Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Force Current Members To Fill Out Required Profile Field Details »»
Force Current Members To Fill Out Required Profile Field
Version: 2.0.0, by calorie calorie is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.7 Rating:
Released: 09-09-2004 Last Update: 06-08-2005 Installs: 31
 
No support by the author.

So you add a new required profile field, and members who join afterwards are forced to fill out the field, but you want your current members to fill out that field too. Well unless your current members go edit their profile, the new field sits and waits for them to take action. This mini hack will force your current members to fill out the field by prompting them for action before allowing them to return to normal site use. Here are some further details:
  • Credit is given to Revan from this post.
  • Credit is given to Locutus2999 from this thread.
  • Related vB 2.2.x from roxics in this thread.
  • Here based off the vB 2.3.x hack by Locutus2999.
  • This is for vB 3.0.7 though rather similar indeed.
  • Add one phrase, edit one file, set profile field.
  • Support only if/as time available, no guarantees.
  • Should you install, say thanks by clicking install.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #32  
Old 03-16-2005, 05:51 AM
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,671
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

To do this, change the query in the hack to:
[sql]$DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM `" . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield` WHERE `required` = '1' AND `title` NOT LIKE 'Age'");[/sql]
Just replace "Age" with the title of whatever profilefield you want to exclude. Find these titles in the AdminCP Profile Field Manager.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-17-2005, 03:46 AM
T3MEDIA T3MEDIA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 944
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan
To do this, change the query in the hack to:
[sql]$DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM `" . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield` WHERE `required` = '1' AND `title` NOT LIKE 'Age'");[/sql]
Just replace "Age" with the title of whatever profilefield you want to exclude. Find these titles in the AdminCP Profile Field Manager.
HEY! wow thanks! It didnt work though. See I dont have age in my Profile manager since its part of vb internally.

I dont even know where to look for the name of the birthday location.
Just so you know I am talking about the birthday users have to answer when they register.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-17-2005, 07:17 AM
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,671
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It seems like the Birthday is not listed in the profilefield table, at which point what you are asking is impossible without adding further queries.
Not to mention me having no idea how it would be done.

And I also have to wonder, why would you want to exclude birthdays?
If you have it mandatory on register, then it will already be filled out, and wont trigger this mod.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:43 PM
T3MEDIA T3MEDIA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 944
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan
It seems like the Birthday is not listed in the profilefield table, at which point what you are asking is impossible without adding further queries.
Not to mention me having no idea how it would be done.

And I also have to wonder, why would you want to exclude birthdays?
If you have it mandatory on register, then it will already be filled out, and wont trigger this mod.
Exactly. Previous users do not have it filled.
(I dont know why people on vb always doubt a question... but ok) so your looking at around 5000 users with this field blank. and around 7000 or so that do have it. But the profile page does not have it available. (next hack installed) But hey this hack is doing what it says.... awsome. so you have to do a db query to STOP the year result in this hack? maybe we are not hitting each other.

Jan 3rd 1980 <--- The year on the site I wanted to use your awsome hack with has the year un editable. so the field is there.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-26-2005, 10:38 AM
T3MEDIA T3MEDIA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 944
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revan
To do this, change the query in the hack to:
[sql]$DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM `" . TABLE_PREFIX . "profilefield` WHERE `required` = '1' AND `title` NOT LIKE 'Age'");[/sql]
Just replace "Age" with the title of whatever profilefield you want to exclude. Find these titles in the AdminCP Profile Field Manager.
Revan do to some asking around I found out The user's birthday is stored in the user.birthday field. How would I do this (ignore this area) with your hack?

Thanks bro.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-28-2005, 05:31 PM
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,671
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well the thing is, if the Birthday is not listed as a Required profilefield in that table, it will be ignored automatically
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-28-2005, 11:52 PM
T3MEDIA T3MEDIA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 944
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Its not that is why I responded as I did remember?

how could I make your code work with the position of the field in the database?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-05-2005, 02:16 PM
rjordan's Avatar
rjordan rjordan is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 326
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Finally found this thing... I knew I saw it somewhere! Now I suppose I should install per the "cleaned up" code, huh...
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-12-2005, 01:48 PM
TwinsForMe TwinsForMe is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 112
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

/me clicks install with Revan's revised code.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 05-17-2005, 01:01 PM
mamboking mamboking is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 33
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

excellent hack!!!! exactly what i have been looking for since i changed to vb.

this should be standard..............
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04558 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,306KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete