Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Arrange Sub-Forums in columns Details »»
Arrange Sub-Forums in columns
Version: 1.00, by tamarian tamarian is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.7 Rating:
Released: 04-04-2004 Last Update: Never Installs: 138
 
No support by the author.

There's also a vB 3.5 version here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...threadid=82845

What it does
This hack arranges sub-forums on the forum home into 2 (or more) columns, makeing large lists of sub-forums more presentable. You can see it in action on my forums here:

Demo
http://forum.lowcarber.org

Note:
1. You need to enable sub-forum display on the forum home from your vB admin panel
2. This hack is for the forum home page, not forum display.


To enable sub-forums on the forum home page
1. Go to your forum Admin panel
2. Click vBulletin Options
3. Select "Forum Listings Display Options" from the drop down list
4. In "Depth of Sub-Forums" replace 0 with 1

Installation
To install, edit the file functions_forumlist.php (in the includes directory)

1. Find

PHP Code:
      foreach($vbulletin->iforumcache["$parentid"] AS $forumid
Place this code above it:

PHP Code:
$output .= "<table width=\"100%\" cellpadding=\"0\" cellspacing=\"0\" border=\"0\" align=\"center\" ><tr valign=\"top\"> ";
      
$cols 0
2. Find
PHP Code:
            eval('$subforum = "' fetch_template("forumhome_subforumbit_$canpost") . '";');
            if (!empty(
$output))
            {
                
$subforum $splitter["$canpost"] . $subforum;
            }
            if (
$depth $vbulletin->options['subforumdepth'])
            {
                
$output .= construct_subforum_bit($forumid$cancontainthreads$subforum$depthmark '--'$depth 1);
            }
        }
    }

    return 
$output;


Replace with
PHP Code:
            eval('$subforum = "' fetch_template("forumhome_subforumbit_$canpost") . '";');
                    if (
$depth $vbulletin->options['subforumdepth'])
                        {
                                
$cols++;
                                if (
$cols==3)
                                        {
                                        
$cols 1;
                                        
$output .=  "</tr><tr>";
                                        }

                        
$output .= '<td width="50%">' construct_subforum_bit($forumid$cancontainthreads$subforum$depthmark '--'$depth 1) . "</td>";
                        }
        }
    }

        if (
$cols ==1$output.="<td>&nbsp;</td></tr></table>";
    else 
$output.="</tr></table>";

        return 
$output;


To put them in 3 columns, instead of t2, just edit this line "if ($cols==3)" to "if ($cols==4)" and change this line:

PHP Code:
                  $output .= "<td width=\"50%\">" construct_subforum_bit($forumid$cancontainthreads$subforum$depthmark '--'$depth 1) . ""
To this:
PHP Code:
                  $output .= "<td width=\"33%\">" construct_subforum_bit($forumid$cancontainthreads$subforum$depthmark '--'$depth 1) . ""
Template modification (optional)
As this hack will list the sub-forums in a table, the font used is not effected by the <div> tag for subforums, which will cause the default font to be used instead of smallfont.

To use smallfont for sub-forum names, edit the "forumhome_subforumbit_post"

Change (this is the whole template)
Code:
<img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/subforum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" /> <a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]">$forum[title]</a>
To:
Code:
<img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/subforum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" /> <a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><span class="smallfont">$forum[title]</span></a>

And for those who want to edit or remove the "Sub-forum" word, just remove (or edit, if you just want to change it) "<strong>$vbphrase[subforums]</strong>:" from the "forumhome_forumbit_level2_post" template

Screen shots, before/after

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 04-06-2004, 08:22 AM
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,898
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Once we apply the update further on this year on vbulletin.nl THIS will be one of the few hacks we WILL install most likely. It helps us organize quite a lot!! This looks amazing.

My absolute goal is to have a icon that reads subs.. and when pressed on has a drop down like in the postbit for username, for subforums (if any).
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-06-2004, 09:01 AM
joeychgo's Avatar
joeychgo joeychgo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 933
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

did do anything!!!!!!

Im lost. Im sre I did as you instructed -- I have attached the file you said to edit, maybe you can see something I cant, im still very new at this...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-06-2004, 01:52 PM
surfhog's Avatar
surfhog surfhog is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: England
Posts: 69
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

yup I tried this as well and did not work for me either.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-06-2004, 11:23 PM
joeychgo's Avatar
joeychgo joeychgo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 933
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

any ideas on what the problem is?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-06-2004, 11:54 PM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeychgo
any ideas on what the problem is?
I think the problem is that you don't have sub-forum display enabled on your forum home.

There seem to be a misunderstanding that this hack is for forum display, but it is for forum home. If you do not display sub-forums on the forum home, then this hack won't work.

I'll add a comment to the first post, to make this clear.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-07-2004, 12:52 AM
joeychgo's Avatar
joeychgo joeychgo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 933
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Are you saying it not working cause I have a VBA homepage?
-- If so, isnt there a simple way to alter it?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-07-2004, 01:01 AM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeychgo
Are you saying it not working cause I have a VBA homepage?
-- If so, isnt there a simple way to alter it?
No, what I'm saying is that you have sub-forum listing disabled in your control panel.

You just need to enable it, to see the sub-forums in columns on the forum homepage.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-07-2004, 01:03 AM
joeychgo's Avatar
joeychgo joeychgo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 933
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

OK -- cool, now how do I do that? Im a newbie remember...
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-07-2004, 01:16 AM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeychgo
OK -- cool, now how do I do that? Im a newbie remember...
1. Go the Admin panel
2. Click vBulletin Options
3. Select "Forum Listings Display Options" from the drop down list
4. In "Depth of Sub-Forums" replace 0 with 1
Save, and you should be set.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 04-08-2004, 02:38 AM
Fi_InCogNiTo Fi_InCogNiTo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 112
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hey, once I changed the options like you said, it works now. Thanks a bunch
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05411 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,341KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete