Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
UKBL ~ Easy Google Translator Details »»
UKBL ~ Easy Google Translator
Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Display Enhancements - Version: 3.8.0 Rating:
Released: 01-23-2009 Last Update: Never Installs: 36
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

UKBL ~ Easy Google Translator


Hi Everyone,

Made this for a friends forum and thought i'd share it here

Just a Simple Google translator which you can add to your forums, displays in a small Dropdown box in the Forum Home and posibit wrapper.



Then you can add the dropdown box in the postbit wrapper so that the option to translate is available with every post



Just click on a language and within seconds your posts is converted to a language of your choice



Your Members will be able to chose from the following,

Arabic
Chinese Simplified
Chinese Traditional
Dutch
French
German
Greek
Italian
Japanese
Korean
Russian
Spanish
Portuguese

There are loads more available, if you want any lanuage in particular, just post here and i'll add it on

Nice, So how do we add it???

1. Download the zip file with the code and instructions

2. Styles & Templates > All Style Options > Edit Template > Forum home template: FORUMHOME

Find:

Code:
$navbar
Below add:

Code:
<!-- UKBL ~ Easy Translation on forumhome -->

<DIV ALIGN=RIGHT>
<td nowrap style="border-left: 1px solid #dddddd;" align="center"> <select name="translate" style="height:20px; font-size:11px;" onchange="javascript:window.location = 'http://www.google.com/translate_c?hl=en&langpair=en%7C' + this.value + '&u=' + window.location.href;">
<option value="">Translate This Page</option>
<option value="ar">Arabic</option>
<option value="zh-CN">Chinese Simplified</option>
<option value="zh-TW">Chinese Traditional</option>
<option value="nl">Dutch</option>
<option value="fr">French</option>
<option value="de">German</option>
<option value="el">Greek</option>
<option value="it">Italian</option>
<option value="ja">Japanese</option>
<option value="ko">Korean</option>
<option value="pt">Portuguese</option>
<option value="ru">Russian</option>
<option value="es">Spanish</option> 
</select>
</DIV>

<!-- UKBL ~ Easy Translation on forumhome -->
Styles & Templates > All Style Options > Edit Template > Postbit Templates > postbit_wrapper

find

Code:
<!-- post #$post[postid] -->
Then below add

Code:
<!-- UKBL ~ Easy Translation on postbit_wrapper -->

<DIV ALIGN=CENTER>
<td nowrap style="border-left: 1px solid #dddddd;" align="center"> <select name="translate" style="height:20px; font-size:11px;" onchange="javascript:window.location = 'http://www.google.com/translate_c?hl=en&langpair=en%7C' + this.value + '&u=' + window.location.href;">
<option value="">Translate This Page</option>
<option value="ar">Arabic</option>
<option value="zh-CN">Chinese Simplified</option>
<option value="zh-TW">Chinese Traditional</option>
<option value="nl">Dutch</option>
<option value="fr">French</option>
<option value="de">German</option>
<option value="el">Greek</option>
<option value="it">Italian</option>
<option value="ja">Japanese</option>
<option value="ko">Korean</option>
<option value="pt">Portuguese</option>
<option value="ru">Russian</option>
<option value="es">Spanish</option> 
</select>
</DIV>

<!-- UKBL ~ Easy Translation on postbit_wrapper -->
Thats it, So easy and a great treat for your members

As always Please Click installed if you use this

************************** UPDATED LANGUAGE PACK *********************

Here is an updated language pack, just replace your existing ones with the ones below

Code:
<option value="ar">Arabic</option>
<option value="bg">Bulgarian</option>
<option value="zh-CN">Chinese Simplified</option>
<option value="zh-TW">Chinese Traditional</option>
<option value="hr">Croatian</option>
<option value="cs">Czech</option>
<option value="da">Danish </option>
<option value="nl">Dutch</option>
<option value="en">English</option>
<option value="fi">Finnish</option>
<option value="ph">Filipino</option>
<option value="fr">French</option>
<option value="de">German</option>
<option value="il">Hebrew</option>
<option value="el">Greek</option>
<option value="it">Italian</option>
<option value="id">Indonesian</option>
<option value="lv">Latvian</option>
<option value="lt">Lithuanian</option>
<option value="hi">Hindi</option>
<option value="ja">Japanese</option>
<option value="ko">Korean</option>
<option value="no">Norwegian</option>
<option value="pl">Polish</option>
<option value="pt">Portuguese</option>
<option value="ro">Romanian</option>
<option value="ru">Russian</option>
<option value="es">Spanish</option> 
<option value="sv">Swedish</option> 
<option value="rs">Serbian</option> 
<option value="sk">Slovak</option> 
<option value="si">Slovenian</option> 
<option value="ua">Ukrainian</option> 
<option value="vn">Vietnamese</option>
Feel Free to add or delete any you don't want, I'll add more as i get them

Please Click Installed for unlimited support

Download Now

File Type: zip Translator.zip (114.4 KB, 344 views)

Screenshots

File Type: png page1.png (43.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png page2.png (38.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png page3.png (32.9 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 01-30-2009, 01:00 AM
MAK-upl MAK-upl is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 23
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

aircool52 it won't work because you've pasted wrong language shortcuts in the link.
In UK's code there is a link given, right after <DIV ALIGN=RIGHT>:
Code:
<td nowrap style="border-left: 1px solid #dddddd;" align="center"> <select name="translate" style="height:20px; font-size:11px;" onchange="javascript:window.location = 'http://www.google.com/translate_c?hl=en&langpair=en%7C' + this.value + '&u=' + window.location.href;">
The only thing you need to do is to set up proper shortcuts of your language.
For spanish language it will be es.

Here is an example for you:
Code:
<DIV ALIGN=RIGHT>
<td nowrap style="border-left: 1px solid #dddddd;" align="center"> <select name="translate" style="height:20px; font-size:11px;" onchange="javascript:window.location = 'http://www.google.com/translate_c?hl=es&langpair=es%7C' + this.value + '&u=' + window.location.href;">
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-03-2009, 10:13 AM
KrU$ty's Avatar
KrU$ty KrU$ty is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i was hoping you could tell me how i could add this translation mod to the end of the menu mod you released the other day?

My forum has tabs in it, and so adding it under the navbar looks pretty messy.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-03-2009, 06:51 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KrU$ty View Post
i was hoping you could tell me how i could add this translation mod to the end of the menu mod you released the other day?

My forum has tabs in it, and so adding it under the navbar looks pretty messy.
Experiment Add it to the Footer, or the Top of the forumhome template, Try it and see is the best bet, Remember to back up your template files first
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-03-2009, 07:50 PM
KrU$ty's Avatar
KrU$ty KrU$ty is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
Experiment Add it to the Footer, or the Top of the forumhome template, Try it and see is the best bet, Remember to back up your template files first
I did experiment, and couldn't get it to work in the drop down menu mod, that's why i'm asking you about it in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:13 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KrU$ty View Post
I did experiment, and couldn't get it to work in the drop down menu mod, that's why i'm asking you about it in this thread.
Oh i see what you mean, In that case select a language that you want to make a tab for, say german, you'll see an url like this as the page translates

HTML Code:
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&langpair=en%7Cde&u=http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/index.php
You just use this in the Url part of the menu tabs and with a discription of Translate to German in the tab, But i can't see you adding 30+ tabs for all the different languges
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-04-2009, 04:15 PM
aircool52 aircool52 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

My vb is in Spanish , but some of the participant came from UK and like to read it in English , so when I choose language translator gave me this error:
Google
Error

Translation from English into English is not supported.
Please choose from the following:

Go back to the previous page"
Back to Translate
See original page
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-04-2009, 04:34 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aircool52 View Post
My vb is in Spanish , but some of the participant came from UK and like to read it in English , so when I choose language translator gave me this error:
Google
Error

Translation from English into English is not supported.
Please choose from the following:

Go back to the previous page"
Back to Translate
See original page
Hola Amigo

Thats because your using the default english setup, what you need to do is find this line in the begining of the code

Code:
<td nowrap style="border-left: 1px solid #dddddd;" align="center"> <select name="translate" style="height:20px; font-size:11px;" onchange="javascript:window.location = 'http://www.google.com/translate_c?hl=en&langpair=en%7C' + this.value + '&u=' + window.location.href;">
and in the google url chnage the following In red to es

google. com/translate_c?hl=en&langpair=en%7C' + this.value + '&u=' + window.location.href

so it looks like this..

google .com/translate_c?hl=en&langpair=es%7C' + this.value + '&u=' + window.location.href

and save, thats it, what your doing is telling google that your main lauguage is spanish, and now you'll be able to translate your spanish site into english
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-04-2009, 05:07 PM
aircool52 aircool52 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

ho??? thanks man it works find now.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-04-2009, 08:38 PM
compact123 compact123 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 235
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can you add language turkish ?

thank for your hard waork sir..
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-04-2009, 11:41 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by compact123 View Post
Can you add language turkish ?

thank for your hard waork sir..
Hello Sir, unforunately Turkish is not available at the moment from Google, The full list of languages are here http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/f...html#langpairs.

keep checking regularly as they do add everynow and again
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06242 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,365KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (8)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (4)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete