Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.7 > vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Bookmark Us on Navbar or footer Details »»
Bookmark Us on Navbar or footer
Version: 1.00, by Magnumutz Magnumutz is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2014 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.7.x Rating:
Released: 12-23-2007 Last Update: 05-18-2008 Installs: 176
Template Edits
Re-useable Code  
No support by the author.

Bookmark Us! (Add to Favorites) on Navbar or footer.


Brought to you by the Haste Network - Free MMORPG Network


Please mark as "Installed" if you use this modification, thanks !



Q: What this does?
A: It adds a "Bookmark Us" link in your navbar or your footer.


This code is a free source from DynamicDrive.com. Users are NOT allowed to remove the copyrights.

How to install:

In the header template place this at the end of the template:
HTML Code:
<script type="text/javascript">

/***********************************************
* Bookmark site script- ? Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

/* Modified to support Opera */
function bookmarksite(title,url){
if (window.sidebar) // firefox
    window.sidebar.addPanel(title, url, "");
else if(window.opera && window.print){ // opera
    var elem = document.createElement('a');
    elem.setAttribute('href',url);
    elem.setAttribute('title',title);
    elem.setAttribute('rel','sidebar');
    elem.click();
} 
else if(document.all)// ie
    window.external.AddFavorite(url, title);
}
</script>
Now, for the navbar version, search the navbar template for:
PHP Code:
    <if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
        <
td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="register.php$session[sessionurl_q]rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[register]</a></td>
    </if> 
After that, add:
PHP Code:
        <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="javascript:bookmarksite('$vboptions[bbtitle]', '$vboptions[bburl]')">Bookmark Us!</a></td
For the footer version, search the footer template for:
PHP Code:
                <if condition="$show['contactus']"><a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]rel="nofollow" accesskey="9">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a> -</if> 
Above that, add:
PHP Code:
                <a href="javascript:bookmarksite('$vboptions[bbtitle]', '$vboptions[bburl]')">Bookmark Us!</a> - 
That's about it... tested with Firefox and IE6.

Added Installation Instructions file on 19th of May.

Please mark as "Installed" if you use this modification, thanks !

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #52  
Old 08-28-2008, 11:33 AM
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 702
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

this doesnt work with firefox. is there a fix?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 09-02-2008, 01:27 PM
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 702
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlew24asu View Post
this doesnt work with firefox. is there a fix?
?????
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 09-02-2008, 10:10 PM
ShadowOne ShadowOne is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tampa
Posts: 338
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlew24asu View Post
this doesnt work with firefox. is there a fix?
works on firefox for me homie...
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 09-03-2008, 12:56 PM
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 702
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowOne View Post
works on firefox for me homie...
damn. I can add the bookmark just fine but when I go to bookmarks and click the link, it opens on the left column...

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t...u/bookmark.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09-03-2008, 01:39 PM
Magnumutz's Avatar
Magnumutz Magnumutz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Romania
Posts: 731
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You must've had the the "Load this bookmark in sidebar" option checked.
Try adding it again, with that option unchecked, it will work properly.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 09-03-2008, 02:18 PM
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 702
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnumutz View Post
You must've had the the "Load this bookmark in sidebar" option checked.
Try adding it again, with that option unchecked, it will work properly.
I didnt even know that option existed. I'm not shown any options when bookmarking a site...where is it?


edit: ok when I right click on the bookmark the option is there. but thats after I add it. there is no option when I first add it. is it a default setting or something? this happened to my brother too.

it only happens when I add using this hack.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09-08-2008, 03:28 PM
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 702
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

bump
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 11-09-2008, 12:57 AM
munnakv munnakv is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 48
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks. Installed.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:13 PM
jlew24asu jlew24asu is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 702
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnumutz View Post
You must've had the the "Load this bookmark in sidebar" option checked.
Try adding it again, with that option unchecked, it will work properly.
so strange. the option is hidden when bookmarking using this hack. I have to manually right click on the bookmark of my site and uncheck the box.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 02-08-2009, 02:34 AM
Kobra Khan Kobra Khan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i am having the same problem as Jlew24asu it only adds to the side bar then i had to go into properties and uncheck sidebar but why is it checking that option in the first place

if u look at the code it says side bar maybe that is the problem ?

if (window.sidebar) // firefox
window.sidebar.addPanel(title, url, "");
else if(window.opera && window.print){ // opera
var elem = document.createElement('a');
elem.setAttribute('href',url);
elem.setAttribute('title',title);
elem.setAttribute('rel','sidebar');
elem.click();
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06226 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,325KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete