Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Create a New Tab in the navbar (with template)
ragtek
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,630

 

austria, croatia
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
ragtek ragtek is offline 11-17-2009, 10:00 PM

I know that lynne allready postet an article, but here's a other way:

This tutorial will show you, how to add own links to your navbar.
(In the tutorial i'll use the code for my news add-on)


1. create a template (ragtek_news_navbar)
HTML Code:
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['selectednavtab'] == 'ragteknews'">
<li class="selected">
    <a class="navtab" href="news.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase ragtek_news}</a>
<ul class="floatcontainer">
<li><a href="#">#</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
<vb:else />
<li><a class="navtab" href="news.php{vb:raw session.sessionurl_q}">{vb:rawphrase ragtek_news}</a></li>
</vb:if>
2. Create a plugin at the hook process_templates_complete
PHP Code:
if (THIS_SCRIPT == 'xxx')  // also defined('ragteknews') possible
{
//set selected tab
    
$vbulletin->options['selectednavtab'] = 'ragteknews';
}
// add the "subtemplate" to the navbartemplate
$template_hook['navtab_middle'] .= vB_Template::create('ragtek_news_navbar')->render(); 
As you see, i've defined "ragteknews" on my news.php page.If ragteknews is defined, $vbulletion->options['selectednavtab'] will be set to ragteknews.
Thats important because where using a condition in the template:
HTML Code:
<vb:if condition="$vboptions['selectednavtab'] == 'ragteknews'">
Attached Images
File Type: png Forums_1258596385528.png (7.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png Forums - News_1258596373538.png (11.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-29-2009, 12:11 AM
Adem GEN?'s Avatar
Adem GEN? Adem GEN? is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: İstanbul / T?rkiye
Posts: 377
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi,

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=228112
A test.php page I've created here

New tab is not selected TEST

My bad English

For test.php please tell me?

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-29-2009, 08:32 AM
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
Posts: 1,630
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdemGEN? View Post
Hi,

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=228112
A test.php page I've created here

New tab is not selected TEST

My bad English

For test.php please tell me?

Regards
what?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-29-2009, 08:55 AM
Adem GEN?'s Avatar
Adem GEN? Adem GEN? is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: İstanbul / T?rkiye
Posts: 377
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Like this https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachmen...8&d=1258596456

I click new tab TEST
test.php page opens
But
Forum tab will be selected
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-29-2009, 02:04 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdemGEN? View Post
Like this https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachmen...8&d=1258596456

I click new tab TEST
test.php page opens
But
Forum tab will be selected
Reread part 2 of the article:
Quote:
As you see, i've defined "ragteknews" on my news.php page.If ragteknews is defined, $vbulletion->options['selectednavtab'] will be set to ragteknews.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-29-2009, 02:36 PM
steven s's Avatar
steven s steven s is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 572
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry, this may very obvious, but why is there a condition?
I would want the tab to be visible whether I am viewing the CMS, Blog or forum.

EDIT: As it is always with me, I understand it a little more after posting a questions and rereading the original post.
Is the condition for when the link is selected, do some action, like go to that link?

EDIT2: How do I put a name on the tab? Do I create a phrase?
Is there anything wrong with me replacing {vb:rawphrase ragtek_news} with my tab name?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-29-2009, 03:43 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The condition is for when that tab is 'active' and the submenu shows.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-29-2009, 04:47 PM
steven s's Avatar
steven s steven s is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 572
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
The condition is for when that tab is 'active' and the submenu shows.
Ah. Similar to your new tab in nav bar?
I'm just looking to add a tab when clicked goes to another page.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-29-2009, 04:57 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1996 328ti View Post
Ah. Similar to your new tab in nav bar?
I'm just looking to add a tab when clicked goes to another page.
Yes, my mod and ragtek's do the same thing. We happened to each write them using a different approach to do the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-29-2009, 08:52 PM
pokash pokash is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Could someone show this noob how for example I could create 2 tabs each linking to an url? I don't understand what exactly I need to do.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:51 AM
Hoagie Hoagie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

any word on my issues? post #17 and the forum tab selected instead of the "Ranks" page???
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04777 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,340KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_html
  • (1)bbcode_php
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (4)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (2)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete