Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Remove the vB Default Navtabs
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41,180

 

California/Idaho
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Lynne Lynne is offline 01-25-2010, 10:00 PM

[HOW TO - vB4] Remove the vB Default Navtabs

Here is a quick article on how to remove some of the default vbulletin navtabs from the navbar template.

Removing the What's New navtab:

Find (near the top of the template):
Code:
        <vb:if condition="!$vboptions['selectednavtab'] AND THIS_SCRIPT != 'search'">
Change to:
Code:
        <vb:if condition="!$vboptions['selectednavtab']">
Find and Remove (about 2/3 down):
Code:
        <vb:if condition="!$vboptions['selectednavtab'] AND THIS_SCRIPT == 'search'">
            <vb:if condition="$show['member']">
            <li  class="selected"><a class="navtab" href="search.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=getnew&amp;contenttype=vBForum_Post">{vb:rawphrase getnew_tab}</a>
...
a bunch more stuff inbetween to remove
...
            </li>
            </vb:if>
        <vb:elseif condition="$show['member']" />
            <li><a class="navtab" href="search.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=getnew&amp;contenttype=vBForum_Post">{vb:rawphrase getnew_tab}</a></li>
        <vb:else />
            <li><a class="navtab" href="search.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=getdaily&amp;contenttype=vBForum_Post">{vb:rawphrase getnew_tab}</a></li>
        </vb:if>
SAVE

In a default navbar template, after removing the chunk of code above, you should end up with this in the template where the code used to be:
Code:
        {vb:raw template_hook.navtab_middle}

        {vb:raw template_hook.navtab_end}
Removing the Home navtab:
Go to Plugins & Products > Plugin Manager > Product: vBulletin CMS > Navbar: Insert CMS Navbar Entry
Plugin is Active: NO
SAVE


Removing the Blogs navtab:
Go to Plugins & Products > Plugin Manager > Product: vBulletin Blog > Navbar: Eval Blog Link Template and Validate Styleid
Find and Remove (or comment out):
Code:
if (defined('VBBLOG_CACHED_TEMPLATES'))
{
    if (defined('VBBLOG_SCRIPT'))
    {
        $vbulletin->options['selectednavtab'] = 'vbblog';
    }
    $template_hook['navtab_middle'] .= vB_Template::create('blog_navbar_link')->render();
        $template_hook['navbar_getnew_menu'] .= vB_Template::create('blog_navbar_whatsnew_link')->render();
    if ($show['blog_search'])
    {
        $template_hook['navbar_search_menu'] .= vB_Template::create('blog_navbar_search')->render();
    }
}
SAVE

Removing the Forum navtab:

Find and remove (starts near the very top):
Code:
        <vb:if condition="!$vboptions['selectednavtab'] AND THIS_SCRIPT != 'search'">
  ...
a bunch more stuff inbetween to remove
...
        <vb:else />
            <li><a class="navtab" href="{vb:link forumhome}">{vb:rawphrase forum}</a></li>
        </vb:if>
SAVE

Other related articles of possible interest:
[HOW TO - vB4] Create a New Tab in the navbar
[HOW TO - vB4] Create your own vBulletin page
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-27-2010, 10:55 PM
Head Roller's Avatar
Head Roller Head Roller is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lafayette, CO
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

OH.. I assure you I did do a search before posting the question.... just did another and nothing came up.. I will add some tags when I find it.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-27-2010, 11:04 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Head Roller View Post
OH.. I assure you I did do a search before posting the question.... just did another and nothing came up.. I will add some tags when I find it.
It's going to be hard to tag since there is no tagging in 3.6.

how to disable the link on the navbar?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-01-2010, 10:58 AM
Fuhrmann Fuhrmann is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 76
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Nice article, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-13-2010, 03:08 AM
merk_aus merk_aus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 582
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for taking the time in doing this however it is just over my expertese i can't get rid of the whats new stuff! oh well thanks for taking the time.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-19-2010, 08:31 PM
theque's Avatar
theque theque is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 52
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How can i remove this in 4.0.4 What's New tab?

i followed the first part of your instructions but i can't find this part of code

(about 2/3 down):
Code:
        <vb:if condition="!$vboptions['selectednavtab'] AND THIS_SCRIPT == 'search'">
            <vb:if condition="$show['member']">
            <li  class="selected"><a class="navtab" href="search.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=getnew&amp;contenttype=vBForum_Post">{vb:rawphrase getnew_tab}</a>
...
a bunch more stuff
...
            </li>
            </vb:if>
        <vb:elseif condition="$show['member']" />
            <li><a class="navtab" href="search.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=getnew&amp;contenttype=vBForum_Post">{vb:rawphrase getnew_tab}</a></li>
        <vb:else />
            <li><a class="navtab" href="search.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}do=getdaily&amp;contenttype=vBForum_Post">{vb:rawphrase getnew_tab}</a></li>
        </vb:if>
SAVE
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-30-2010, 09:49 AM
Marvin Hlavac Marvin Hlavac is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This may be beyond the scope of this topic, but I'm searching for a way to completely remove the new "navtap" bar that contains the "Forum" and What's New" tabs and also the Search box.

I wish to completely eliminate the entire bar including its content. What would be a simple way to achieve it? Any ideas? Any links?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-03-2010, 09:55 PM
COL NIL SATIS COL NIL SATIS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 802
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Fantastic ...the whats new tab wasnt needed and this has helped so so much ....thanks a lot Lynne !!!!! cheers
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-04-2010, 12:49 PM
pilotxx pilotxx is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 34
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin Hlavac View Post
This may be beyond the scope of this topic, but I'm searching for a way to completely remove the new "navtap" bar that contains the "Forum" and What's New" tabs and also the Search box.

I wish to completely eliminate the entire bar including its content. What would be a simple way to achieve it? Any ideas? Any links?
you will need to delete all section of what's new code. it works for me.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-09-2010, 05:09 PM
Scan Cape Cod's Avatar
Scan Cape Cod Scan Cape Cod is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cape Cod Massachusetts
Posts: 55
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmmorris1 View Post
How do you remove the forums link from the CMS nav bar?
I'd like to remove my Forum tab and instead place a link to it in a drop down Forums tab. But...without a hand hold I don't know how to do so.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 07-22-2010, 12:51 PM
James Cole James Cole is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi, Lynne:

Great info! I hope you can help me take the programming changes to the navbar template one step further, by eliminating the entire second row of the navbar altogether.

That is, I want to turn this:



into this:



We already have an extensive website that the forum needs to fit into, so the second row just adds confusion to the site given the site's existing headers, search features, and so on.

Many thanks,
James
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04857 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,333KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (7)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (8)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete