple_php}
just under the code
Code:
{vb:raw ad_location.global_below_navbar}
Questions:
* Where does the 'register/pre-register' come?
* What is the exact change I need to make here?

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 02-17-2010, 04:29 PM
FatalBreeze FatalBreeze is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Haifa - Israel
Posts: 163
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Great article!
but i have a problem.
I have a template which i want to show inside another template, and it seems to work with every template except for the header.
This is the plugin i used:
PHP Code:
$templateH vB_Template::create('TopPanel')->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('header', array('TopPanel' => $templateH));
$TL vB_Template::create('TopPanel')->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('vbcms_page', array('TopPanel' => $TL));
$TL2 vB_Template::create('BarH')->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('vbcms_page', array('BarT' => $TL2)); 
the hook location is: process_templates_complete.
of course i have a template called TopPanel which i created, and it works great in vbcms_page for example but not in header.
Do you have an idea why is that?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 02-18-2010, 05:45 AM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

As the name suggests, the hook you use is called when vB-internal template processing is already completed. No use in preregistering templates then anymore. Since that hook did not exist in 4.0.1 as far as I can see, you're using 4.0.2. Another hook that got added in 4.02 is template_register_var, and that would be the right one to use.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 02-23-2010, 07:19 AM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonray View Post
I am not much of a coder at all, and hence need your help big time.

I want to call a simple php file to be placed just under the navbar. So, I created a plugin:
Product: vBulletin
Title: Insert Simple PHP
Execution order: 5 (it was default)
Hook Location: global_start
PHP code:
Code:
ob_start();
include('simple.php');
$insert_simple_php = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
Plugin is active: Yes

Now, I went to the NAVBAR template and inserted
Code:
{vb:raw insert_simple_php}
just under the code
Code:
{vb:raw ad_location.global_below_navbar}
Questions:
* Where does the 'register/pre-register' come?
* What is the exact change I need to make here?

Thanks for your help!
Try this in the plugin:
PHP Code:
ob_start();
include(
'simple.php');
$templatevalues['insert_simple_php'] = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
vB_Template::preRegister('navbar'$templatevalues); 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.08135 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,405KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (7)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_html
  • (14)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (17)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete