Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Add options per forum
Logikos
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,924

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Logikos Logikos is offline 08-01-2005, 10:00 PM

What this is
This guide will teach you to use the hooks system to add options to your admincp/forum.php page. One finished, you will be able to add new options to your forum with just a few lines of code.

Don't understand?
Ever wanted to turn something on, but only in one of your forums? For example, lets say you want to execute code, but only in forum I.D. 2, 16, and 45.

Lets begin!
In this tutorial we will assume that you want a yes or no option; in order to enable/disable some code. In order to do that we first need to create a new row in the database. This will hold the information of which forums will be enabled/disabled. Always remember that '1' is considered as on, or enabled. And that '0' is considered off, or disabled.

Please make sure this is all done on a test forum!

We have to store the data!
Run this SQL Query:
[sql]
ALTER TABLE forum ADD (
var smallint(3) unsigned not null default ''
)
[/sql]

Var = The name of the row in the database. This should be a name that will describe your system in one word. For example. In my vB Category Icons hack. This row is named 'forumhomeicon'

Now that we have added our new row named 'var'. We now have to add the on/off option in the forums manager area of the admin control panel.

Add the option in the ACP
To add this new option in the ACP we need to create a new hook and add some code to that hook.

The hook name should be: forumadmin_edit_form
And the code should be:
PHP Code:
print_input_row($vbphrase['your_phrase'], 'forum[var]'$forum['var']); 
Notice the 'var'? Remember, that's the row name!
That will actually add the yes/no row to all your forums in the admincp. So when you click on the save button, it will add your selection to the database.

But how does it know which row to add it to? Glad you asked.

You have to create one more hook!
The hook name should be: forumdata_start
And the code to add there is the following
PHP Code:
$this->validfields['var'] = array(TYPE_STRREQ_NO); 
Notice the var again? That's telling it which row to add it to.

I want to add more then just one option!
Then you will need to repeat this tutorial for each option you would like to have.

Now that you have saved both hooks. You can now use the following code in any of your hooks.

PHP Code:
if ($foruminfo['var'] == 1)
{
     
// your code here

In templates you would use

HTML Code:
<if condition="$foruminfo['var'] == 1">
     <!-- Your Code Here -->
</if>
Big Tip:
If you have 2 or more options being added to the forums, you can place all the code in each hook. For example:

Hookname: forumadmin_edit_form
Code:
PHP Code:
print_input_row($vbphrase['your_phrase'], 'forum[var1]'$forum['var1']);
print_input_row($vbphrase['your_phrase'], 'forum[var2]'$forum['var2']); 
Hook Name: forumdata_start
Code:
PHP Code:
$this->validfields['var1'] = array(TYPE_STRREQ_NO);
$this->validfields['var2'] = array(TYPE_STRREQ_NO); 
You don't have to keep creating new hooks for more options for the same hack. Is better to only create hooks for separate hacks.



Custom Fields
The following fields can also be used.
PHP Code:
// This will print an input form. Good for titles, and such.
print_input_row($vbphrase['your_phrase'], 'forum[var]'$forum['var']); 
PHP Code:
//This will print a yes or no row
print_yes_no_row($vbphrase['your_phrase'], 'forum[var]'$forum['var']); 
PHP Code:
//This will print a text area. Good for descriptions
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['your_phrase'], 'forum[var]'$forum['var']); 
There are more that can be used. When I have some more time I will add them all here.

This tutorial was created for a member who needed to know how to do this exact thing, so I figured I would teach everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-02-2005, 05:07 PM
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,080
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Add the option in the ACP
To add this new option in the ACP we need to create a new hook and add some code to that hook.
How and where do I do that?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-11-2005, 11:02 PM
Rebecca217 Rebecca217 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 84
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you so much for this tutorial. I found it very helpful!

Rebecca
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-12-2005, 02:05 AM
JimNY JimNY is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 11
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi everyone,

i am new to this but i like know how to add the following pages to my site.

home --><--forum---><--Link Page--> <--Resources--><--etc-->

How do I go about doing just that? Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-13-2005, 11:13 AM
JimNY JimNY is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 11
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi Everyone,

Can some help me please?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-20-2005, 01:25 AM
Evil X Evil X is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: naptown
Posts: 386
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I want to make make it so when users post in my graphic forum, it has a drop down below the title were it will say Experience: and they can choose from noobie or pro or basic and then it will add it to the title... (ie they put pro as thier graphic experience) so it would say something like this in the title- Check out this new design!!![PRO]
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-28-2005, 11:21 PM
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,972
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Dude, this is vBulletin 3.5, and the stuff in this tutorial could be done via XML...
HINT: <group name="misc"><group name="forumoptions">...</group></group>
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-17-2005, 08:53 AM
badnans badnans is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How do I allow end users to ADD A NEW FORUM? By end users, I mean, registered users who are neither administrators, nor moderators. I am trying to look for a complete example using vB_DataManager_Forum.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-17-2005, 06:44 PM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Could you please try to explain what you want to achieve. This sounds like it is getting very close to the borders of the license agreement.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-18-2005, 10:33 AM
badnans badnans is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcoH64
Could you please try to explain what you want to achieve. This sounds like it is getting very close to the borders of the license agreement.
Was that message for my query? If a registered user has to create a Forum Topic, is it violation of vBulletin Agreement??? :surprised:

By the way, I figured it out:
Code:
$forum = array(
	'title' => 'My Forum Topic,
	'description' => '',
	'link' => '',
	'displayorder' => 1,
	'daysprune' => -1,
	'parentid' => 1,
	'newthreademail' => '',
	'newpostemail' => '',
	'options' => array(
		'moderatenewpost' => 0,
		'moderatenewthread' => 0,
		'moderateattach' => 0,
		'warnall' => 0,
		'styleoverride' => 0,
		'canhavepassword' => 1,
		'cancontainthreads' => 0,
		'active' => 1,
		'allowposting' => 0,
		'indexposts' => 0,
		'allowhtml' => 0,
		'allowbbcode' => 1,
		'allowimages' => 1,
		'allowsmilies' => 1,
		'allowicons' => 1,
		'allowratings' => 0,
		'countposts' => 0,
		'showonforumjump' => 1),
	'styleid' => -1,
	'password' => '',
);
$forumdata =& datamanager_init('Forum', $vbulletin, ERRTYPE_CP);
	foreach ($forum AS $varname => $value)
	{
		if ($varname == 'options')
		{
			foreach ($value AS $key => $val)
			{
				$forumdata->set_bitfield('options', $key, $val);
			}
		}
		else
		{
			$forumdata->set($varname, $value);
		}
	}

$forumid = $forumdata->save();
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-18-2005, 03:54 PM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yes that question was for you, but since you didn't answer what you want to achieve, i can also not anwer if it is a violation of the user agreement.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04808 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,326KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (8)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete