Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 2.x > vBulletin 2.x Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
New vBCode Tags: [Countdown] and [Countup] timers for users Details »»
New vBCode Tags: [Countdown] and [Countup] timers for users
Version: 1.00, by KevinG KevinG is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2003 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 2.2.x Rating:
Released: 05-02-2002 Last Update: Never Installs: 12
 
No support by the author.

Have you or any of your members ever had the need or desire to post a countdown or countup in a post?
Something that automatically shows the remaining days, hours, minutes and seconds of that upcoming Walt Disney World trip?
Or want to show everyone how many days, hours, minutes and seconds that the user has gone without a cigarette, drink, sex? - LOL

I came up with this one here. It basically gives your users two new vB Code Tags, [countdown] and [countup].
Now there is no need to worry that the user will mess up your threads with incorrect JavaScript.
All they have to do is use these tags, just like most other tags.

For counting down, they would just have to do the following:
[countdown=May 21, 2002 12:32 PM EST;We are off to see Mickey Mouse;RED]My Walt Disney World Trip Begins in [/countdown]

Same for counting up with just different text of course.

I guess this would qualify as a hack as you do need to change one field in the database to store this.
Luckily, it's in a very small table so it should not slow anything down in theory.


Modify the database
Modify the field bbcodereplacement in the bbcode table to increase the storage size.
Change the field properties from varchar(200) to LONGTEXT. This is needed for the new vB Code replacement to follow.
I used phpMyAdmin which is very easy to use for this change.

Add new JavaScript
Add the following JavaScript code to your Style under Head Insert preferrably at the bottom.
Be sure to do this for every style that you defined in your database.

PHP Code:
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
function 
countdowndaterndNumouttext ) {
now = new Date();
y2k = new Datedate );
days = (y2k now) / 1000 60 60 24;
daysRound Math.floor(days);
hours = (y2k now) / 1000 60 60 - (24 daysRound);
hoursRound Math.floor(hours);
minutes = (y2k now) / 1000 /60 - (24 60 daysRound) - (60 hoursRound);
minutesRound Math.floor(minutes);
seconds = (y2k now) / 1000 - (24 60 60 daysRound) - (60 60 hoursRound) - (60 minutesRound);
secondsRound Math.round(seconds);
if ((
days 0) | (hours 0) | (minutes 0) | (seconds 0)) {
   
thisoutput outtext;
   if (
thisoutput == ""thisoutput "Countdown Finished";
} else {
   
sec = (secondsRound == 1) ? " second." " seconds.";
   
min = (minutesRound == 1) ? " minute, " " minutes, ";
   
hr = (hoursRound == 1) ? " hour, " " hours, ";
   
dy = (daysRound == 1)  ? " day, " " days, ";
   
thisoutput daysRound  dy hoursRound hr minutesRound min secondsRound sec;
}
eval(
"document.forms.form" rndNum ".elements.countdown.value = thisoutput;");
thisclock "countdown(\""+date+"\",\""+rndNum+"\",\""+outtext+"\");";
window.setTimeout(thisclock1000);
}

function 
countupdaterndNumouttext ) {
now = new Date();
y2k = new Datedate );
days = (now y2k) / 1000 60 60 24;
daysRound Math.floor(days);
hours = (now y2k) / 1000 60 60 - (24 daysRound);
hoursRound Math.floor(hours);
minutes = (now y2k) / 1000 /60 - (24 60 daysRound) - (60 hoursRound);
minutesRound Math.floor(minutes);
seconds = (now y2k) / 1000 - (24 60 60 daysRound) - (60 60 hoursRound) - (60 minutesRound);
secondsRound Math.round(seconds);
if ((
days 0) | (hours 0) | (minutes 0) | (seconds 0)) {
   
thisoutput outtext;
} else {
   
sec = (secondsRound == 1) ? " second." " seconds.";
   
min = (minutesRound == 1) ? " minute, " " minutes, ";
   
hr = (hoursRound == 1) ? " hour, " " hours, ";
   
dy = (daysRound == 1)  ? " day, " " days, ";
   
thisoutput daysRound  dy hoursRound hr minutesRound min secondsRound sec;
}
eval(
"document.forms.form" rndNum ".elements.countup.value = thisoutput;");
thisclock "countup(\""+date+"\",\""+rndNum+"\",\""+outtext+"\");";
window.setTimeout(thisclock1000);
}

function 
explodeArray(item,delimiter) {
  
tempArray=new Array(1);
  var 
Count=0;
  var 
tempString=new String(item);

  while (
tempString.indexOf(delimiter)>0) {
    
tempArray[Count]=tempString.substr(0,tempString.indexOf(delimiter));
    
tempString=tempString.substr(tempString.indexOf(delimiter)+1,tempString.length-tempString.indexOf(delimiter)+1);
    
Count=Count+1
  
}

  
tempArray[Count]=tempString;
  return 
tempArray;
}

</
script
Add the new vBCodes
Using the Admin CP, add the following;

vB Code tag
-----------------------------------------------------
countdown


vB Code replacement
-----------------------------------------------------
PHP Code:
<Script language='Javascript'>
var 
rndNum Math.floor(Math.random() * 10000);
var 
tempString="{option}";
tempArray=explodeArray(tempString,";");
document.writeln("<form name='form" rndNum "' action='Javascript:void(0);'>");
document.writeln('<font size=2 color="'+tempArray[2]+'">{param}</font><BR>');
document.writeln("<input type=text value='' size=40 name='countdown'>");
document.writeln("</form>");
countdown(tempArray[0], rndNumtempArray[1]);
</
script
vB Code example
-----------------------------------------------------
[countdown="May 4, 2002;Currently At WDW Now;BLUE"]My Countdown to Disney World[/countdown]

vB Code explanation
-----------------------------------------------------
Enter any text you would like to say to your members here.

Use {option} ?
-----------------------------------------------------
Select YES


Add the [countup] tag next;
vB Code tag
-----------------------------------------------------
countup

vB Code replacement
-----------------------------------------------------
PHP Code:
<Script language='Javascript'>
var 
rndNum Math.floor(Math.random() * 10000);
var 
tempString="{option}";
tempArray=explodeArray(tempString,";");
document.writeln("<form name='form" rndNum "' action='Javascript:void(0);'>");
document.writeln('<font size=2 color="'+tempArray[2]+'">{param}</font><BR>');
document.writeln("<input type=text value='' size=40 name='countup'>");
document.writeln("</form>");
countup(tempArray[0], rndNumtempArray[1]);
</
script
vB Code example
-----------------------------------------------------
[countup="May 4, 2002;Waiting for my last cigarette;RED"]Smokefree Days[/countup]

vB Code explanation
-----------------------------------------------------
Enter any text you would like to say to your members here.

Use {option} ?
-----------------------------------------------------
Select YES



There are many variations that can be use here for how the text field looks.
We can post suggestions here for everyone to share

I can post a screenshot tomorrow if you would like.
It's really just a text field containing the days, hours, minutes and seconds of the timers with the {param} text over it.

Edit:
Reformatting some of the text as the PHP blocks are very wide.
Also fixed a case conversion that the PHP code tag is making in my post.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #42  
Old 10-20-2002, 06:14 PM
isman isman is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 39
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm having trouble incorporating this with the Signature-Editor hack by Fryzid, link to sig editor.

I get java script errors and then can't use any of the buttons on the page.

Is anyone else using these together? Here's a link to my board where you can see first hand what the problem is. Go the edit your signature and then click "Preview Signature". You'll see none of the buttons work after that.

Link to my test board
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 10-22-2002, 02:27 AM
isman isman is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 39
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This is the line I'm having trouble with but I don't see anything wrong.
Code:
eval("document.forms.form" + rndNum + ".elements.countdown.value = thisoutput;");
Anyone see anything with this?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11-17-2002, 09:51 PM
Erwin's Avatar
Erwin Erwin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 7,604
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by isman
This is the line I'm having trouble with but I don't see anything wrong.
Code:
eval("document.forms.form" + rndNum + ".elements.countdown.value = thisoutput;");
Anyone see anything with this?
It's the signature preview bits - remove the signature preview section of the code and you will be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-19-2003, 04:26 PM
Buddha Buddha is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 314
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

tried to install this, and followed the instructions all the way through the thread. got errors in IE, the bottom Post Reply didn't work, and the text didn't appear for the countdown or countup.

very disappointing, seeing as this would have been very useful.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 04-10-2003, 03:51 PM
InnerSelf InnerSelf is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 61
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

is there a way to just implant this in your own startpage instead of in a post?

i would like to add it in my page without anyone can use it
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03-15-2004, 09:03 AM
mismatch mismatch is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hi I love this hack and got it set up with no probs whatsoever a few weeks ago.
My members are well chuffed with it too - however my hosting comapny aren't - it isn't just the countdown my members use massive signatures for no apparent nor sensible reason

It has increased my bandwidth and the more members that have the countdown the more bandwidth that gets eaten up - some of them aren't satisfied with one countdown they have to have 2 or 3!!

someone mentioned earlier in the thread about moving it into a showthread instead of header template - is this easy? would it solve the problem? what other files/templates etc... would I need to change? Do i just drop the js that is in the header into showthread in the admin panel and what about new reply does this need attention too?

can you give me some more info on this please I love the countdown and really want to keep it but as my hosting company suspended my account due to using 10gb (how??) I need to start addressing some of these bandwidth munching monsters on my site.

Also does anyone know how I can restrict signatures to x characters? It is nay on impossible reading some posts now due to stupidly long signatures.

I have verbally requested a restriction but this of course is ignored!

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-16-2004, 09:12 AM
mismatch mismatch is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I think this is too old a thread for a reply I'll give it a go myself and let you know if I destroy my board in the process

________________

....no I don't trust myself after peering into the files I shall have to remove the hack for a day to see if it is the bandwidth culprit - my members will be gutted if they lose it altogether :ermm:
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 05-14-2004, 12:28 AM
ryancooper ryancooper is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 433
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Anychance we can get this for VB3?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 05-14-2004, 06:09 AM
mismatch mismatch is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

seriously I wouldn't bother unless it is out of the header_inc my site isn't huge (80,000) posts although a fair few attachments but it has used 20gb bandwidth so far this month and it isn't over yet. My hosting bill more than doubled when I put this hack on.

VB3 has the event reminder system built into the calendar - I am hoping for a countdown from calendar event that could maybe be displayed in profiles for example....does that sound do-able anyone??
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 05-15-2004, 10:58 AM
subu1 subu1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 189
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

cool Hack, click install thxxx, but *g*

i have a problem.

it happen can I that as Threadstarter a field empty would have (Countdown mode)?????

if I goes answer it however, only as Threadstarter have I often problem.

greetz subu1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.10032 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,380KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete