Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
vB3 Pets Details »»
vB3 Pets
Version: 1.00, by AutomatikStudio AutomatikStudio is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2011 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.0 Rating:
Released: 01-30-2004 Last Update: Never Installs: 132
 
No support by the author.

vB3 Pets v1.0
by AutomatikStudio and others

+What This Hack Does+
This hack gives your users the option to have their very own furry little pets. Posting on your boards is what keeps them alive!

+Installation+
+ Queries - 4
+ File edits - 3 files
+ Template Additions - 1
+ Template Edits - 2
+ Image Uploads

+UPDATE+
+Thanks to Link14716, your selections stay selected after your users save them in their profiles. The ZIP file has been updated with the new code. Or if you just want the code then check out THIS post.
+IF YOUR HACK HAS THE ANIMAL 'CATEPILLER' MAKE SURE YOU FIX THE SPELLING ERROR!! Silly me, I misspelled the word 'catepiller'. You need to update /includes/functions_showthread.php and the MODIFYPROFILE template from the word 'catepillar' to 'catepiller' with an E.

*Note: I no longer support this mod in any form or fashion. Please don't PM me with questions about it.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 02-01-2004, 01:30 AM
trinitym's Avatar
trinitym trinitym is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: between hell & insanity
Posts: 28
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I gave the above a try and it didn't work unfortunately. It looked like it should though, based on the conditionals. Perhaps the pet-related variables just aren't set to translate on that particular template. This would be my n00b guess. Heh. Kudos for giving it a shot though.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-01-2004, 01:53 AM
Link14716's Avatar
Link14716 Link14716 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,519
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Try this then:
HTML Code:
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[additional_information]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<div class="panel">
<div style="width:$stylevar[formwidth_usercp]" align="$stylevar[left]">

$customfields[regular]

<!-- end if custom fields -->
</if>

</div>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<br />
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="thead">Pet Information</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<div class="panel">
<div style="width:$stylevar[formwidth_usercp]" align="$stylevar[left]">
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Pet Ownership</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">Do you own a pet?</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><select name="petowned">
<option value="1" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[petowned] == 1">selected</if>>Yes</option>
<option value="0" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[petowned] == 0">selected</if>>No</option>
</select></td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Your Pets Name</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">Name your pet.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input type="text" class="bginput" value="$bbuserinfo[petname]" name="petname" value="$bbuserinfo[petname]" size="40"

maxlength="40"></td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Your Pets Gender</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">Set the gender of your pet.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><select name="petgender">
<option value="1" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[petgender] == 1">selected</if>>Female</option>
<option value="2" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[petgender] == 2">selected</if>>Male</option>
</select></td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Type of pet</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">Select what type of animal your pet will be.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><select name="pettype">
<option value="1" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 1">selected</if>>Dog</option>
<option value="2" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 2">selected</if>>Cat</option>
<option value="3" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 3">selected</if>>Hamster</option>
<option value="4" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 4">selected</if>>Frog</option>
<option value="5" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 5">selected</if>>Fish</option>
<option value="6" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 6">selected</if>>Bird</option>
<option value="7" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 7">selected</if>>Catepillar</option>
<option value="8" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 8">selected</if>>Dino</option>
<option value="9" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 9">selected</if>>Puppy</option>
<option value="10" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 10">selected</if>>Snail</option>
<option value="11" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 11">selected</if>>Squirrel</option>
<option value="12" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 12">selected</if>>Teddy</option>
</select></td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>
</div>
</div>

<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px">
<input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[save_changes]" accesskey="s" />
<input type="reset" class="button" value="$vbphrase[reset_fields]" accesskey="r" />
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-01-2004, 02:15 AM
trinitym's Avatar
trinitym trinitym is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: between hell & insanity
Posts: 28
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Rock on with your bad self. The above worked perfectly. Gracias!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-01-2004, 02:33 AM
digitalSite's Avatar
digitalSite digitalSite is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gator Nation
Posts: 128
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have installed but I don't see any pets on my site

Can someone please let me know where I can begin to look to see why?
I went through everything step by step. I used phpmyadmin to do the queries and added a ";" to the end of each line before i submitted it. Any ideas? I am dying to see the little pets!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-01-2004, 02:54 AM
AutomatikStudio's Avatar
AutomatikStudio AutomatikStudio is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Link14716
Try this then:
HTML Code:
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[additional_information]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<div class="panel">
<div style="width:$stylevar[formwidth_usercp]" align="$stylevar[left]">
 
$customfields[regular]
 
<!-- end if custom fields -->
</if>
 
</div>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<br />
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="thead">Pet Information</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<div class="panel">
<div style="width:$stylevar[formwidth_usercp]" align="$stylevar[left]">
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Pet Ownership</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">Do you own a pet?</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><select name="petowned">
<option value="1" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[petowned] == 1">selected</if>>Yes</option>
<option value="0" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[petowned] == 0">selected</if>>No</option>
</select></td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Your Pets Name</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">Name your pet.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input type="text" class="bginput" value="$bbuserinfo[petname]" name="petname" value="$bbuserinfo[petname]" size="40"
 
maxlength="40"></td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Your Pets Gender</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">Set the gender of your pet.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><select name="petgender">
<option value="1" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[petgender] == 1">selected</if>>Female</option>
<option value="2" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[petgender] == 2">selected</if>>Male</option>
</select></td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Type of pet</legend>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td colspan="2">Select what type of animal your pet will be.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><select name="pettype">
<option value="1" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 1">selected</if>>Dog</option>
<option value="2" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 2">selected</if>>Cat</option>
<option value="3" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 3">selected</if>>Hamster</option>
<option value="4" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 4">selected</if>>Frog</option>
<option value="5" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 5">selected</if>>Fish</option>
<option value="6" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 6">selected</if>>Bird</option>
<option value="7" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 7">selected</if>>Catepillar</option>
<option value="8" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 8">selected</if>>Dino</option>
<option value="9" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 9">selected</if>>Puppy</option>
<option value="10" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 10">selected</if>>Snail</option>
<option value="11" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 11">selected</if>>Squirrel</option>
<option value="12" <if condition="$bbuserinfo[pettype] == 12">selected</if>>Teddy</option>
</select></td>
</tr>
</table>
</fieldset>
</div>
</div>
 
<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px">
<input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[save_changes]" accesskey="s" />
<input type="reset" class="button" value="$vbphrase[reset_fields]" accesskey="r" />
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
Thanks SOOO much Matthew. I've been trying to figure out a good way to do that for a while. NOTE TO EVERYONE: The ZIP file has been updated with the code above. You can either re-download the ZIP or you can just use the code above. Rock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalSite
I have installed but I don't see any pets on my site

Can someone please let me know where I can begin to look to see why?
I went through everything step by step. I used phpmyadmin to do the queries and added a ";" to the end of each line before i submitted it. Any ideas? I am dying to see the little pets!
Hmm. There could be hundred different reasons why things don't work. Can you see the new "Pet Information" Panel in Edit Profile in the User CP? Did you make sure to put the "$vb3petsthreadbit" in your postbit? Pets don't show up on posts until a user selects that they actually own a pet in their profile...so that could be the problem. Check those things and then get back to me.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-01-2004, 03:06 AM
digitalSite's Avatar
digitalSite digitalSite is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gator Nation
Posts: 128
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Okay...I went through each step very carefully again. I do see "Pet Information" under "Edit Profile." I entered a test pet in there, pressed Save and I get this:

"There are no subscribed threads to display in this folder for this time period." (Seems like it does something with the subscription...not sure why.)

I viewed some of my posts but do not see any pet pics yet. What do you suggest I should do?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-01-2004, 03:10 AM
AutomatikStudio's Avatar
AutomatikStudio AutomatikStudio is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalSite
Okay...I went through each step very carefully again. I do see "Pet Information" under "Edit Profile." I entered a test pet in there, pressed Save and I get this:

"There are no subscribed threads to display in this folder for this time period." (Seems like it does something with the subscription...not sure why.)

I viewed some of my posts but do not see any pet pics yet. What do you suggest I should do?
Okay...in regards to your "There are no subscribed threads...." That's because after you save something in the User CP it takes you to the main page of your User CP which shows what threads you've subscribed to...so there's no problem there. And when you says you "do not see any pet pics yet"...do you mean you don't see the box that the bet would appear in with stats, their name, etc....or you don't see an actual pet? If you see everything but the pet then you possibly forgot to upload the pictures or either uploaded them to the wrong directory.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-01-2004, 03:11 AM
AutomatikStudio's Avatar
AutomatikStudio AutomatikStudio is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalSite
Okay...I went through each step very carefully again. I do see "Pet Information" under "Edit Profile." I entered a test pet in there, pressed Save and I get this:

"There are no subscribed threads to display in this folder for this time period." (Seems like it does something with the subscription...not sure why.)

I viewed some of my posts but do not see any pet pics yet. What do you suggest I should do?
Okay...in regards to your "There are no subscribed threads...." That's because after you save something in the User CP it takes you to the main page of your User CP which shows what threads you've subscribed to...so there's no problem there. And when you says you "do not see any pet pics yet"...do you mean you don't see the box that the bet would appear in with stats, their name, etc....or you don't see an actual pet? If you see everything but the pet then you possibly forgot to upload the pictures or either uploaded them to the wrong directory.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-01-2004, 03:11 AM
AutomatikStudio's Avatar
AutomatikStudio AutomatikStudio is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalSite
Okay...I went through each step very carefully again. I do see "Pet Information" under "Edit Profile." I entered a test pet in there, pressed Save and I get this:

"There are no subscribed threads to display in this folder for this time period." (Seems like it does something with the subscription...not sure why.)

I viewed some of my posts but do not see any pet pics yet. What do you suggest I should do?
Okay...in regards to your "There are no subscribed threads...." That's because after you save something in the User CP it takes you to the main page of your User CP which shows what threads you've subscribed to...so there's no problem there. And when you says you "do not see any pet pics yet"...do you mean you don't see the box that the bet would appear in with stats, their name, etc....or you don't see an actual pet? If you see everything but the pet then you possibly forgot to upload the pictures or either uploaded them to the wrong directory.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-01-2004, 03:20 AM
digitalSite's Avatar
digitalSite digitalSite is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gator Nation
Posts: 128
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hmm..I put the "bars" and the "pets" folder inside /forums/images/ directory...
I do see the Pet info to fill out, i enter some info, and then press Save. Then i posted a test post to see if I see the pet graphic...but my post is just as if I didn't install the pet hack. SO I don't see the pet graphic or other info that is supposed to be in the post...I think it should show in the post, by my username or something..i don't see it there

This is my postbit template where i put that $vb3petsthreadbit variable:
Code:
<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
	$vb3petsthreadbit
<if condition="$show['reputation']">$post[reputationdisplay]</if>
					</div>
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05420 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,377KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_html
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete