Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Photopost Pro Random Image Widget Details »»
Photopost Pro Random Image Widget
Version: 1.00, by ZippySLC ZippySLC is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2010 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: vBulletin CMS Widgets - Version: 4.0.1 Rating:
Released: 01-30-2010 Last Update: Never Installs: 45
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

Hey all,

One of the things that I missed from my transition from Drupal to vBCMS was my Photopost random image block. It's one of the features that my visitors seem to really like as well. After some trial and error, I managed to create a working vBCMS widget that utilizes the "Random Image Anywhere" code submitted by Garrynz on the Photopost site.

Now, I will say that I am not a huge fan of the way that Garrynz's code works (variables are defined in the code rather than looking at the config files), but it's a quick and dirty way to get this work. In no way are your database details visible to anybody, so don't worry - it's more of an aesthetic thing than a security thing.

Anyway, to utilize this widget, follow these steps:

1. Go into your AdminCP, vBulletin CMS, Widgets, and click on "Add New Widget"
2. Create a new widget of type "PHP Direct Execution" and name it what you want. This name gets used in the header of the widget. I chose "Random Image."
3. Paste the following code in, making changes for your specific environment:

PHP Code:
$host  'database_server'
$dbUser 'database_user';   
$dbPass 'database_password'
$db 'database_name'
mysql_connect("$host""$dbUser""$dbPass") or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db("$db") or die(mysql_error());

ob_start();

$result mysql_query("SELECT id,cat,bigimage FROM pp_photos order by rand() LIMIT 1" ) or die(mysql_error());   
while(
$row mysql_fetch_array$result )) {    
print 
"<div align=\"center\"><a href=\"photos/showphoto.php/photo/" $row['id'] . "\"><img src=\"photos/data/" $row['cat'] . "/thumbs/" .  $row['bigimage'] . "\"></a><br /><a href=\"/gallery\">See more photos in the Gallery</a></div>";
}

$output .= ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean(); 
Important Notes:
  • Make sure you make the widget be a "PHP Direct Execution" widget! If you don't, none of this will work!
  • Make sure you enter your database information correctly! Check your photopost config files if you've forgotten it. The correct syntax for the entries should be something like this:
    $host = 'localhost'; (with the entry in apostrophes and a semi-colon at the end)
  • If your Photopost tables don't have the pp_ prefix, you'll need to alter the code to reflect your prefix.
  • Make sure the URL to your gallery is set correctly after the print statement. In my case, since my gallery runs in a subdomain, my own print statement looks something like this:
    PHP Code:
    print "<div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://gallery.njpinebarrens.com/showphoto.php/photo/" $row['id'] . "\"><img src=\"http://gallery.njpinebarrens.com/data/" $row['cat'] . "/thumbs/" .  $row['bigimage'] . "\"></a><br /><a href=\"/gallery\">See more photos in the Gallery</div>"
  • The output is wrapped in a div that's centered. Feel free to change that to your liking.
  • Again, this will not run out of the box without some customization on your part! But I hope it's fairly straightforward to understand.
  • SEO vs Non-SEO Friendly URL's:
    Photopost lets you use "Spider-Friendly URL's." There's three different options, spider, SEO, and none. I personally use spider on my Photopost site and the code I have above works fine. If you have your URL's set to "none" you'll need to use slightly different code. In that case, use this alternate print statement. (Replace the one in the code above with this, and obviously adjust the paths to match your specific install.)
    PHP Code:
    print "<a href=\"/photopost/showphoto.php?photo=" $row['id'] . "&cat=" $row['cat'] . "\"><img src=\"/photos/data/" $row['cat'] . "/thumbs/" $row['bigimage'] . "\" border=\"0\"></a>"

You can see this widget in action on my site, http://www.njpinebarrens.com

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Благодарность от:
andro140

Comments
  #42  
Old 02-10-2010, 11:13 AM
lovevn lovevn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 116
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Problem fixed!
works ok
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-10-2010, 11:52 AM
ZippySLC's Avatar
ZippySLC ZippySLC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovevn View Post
I tried it but the result is jut a time in formation. 10/02/2010. No image. How to solve the problem?
PM me the URL to your site and your code please.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:48 PM
HRCHOSTING HRCHOSTING is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 32
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Entered the code but all I see is "see more photo's in our Gallery"
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-10-2010, 10:30 PM
ZippySLC's Avatar
ZippySLC ZippySLC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yeah, there's a problem with the code or the path to your gallery. If you send me a copy of your code (with the database info redacted) and a link to your CMS and gallery, I'll take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-14-2010, 02:29 PM
HRCHOSTING HRCHOSTING is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 32
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Working great now, thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-14-2010, 03:45 PM
ZippySLC's Avatar
ZippySLC ZippySLC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Glad I could help!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-23-2010, 05:47 PM
LCN2007 LCN2007 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 323
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Any way to show more than one image like maybe 3 or 5 images?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bergler View Post
Now that I am playing around with it a bit, I see it doesnt always show a picture?
X2 on this issue, any fix?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:16 AM
ZippySLC's Avatar
ZippySLC ZippySLC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCN2007 View Post
Any way to show more than one image like maybe 3 or 5 images?
The way the code is written, it just does one SQL query and grabs one picture out of the database. To get it to do any more would require the entire thing to be re-written. I didn't write the code to grab the pic from the db or display it, I just adjusted it so it would play nice as a CMS widget.

Quote:
X2 on this issue, any fix?
So what is happening here is the code is selecting an image that your Photopost database thinks is there, but it isn't. If you look at the thread on Photopost's site you'll see people having the same problem there too.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-27-2010, 06:50 AM
theduyet theduyet is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazattitude View Post
Actually, there is a file that you can download from Photopost, and re-upload in your "Gallery". Then you run it from your Gallery cp. This will create a "product" file that you upload in your vb products section.
This will create a thumbnail strip that you can specify weather you want newest or newest pics. Plus the amount of images you want to show up.
You can make the changes in the Plugin section.
You can see how I have 6 images are 'random' on my website


This of course, if it's Photopost Gallery
Would you like to attach this file into this thread?
I and serveral VB.ORg members really like to get it.
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 02-27-2010, 09:29 AM
tazattitude's Avatar
tazattitude tazattitude is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 95
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theduyet View Post
Would you like to attach this file into this thread?
I and serveral VB.ORg members really like to get it.
Thank you!
Here would be the link and info to it
Keep in mind this is not a widget like ZippySLC's
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05142 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,350KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete