Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Chrome Browser Notice (For Quick Reply Editor) - How to fix non-working space bar Details »»
Chrome Browser Notice (For Quick Reply Editor) - How to fix non-working space bar
Version: 1.0.0, by BirdOPrey5 (Senior Member) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: New Posting Features - Version: 4.x.x Rating:
Released: 11-04-2016 Last Update: 11-04-2016 Installs: 42
Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Templates
Re-useable Code  

If you are not already aware the latest version of Chrome browser (Version 54.0.2840.71, possibly others) has introduced a bug or incompatibility with the version of CKEditor used in VB 4.x.

If a user attempts to use the "Reply With Quote" feature on an existing post and begins to type their reply under the existing quote without hitting the Enter key first, the space bar will not work.

The issue is talked about on vBulletin.com here: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum...rking-on-reply

While this is not a true fix, it does display a notice above the quick reply editor advising Chrome users that they can fix the problem simply by hitting the Enter key. (See Screenshot.)



The actual text displayed is held in a Global phrase called chrome_editor_message_bop5 so it is easily edited or translated as needed using Phrase Manager in the Admin CP.

There are no options, just install it and it will become active. Disable or remove the product to stop using it.

Notice will only be displayed in Chrome browser and when the enhanced WYSIWYG editor is enabled in the user's options. The Standard Editor and Basic Editor do not have this bug.

The function that attempts to determine the browser version was publicly available, location it can be found is a comment in the Functions plugin.

This mod will only install on VB 4.x versions and is only useful with VB 4.x versions 4.1.12 and above. May not work on heavily customized styles.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated. :up:
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

Download Now

File Type: xml product-chromeeditorwarnbop5.xml (2.8 KB, 147 views)

Screenshots

File Type: jpg chrome_browser_warn_ss.jpg (62.3 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
4 благодарности(ей) от:
Alan_SP, Dragonsys, Inna, RichieBoy67

Comments
  #32  
Old 12-10-2016, 08:07 AM
Kane@airrifle's Avatar
Kane@airrifle Kane@airrifle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: ZA
Posts: 181
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sticky View Post
Hey! This works. LOL, you're better than Vbulletin support.

The only problem is the issue still persists in PM's. Forum posting is fixed though when quoting.
I take no credit, this kludge was posted elsewhere by man1c.

To get it to work in PMs and Quick reply add this to the bottom of editor_contents.css.

Code:
/*-- Temporary Chrome Spacebar Fix --*/
@supports (-webkit-appearance:none) {
body.forum {white-space: pre-wrap;}
body.content {white-space: pre-wrap;}
}
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-10-2016, 11:00 AM
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 10,610
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane@airrifle View Post
Adding this to to the bottom of editor_contents.css seems to get the space bar working with the WYSIWYG editor on my board.

Code:
@supports (-webkit-appearance:none) {
body.forum {white-space: pre-wrap;}
}
The added blank lines that appear in the quoted post disappear on posting.

YMMV
If you like it, then that's great. For me I feel like if I have to explain to my users to not worry about the extra blank lines I might as well just tell them to hit the enter key to get the space bar working again.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-10-2016, 05:46 PM
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 339
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane@airrifle View Post
I take no credit, this kludge was posted elsewhere by man1c.

To get it to work in PMs and Quick reply add this to the bottom of editor_contents.css.

Code:
/*-- Temporary Chrome Spacebar Fix --*/
@supports (-webkit-appearance:none) {
body.forum {white-space: pre-wrap;}
body.content {white-space: pre-wrap;}
}
That wasn't what I (man1c) posted, this was:-

Code:
@supports (-webkit-appearance:none) {
body.forum {white-space: pre-wrap;}
}
You also need to turn off quick edit for it to work properly without any extra whitespace issues for anybody.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-10-2016, 06:19 PM
Kane@airrifle's Avatar
Kane@airrifle Kane@airrifle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: ZA
Posts: 181
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quick edit, on or off, the white space is there while replying on my board. On posting the whitespace goes away in any event.

Code:
body.content {white-space: pre-wrap;}
The added line above is to get rid of the issue in the PM system.

Quote:
If you like it, then that's great. For me I feel like if I have to explain to my users to not worry about the extra blank lines I might as well just tell them to hit the enter key to get the space bar working again.
Sadly, it's been my experience that the average user takes zero notice of stickies, notices or announcements. This is the case on my board where this mod is implemented but nevertheless got threads and PMs asking about the spacebar.

It is what it is....
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-10-2016, 06:54 PM
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 339
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Strange, all my sites absolutely fine after the edits & QE off - could be a combination of other stuff that's been installed/modded though.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-11-2016, 01:52 AM
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 934
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z3r0 View Post
That wasn't what I (man1c) posted, this was:-

Code:
@supports (-webkit-appearance:none) {
body.forum {white-space: pre-wrap;}
}
You also need to turn off quick edit for it to work properly without any extra whitespace issues for anybody.
If you remove quick edit then the extra spaces disappear?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-11-2016, 01:54 AM
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 934
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane@airrifle View Post

Sadly, it's been my experience that the average user takes zero notice of stickies, notices or announcements. This is the case on my board where this mod is implemented but nevertheless got threads and PMs asking about the spacebar.

It is what it is....
Exactly the same way on my board. Even if the issue is sticky'd and in my sig people still kept complaining and asking what was wrong.

Thank you so much! Seriously, thank you. You're a lifesaver.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-12-2016, 12:10 AM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Off topic posts removed.
Last warning, any more digs, or other posts not related to support or use of this mod will get you a suspension.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-30-2016, 01:49 PM
andryus andryus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 23
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How i can use it only for PM? because i have issues only with PM ( space bar not working when you send a PM )

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 12-30-2016, 01:55 PM
andryus andryus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 23
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane@airrifle View Post
I take no credit, this kludge was posted elsewhere by man1c.

To get it to work in PMs and Quick reply add this to the bottom of editor_contents.css.

Code:
/*-- Temporary Chrome Spacebar Fix --*/
@supports (-webkit-appearance:none) {
body.forum {white-space: pre-wrap;}
body.content {white-space: pre-wrap;}
}
This worked also for me, PM works great now

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04778 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,355KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (7)bbcode_code
  • (7)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (4)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (2)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete