Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[How-to] Add more tabs to the vB 3.7 profile pages
calorie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,804

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
calorie calorie is offline 12-18-2007, 10:00 PM

If you want to add more tabs to the vB 3.7 profile pages, assuming JavaScript is enabled, or more blocks if JavaScript is off, then this tutorial is for you. If you like to learn in a trial by fire sort of way, create a new template titled memberinfo_block_mymodification with the following content:
Code:
<div class="alt1 block_row">
	<ul class="list_no_decoration">
		$block_data[mymodification]
	</ul>
</div>
Add a new plugin to the member_build_blocks_start hook with the following PHP code:
Code:
$blocklist = array_merge($blocklist, array(
	'mymodification' => array(
		'class' => 'MyModification',
		'title' => 'My Modification',
		'hook_location' => 'profile_left_last'
	)
));

class vB_ProfileBlock_MyModification extends vB_ProfileBlock
{
	var $template_name = 'memberinfo_block_mymodification';

	function confirm_empty_wrap()
	{
		return false;
	}

	function confirm_display()
	{
		return ($this->block_data['mymodification'] != '');
	}

	function prepare_output($id = '', $options = array())
	{
		$this->block_data['mymodification'] = 'Content to show in the tab.';
	}
}
Now visit your profile page to test it out. You should see a 'My Modification' tab that when clicked shows you the following text: Content to show in the tab. Exciting huh? Of course you need to add your own custom code for what to display, but this tutorial isn't about that, but rather to show you how to add tabs to the profile pages.

If you want to learn a bit more of the details, first consider this part:
Code:
$blocklist = array_merge($blocklist, array(
	'mymodification' => array(
		'class' => 'MyModification',
		'title' => 'My Modification',
		'hook_location' => 'profile_left_last'
	)
));
The $blocklist variable contains the default blocks. You merge to that another array where the key 'mymodification' references an array which sets a class to use, the title of the tab on the profile page, and the hook location. You can set whatever you want for title including the use of $vbphrase but in the example 'My Modification' is used. As for the hook location, you can use profile_left_first or profile_left_last depending on whether you want your new tab to be left or right of the current tabs, respectively.

Next consider the next part:
Code:
class vB_ProfileBlock_MyModification extends vB_ProfileBlock
{
	var $template_name = 'memberinfo_block_mymodification';

	function confirm_empty_wrap()
	{
		return false;
	}

	function confirm_display()
	{
		return ($this->block_data['mymodification'] != '');
	}

	function prepare_output($id = '', $options = array())
	{
		$this->block_data['mymodification'] = 'Content to show in the tab.';
	}
}
The class needs to be called vB_ProfileBlock_MyModification extends vB_ProfileBlock and note that part of the class name is vB_ProfileBlock_MyModification where MyModification comes from the class value set in your addition to the $blocklist variable. Inside the class, $template_name is set to the template to use, the confirm_empty_wrap function returns false to not create an empty block, the confirm_display function tests whether there is any content to display, and the prepare_output function is where you?d want to add your own custom code to fetch whatever you want to display, setting $this->block_data['mymodification'] to the content you want displayed. Remember variable scope when you add your own code, as you are inside a function that is inside a class.

Now there is the new template itself:
Code:
<div class="alt1 block_row">
	<ul class="list_no_decoration">
		$block_data[mymodification]
	</ul>
</div>
Note that $block_data[mymodification] contains whatever $this->block_data['mymodification'] contains in the prepare_output function inside the class, and because a hook location is set in your addition to the $blocklist variable, there are no manual template edits to make. Hooray! You should of course replace 'mymodification', 'MyModification', and 'My Modification' throughout this tutorial with something meaningful for your modification.

Finally there are other things that can be added to modifications such as options, and these can be seen in the vB class_profileblock.php and member.php files, though this tutorial should get you on your way to adding more content to the profile pages via additional tabs, but remember not to go overboard with queries, because even though you need to click the tab to see the content, whatever queries you run get run on page load, not tab click. Enjoy!

Fine print: tutorial based on vB 3.7.0 Beta 2, no redistribution without permission.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-11-2008, 04:45 PM
zmmmzz zmmmzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 81
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

this is awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-12-2008, 11:13 AM
Makc666's Avatar
Makc666 Makc666 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MSK-RU
Posts: 392
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmmmzz View Post
this is awesome.
Maybe, but...

In vBulletin 3.6.* I had such code in product:
Code:
<plugin active="1" executionorder=5" product="test">
<title>Test - member complete</title>
<hookname>member_complete</hookname>
<phpcode><![CDATA[if (THIS_SCRIPT == 'member')
{
	$test = "Hellow!";
	if ($vbulletin->options[test_auto])
		{
			$footer = $test.$footer;
		}
}]]></phpcode>
</plugin>
Question: How to add $test to the new tab?

This one doesn't work:
Code:
	function prepare_output($id = '', $options = array())
	{
		$this->block_data['test'] = "$test";
	}
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-15-2008, 11:37 AM
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,182
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Nice info Miss Morgan, thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-17-2008, 10:55 AM
Kicks Kicks is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

how to add some profilefields now in this tab ?

--------------- Added [DATE]1208516534[/DATE] at [TIME]1208516534[/TIME] ---------------

no one an idea ?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 04-20-2008, 08:16 AM
M-Tuning's Avatar
M-Tuning M-Tuning is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Winschoten (NL)
Posts: 275
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How to display tabs only for certain usergroups?

I have been trying some stuff out but I get an error whatever I do:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in .....
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:37 PM
King Kovifor's Avatar
King Kovifor King Kovifor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 3,872
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m-tuning View Post
How to display tabs only for certain usergroups?

I have been trying some stuff out but I get an error whatever I do:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in .....
It appears there is < within your PHP code. Please post in the programming discussions for help.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-01-2008, 01:13 AM
WhaLberg's Avatar
WhaLberg WhaLberg is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dersaadet
Posts: 569
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makc666 View Post
Maybe, but...

In vBulletin 3.6.* I had such code in product:
Code:
<plugin active="1" executionorder=5" product="test">
<title>Test - member complete</title>
<hookname>member_complete</hookname>
<phpcode><![CDATA[if (THIS_SCRIPT == 'member')
{
	$test = "Hellow!";
	if ($vbulletin->options[test_auto])
		{
			$footer = $test.$footer;
		}
}]]></phpcode>
</plugin>
Question: How to add $test to the new tab?

This one doesn't work:
Code:
	function prepare_output($id = '', $options = array())
	{
		$this->block_data['test'] = "$test";
	}
This won't work. Why? Because there is no variable named as $test in the function prepare_output. You need to have it there.

Example:
PHP Code:
function prepare_output($id ''$options = array())
{
    
$visitedcountries "Turkiye, Kazakistan, Kirgizistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan";
    
$this->block_data['visitedcountries'] = $visitedcountries;        

How do I know that? Thought on this about half an hour and noticed after that.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:00 PM
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,080
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for this Calorie. Saved me a lot of leg work.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:53 PM
skhms's Avatar
skhms skhms is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 120
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This was usefull, thanks!

/SK
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:15 PM
Blackhat's Avatar
Blackhat Blackhat is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 323
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok, finaly I got it to show my users flash players from youtube

PHP Code:
$blocklist array_merge($blocklist, array(
    
'mediabox' => array(
        
'class' => 'MediaBox',
        
'title' => 'Mediabox',
        
'hook_location' => 'profile_left_last'
    
)
));

class 
vB_ProfileBlock_MediaBox extends vB_ProfileBlock
{
    var 
$template_name 'memberinfo_block_mediabox';

    function 
confirm_empty_wrap()
    {
        return 
false;
    }

    function 
confirm_display()
    {
        return (
$this->block_data['mediabox'] != '');
    }

    function 
prepare_output($id ''$options = array())
    {
        
$this->block_data['mediabox'] = '
        
        <object width="676" height="386">
        <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/cp/'
.$this->profile->userinfo['field17'].'"></param>
        <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param>
        
        <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/cp/'
.$this->profile->userinfo['field17'].'" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="676" height="386"></embed>
        </object>
        
        '
;
    }

Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04803 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,352KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (9)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete