Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
cellarius cellarius is offline 11-15-2009, 10:00 PM

Introduction

Starting with vB4, templates no longer get output using eval:
PHP Code:
eval('$mytemplate = "' fetch_template('mytemplate') . '";'); 
is outdated.
What's more: Variables and arrays from plugins that are executed on a page no longer can automatically be accessed in the templates of that page. They need to be registered first.
.
Basic functionality to render templates and register all variables/arrays you want to use inside

PHP Code:
/* Some Code, setting variables, (multidimensional) array */
$my_var "abc";
$my_array = array(
        
'key1' => 'value1',
        
'key2' => array(
                '
key21' => 'value21',
                '
key22' => 'value22'
        '
)
    );

/* render template and register variables */
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$templater->render(); 
  • The first line provides the template that is to be rendered, using the new vB_Template class (vB_Template::create). The method gets passed the name of the template as an argument.
  • The following two lines register a variable and an array that we want to use in our template. Arguments passed are 1. the name you want to use to access the variable, and 2. the variable from the code you want to register. You can register as many variables/arrays as you want. Just remember you have to register every variable and array that you want to use in your custom template in this way. If you don't register them, they will not be available.
  • The fourth line renders the template ($templater->render()).
In the template you know will be able to use the registered variables/arrays in this way:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_var}
{vb:raw my_array.key1}
{vb:raw my_array.key2.key21}
Note the last one: multidimensional arrays are perfectly possible.
.
.
.
Now, with the result of the rendering we can do several things:
.
Output template directly - custom pages


PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
print_output($templater->render()); 
This immediatly outputs the template. Use this if you have created your own page, for example.
Note the second line, which is special for this type of use:
PHP Code:
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
This auto-registers the page level templates header, footer and headinclude that you will use in the template of your custom page.
.
Use a template hook


PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos2] .= $templater->render(); 
The template will be shown using the choosen template hook (for example: $template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos2]). See the dot before the = in the last line? The hook may be used by other modifications, too, so we don't want to overwrite it, but rather append our code to it, conserving everything that might already be there.
.
Save into a variable for later use in custom template
PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$mytemplate_rendered $templater->render(); 
Now we have saved the rendered template into a variable. This variable in turn we can later on register in another template, if we want:
PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('my_other_template');
     
$templater->register('my_template_rendered'$my_template_rendered);
 
print_output($templater->render()); 
Again, inside my_other_template we now could call
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_template_rendered}
If you're running the first template call inside a loop, you may want to use .= instead of = in the last line, so that the results of every loop get added instead of overwriting the existing. But that depends, of course.
.
Save into an array and preregister to use in an existing/stock template

PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$templatevalues['my_insertvar'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME'$templatevalues); 
  • This is another, more flexible method to save the rendered template into a variable for future use in an already existing template. In this example, we want to show our own rendered template on forumhome.
  • Problem is: We have no direct way to register variables for already existing templates like FORUMHOME. It's created and rendered in the files, and we don't want to mess there.
  • To help with this, a new method was created for vB_Template class, called preRegister. Using this, we can pass our data to FORUMHOME before it is rendered. Note that the data needs to be saved into an array ($templatevalues['my_insertvar']), a simple variable will throw an error. In the last line the array is preregistered; you need to pass as arguments 1. the name of the existing template and 2. the array that contains the data. Again, this can be done for as many arrays as needed.
  • Of course, the preRegister functionality can be used for any kind of variables or arrays, no matter whether you have saved a rendered template (like in our example) into it or it contains just a simple boolean true/false statement.
To access the data inside the template it was preregistered for use:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_insertvar}
Note: it is not {vb:raw templatevalues.my_insertvar}!

Essentially the same as what I put for preRegister would be the following two lines. They could replace the last two lines in the above php codebox:
PHP Code:
$my_insertvar $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME',array('my_insertvar ' => $my_insertvar)); 
Of course you could add further pairs to that array if you need to preregister more than one variable.
.
.
Bonus track: ...whatever you do, cache your templates!

Now you know how to get your templates on screen - once you succeeded in doing that, make sure to do it in a fast and ressource saving manner: make use of vB's template cache. To see whether your templates are cached or not, activate debug mode by adding $config['Misc']['debug'] = true;to your config.php (don't ever use that on your live site!). Among the debug info is a list of all templates called, and non-cached templates will show up in red.

To cache your templates, add a plugin at hook cache_templates with the following code:
PHP Code:
// for a single template
$cache[] = 'mytemplate'

// for more than one templates in one step
$cache array_merge((array)$cache,array(
    
'mytemplate',
    
'myothertemplate',
    
'mythirdtemplate'
)); 
.
.
Hope this helps!
-cel

----
Addendum - There are now two blog posts on vb.com related to this topic:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/entry...in-4-templates
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/entry...-4-based-files
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 04-06-2015, 12:09 AM
Master Of Unive Master Of Unive is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 74
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I think using member_build_blocks_start is much better than member_complete as it allows you to access function preRegister of vB_Template class.
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 05-15-2015, 06:36 AM
Gizmo99 Gizmo99 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London
Posts: 65
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

JUst a quick question

Playing with 4.2.2

Tried using the $templater but no dice but (Sorted)

BUT !!!! eval does work ? is this right ?



PHP Code:
if ($_POST['do']  == 'start')
{
            eval(
'print_output("'fetch_template('online_menu') . '");');

// Template show
$templater vB_Template::create('online_menu');
$templater->register_page_templates();
print_output($templater->render());


Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 05-15-2015, 06:42 AM
Black Snow Black Snow is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 471
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Easy5s.net View Post
hock process_templates_complete

PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('testtest');
    
$templater->register('var1'$var1);
    
$templater->register('var2'$var2);
$out[test] = $templater->render();
$ad_location['global_below_navbar'] .= $out
but not work???. I want auto add temp to below navbar.
Try this:

Code:
$templater = vB_Template::create('testtest');
$templater->register('var1', $var1);
$template_hook[global_below_navbar] .= $templater->render();
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 10-01-2015, 08:23 AM
taravasya taravasya is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Help me please! What I`m do wrong?...
I trying show some info on showthread page.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
PHP Code:
<plugin active="1" executionorder="5">
    <
title>RightSideBlock</title>
    <
hookname>showthread_start</hookname>
    <
phpcode><![CDATA[
$mynewvar "MyNewVar";
$templater vB_Template::create('rightside_on_showthread');
    
$templater->register('mynewvar'$mynewvar);
$rightside_rendered $templater->render();
    ]]></
phpcode>
</
plugin
------------------------------------------------------------------
HTML Code:
<template name="rightside_on_showthread" templatetype="template" date="1337106668" username="taravasya" version="1.0.0"><![CDATA[
<div class="rightsideinfo">{vb:raw mynewvar}</div>
]]></template>
------------------------------------------------------------------
And so on SHOWTHREAD template I adding:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw rightside_on_showthread}
------------------------------------------------------------------
But with no luck (((
In place in what I was want to add my info I have white space(without my div class="rightsideinfo" in inspector of page). But in debug info, I have not cached template rightside_on_showthread.

UPDATE -------------------------------------

I was thinking if I take vars into my own template, then I don`t need to use vB_Template:: preRegister for add my template in showthread. But I was wrong...))
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 10-04-2015, 02:46 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('rightside_on_showthread');
    
$templater->register('mynewvar'$mynewvar);
$rightside_rendered $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('SHOWTHREAD', array('rightside_rendered' => $rightside_rendered)); 
Reply With Quote
2 благодарности(ей) от:
taravasya, TheLastSuperman
  #307  
Old 10-15-2015, 03:15 PM
taravasya taravasya is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks, Lynne! Actually I wrote in a previous message, that I understood my mistake, but your variant helped me to make my code more succinctly! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 10-29-2015, 09:54 PM
taravasya taravasya is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 21
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Another problem(((
In hook showthread_similarthreadbit I add next code:
PHP Code:
        $templater vB_Template::create('rightside_similarthreadbit'); 
        
$templater->register('simthread'$simthread); 
        
$templatevalues .= $templater->render(); 
        
vB_Template::preRegister('SHOWTHREAD', array('templatevalues' => $templatevalues)); 
Like this I have just ONE LAST result from query. What I have to do for have all results?
This hook added in showthread.php on 1978.
I was thinking, if this hook placed in a while cycle, I will have all results from this cycle. But no....
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 12-12-2018, 06:42 AM
irantk irantk is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 69
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi
my plugin load in "showthread_complete" and it's code is:
PHP Code:
global $pagenumber$perpage$totalposts$pagetitle$threadinfo;

$totalpages ceil($totalposts $perpage);
$templater vB_Template::create('opengraph_inshowthread');
$templater->register('pagenumber'$pagenumber);
$templater->register('totalposts'$totalposts);
$templater->register('perpage'$perpage);
$templater->register('totalpages'$totalpages);
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
$templater->register('pagedescription'$threadinfo['description']);
$template_hook['headinclude_bottom_css'] .= $templater->render(); 
and "opengraph_inshowthread" template code is:
Code:
<meta property="og:title" content="{vb:raw pagetitle} - page {vb:raw pagenumber} of {vb:raw totalpages} pages" />
But nothing adds to head. how to add my template to head?
I need to point out that I can not load the plugin in the "parse_template". Because the page number and other variable is not recognized in "parse_template".
and why "{vb:rawphrase thread.title}" not work in my template?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05295 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,389KB
  • Queries Executed 24 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_html
  • (16)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (9)post_thanks_box
  • (19)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (9)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (2)post_thanks_postbit
  • (9)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (8)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete