Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[How to] Write Plug-ins/Hooks
Brad
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,765

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Brad Brad is offline 06-06-2005, 10:00 PM

This is your basic guide to making plug-ins and hooks, as we are all coming over from the 'hack the files' mentality I am posting this thread more for people that are used to hacking the 3.0.x source code and looking to port modifications. Although a newbie should be able to come away with a good understanding of how to do this to .

[high]Things to consider[/high]

Ok before we get started here are a few things to keep in mind. First and foremost plug-ins are stored in the database, serlized, unserlized and evaled on page generation. If you code preforms badly with such a wrapper forget making a plug-in and just hack it, trust me you'll thank yourself for it when your forum gets large.

Second thing, hooks will not get you into every corner of the code. Some things will always be done best with a hack. For example if you are looking to add something but need to query the db for some extra data and want to avoid and extra query (in other words you are going to modify an existing one with a join or such) forget it and hack it in, there are no hooks that let you modify existing queries.

Last but not least hooks are not magic, don't add a million of them and expect your forum to run as fast as it did when you first installed it. Only plug-in/hack-in what you really need!

Ok enough with the boring stuff, lets add our first plug-in!

[high]Basics:[/high]

First thing you need to do is make sure plug-ins are enabled, you can find this option in the admin cp by browsing to vBoptions -> Select Plugin/Hook System from menu -> Set Enable Plugin/Hook System to yes.

Now head to the add plug-in page located at http://www.yoururl.com/forum/admincp/plugin.php?do=add

Lets go over what all these options mean:

Hook Location: This is where the php code will be executed at, hook locations at defined all across vBulletin. You can find them by opening and php file and searching for the var $hook. When you find a bit of php code like this you have found a hook:

PHP Code:
($hook vBulletinHook::fetch_hook('showthread_postbit_create')) ? eval($hook) : false
See that bit fetch_hook('showthread_postbit_create')? Well the text "showthread_postbit_create" is the name of this hook, if you look in the drop down you will find that listed in there somewhere. Incase you are wondering that hook is located in showthread.php at line 1012

Title: This is the title of your plug-in, use a good name because this is the only thing you have to identify the plug-in in the plug-in manager.

Plugin PHP Code: Can you guess? This is where you put your custom php code, on page generation it is executed at the hook location in the .php files. Note that you do not need <?php ?> tags here, in other words:

wrong:

PHP Code:
<?php $var true?>
Right:

PHP Code:
$var true
Plugin is Active: Allows you to turn the plug-in on/off without removing it. If set to 'yes' php code is ran on page execution.

Edit - Thanks to Revan for this addition:

Quote:
[high]vbulletin_plugins.xml[/high]
If you need to tell your users to add a lot of plugins, this will become tedious as much copy/pasting is required. A simpler way would be to use the .xml import. It works just like the importing of templates and phrases, by adding the contained code as a Plugin.
The correct format for a plugin.xml file is like so (thanks to Live Wire):
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<plugins>
	<plugin active="1">
		<title>vB Category Icons</title>
		<hookname>forumdata_start</hookname>
		<phpcode><![CDATA[$this->validfields['forumhomeicon'] = array(TYPE_STR, REQ_NO);]]></phpcode>
	</plugin>
</plugins>
Explanations:
<plugin active="1"> - The 'active' attribute determines the default value of 'Plugin is Active' in the Plugin Manager.
<title></title> - Self explanatory, it is the 'Title' field in the Manager.
<hookname></hookname> - The 'Hook Location' you would select.
<phpcode><![CDATA[ ]]></phpcode> - Anything added in the space between these is added to the 'Plugin PHP Code' part.
[high]Tips[/high]

At first approach coding the plug-in like a hack.

Open the php file you would normally edit and get your mind around the new code.

Once you have a good understanding of the new code you should start looking for where you need to add your custom php. Once you find the right location in the code start looking for a nearby hook, if you don't see one you can work with you are out of luck!

Edit- Thanks to KirbyDE for his addition:

Quote:
Something that might come in handy for those developing Plugins:

In class_hook.php FIND
PHP Code:
function &fetch_hook($hookname)

BELOW that ADD
PHP Code:
DEVDEBUG("Calling Hook $hookname"); 
Then (if debug mode is turned on) you can see which hooks are being called, and when they are being called.
Once you find your hook note its name and apply your changes in the admincp, from here on out you are on your own
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:50 AM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

A Plug-In is the code that uses a Hook to attach itself to exisitng code.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-15-2005, 08:34 AM
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,671
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Live Wire
hacking it, as if you add it to the plugin area, it has to call a query just to call that line.
Not true. I tried adding 5 plugins to the showthread all with useless variable definitions, and it did not call any additional queries.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:40 AM
dreck's Avatar
dreck dreck is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pickens SC
Posts: 182
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks Brad
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-25-2005, 02:41 PM
deathemperor's Avatar
deathemperor deathemperor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: HOL
Posts: 1,270
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

When adding new plugin, there's a input field name 'Developer Key' . Do you know what it does, Brad ? the strange thing is that I installed 2 vb3.5 board, one has it but the another doesn't

Edit: it shows when you enabled debug mode
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-29-2005, 10:34 PM
dwh's Avatar
dwh dwh is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 278
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcoH64
A Plug-In is the code that uses a Hook to attach itself to exisitng code.
I think I get it. So it's like "including" some code in a certain place in the code? Is that all??

I thought it was going to be more of a standardized method of calling certain functions.

Like if you want to start a new thread each time someone registers, instead of copying all the code around creating a new thread you just call build_new_post() (which surprisingly wasn't enough in vb 3.07). Or for a custom PM every time someone reaches 100 posts you call build_new_pm().

It sounds like this is very different than I was expecting.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:37 AM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You can see a Plugin as an externally definable include.

What you are talking about has nothing to fo with Plugins, but with standard functions offered, and maybe with approaching this as OOP classes.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-30-2005, 03:13 PM
dwh's Avatar
dwh dwh is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 278
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcoH64
You can see a Plugin as an externally definable include.

What you are talking about has nothing to fo with Plugins, but with standard functions offered, and maybe with approaching this as OOP classes.
Thanks for explaining it.

To tell the truth, I'm pretty disappointed by this. It sounds like adding a ton of complexity to something as simple as inserting a bit of code in a file. This might actually make upgrades worse. Includes need to happen at the right place. I'd rather look at the code on one page when upgraded to see if the placement has to change. Now if there are 3 mods working on a similar piece of code, it will be much harder to get a feel of the flow of the code. As it is, with regular code, to follow the logic you need to look at all the included files. I've found that to be quite a pain several times, but there it's understandable. I dunno. Maybe it will all work out, but I'm wondering if this is such a good thing...

What's the big benefit? Just to make mods easier to install for newbies?

(Just in case this comes off wrong, I'm not trying to say this in a negative manner or just to nag...I also want to check if I'm understanding this properly and give feedback about it. As always, I want it clear that I love vb!)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:40 AM
sketch42's Avatar
sketch42 sketch42 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 361
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

ok im a bit confused at how these hooks work.. i mean i understand the basics of it but i think i need a bit more explanation

now say i wanted to add my code into /admincp/user.php
and i want to modify this area

PHP Code:
// ###################### Start Edit Access #######################
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'editaccess')
{
        if (!
can_administer('canadminpermissions'))
        {
                
print_cp_no_permission();
        }

        
$vbulletin->input->clean_array_gpc('r', array(
                
'userid' => TYPE_INT
        
));

        
$user $db->query_first("SELECT username, options FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "user WHERE userid = " $vbulletin->GPC['userid']);

        
$accesslist $db->query_read("SELECT * FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "access WHERE userid = " $vbulletin->GPC['userid']);

        
//echo '<h1>$db->numrows($accesslist) = ' . $db->num_rows($accesslist) . '<br />user.hasaccessmask = ' . ($user['options'] & $vbulletin->bf_misc_useroptions['hasaccessmask'] ? 'yes' : 'no') . '</h1>';

        
while ($access $db->fetch_array($accesslist))
        {
                
$accessarray[$access['forumid']] = $access;
        }

        
print_form_header('user''updateaccess');
        
construct_hidden_code('userid'$vbulletin->GPC['userid']);

        
print_table_header($vbphrase['edit_access_masks'] . ": <span class=\"normal\">$user[username]</span>"20);
        
print_description_row($vbphrase['here_you_may_edit_forum_access_on_a_user_by_user_basis']);
        
print_cells_row(array($vbphrase['forum'], $vbphrase['allow_access_to_forum']), 0'thead', -2);
        
print_label_row('&nbsp;''
                <input type="button" value="' 
$vbphrase['all_yes'] . '" onclick="js_check_all_option(this.form, 1);" class="button" />
                <input type="button" value=" ' 
$vbphrase['all_no'] . ' " onclick="js_check_all_option(this.form, 0);" class="button" />
                <input type="button" value="' 
$vbphrase['all_default'] .'" onclick="js_check_all_option(this.form, -1);" class="button" />
        '
); 
so the closest hook i could find is this
PHP Code:
        ($hook vBulletinHook::fetch_hook('useradmin_update_save')) ? eval($hook) : false
which is 20 lines above
so would i need to do this?
PHP Code:
       ($hook vBulletinHook::fetch_hook('useradmin_update_save')) ? eval($hook) : false;

        
// save data
        
$userid $userdata->save();
        if (
$vbulletin->GPC['userid'])
        {
                
$userid $vbulletin->GPC['userid'];
        }

        
// #############################################################################
        // now do the redirect

        
if ($vbulletin->GPC['modifyavatar'])
        {
                
define('CP_REDIRECT'"usertools.php?do=avatar&amp;u=$userid");
        }
        else if (
$vbulletin->GPC['modifyprofilepic'])
        {
                
define('CP_REDIRECT'"usertools.php?do=profilepic&amp;u=$userid");
        }
        else
        {
                
define('CP_REDIRECT'"user.php?do=modify&amp;u=$userid. ($userdata->insertedadmin '&insertedadmin=1' ''));
        }

        
print_stop_message('saved_user_x_successfully'$user['username']);
}

// ###################### Start Edit Access #######################

BLAH BLAH BLAH CUSTOM PHP CODE 
or am i way off base?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-15-2005, 10:22 AM
dwh's Avatar
dwh dwh is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 278
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fusion
Actually, that's an excellent idea.
Has there been any traction on this idea? Does vb think of doing this in a future version?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 09-09-2005, 09:07 PM
DJ RRebel DJ RRebel is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CANADA
Posts: 39
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

yeah ... I'd have to agree that most of the hacking I've done and would like to do involves calling extra fields in the database ... I haven't really looked into it yet, but it would seem that it would make alot of sense to have hooks at the end of some select statements.

... or better yet, have "replacement hooks" for some queries ... where the default querry would be used ... but if there was an active hook for that location, that segment would be replaced. Although I'm guessing this 2nd option would make you have to change your hook after upgrading if the original query required changes.

Anyhow ... I guess I should try a Plug-in or two before I make too many more suggestions! lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05074 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,358KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (8)bbcode_php
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete