Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Dropdown Menu box for Links/Urls Details »»
Dropdown Menu box for Links/Urls
Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.8.0 RC 2 Rating:
Released: 12-30-2008 Last Update: 01-03-2009 Installs: 27
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

As a result of this post https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...82#post1697782

I've come up with a small modification that will allow admins to include a small dropdown box in the forum discription. With this mod you will be able to add a few or hundreds of urls and links without filling up your forum.




This is really easy, all you need to do is to copy the following code to notepad on your PC and save it as subnav.js

Code:
function go_nav() {
	
  if (document.getElementById && document.createTextNode) {	
	
	var user_link = document.getElementById("my_links").value;	
    
	window.location = user_link;
	
	return false;
	
  }
  
}
or you can just download the zip file

then you need to upload the subnav.js file to your forums root directory.

The next stage is the code where you edit your urls etc...

Code:
<div id="drop_box_nav">
<form action="#" onsubmit="return go_nav();">
<select name="my_links" id="my_links">
  <option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk">UKBusinesslive Store</option>
  <option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite">Topsite</option>
  <option value="http://www.google.com">Google</option>
  <option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/links/">UKBL Links</option>
</select>
&nbsp;&nbsp;
<input type="submit" name="sub_nav" id="sub_nav" value="Go to URL" />
</form>
</div>
<script type="text/javascript" src="subnav.js"></script>
Within that code you need to edit your urls and description in the option values

Code:
 <option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk">UKBusinesslive Store</option>
I've only done 4 in the above but you can add as little or as many as you need by simply adding more option values as in the code above.

Once you've saved your edit, you can upload it to a forum, what i did was to create a new forum called "Quick Links" and then paste all of that code into the Forum Description.

Thats all there is to it, Feel free to experiment with this and remember to post a link here if you want to show off your new dropbox.

Enjoy



*****************************UPDATE*************** *******************
4th Jan 2009

Please find below an .xml file, This is the Menubox done within a Module for vBa

It's the actual module with the default url still in place. (You need to edit these - Unless you want a link to my site )
Anyone with vBa3 can upload it via the vBa control panel.
Lower versions of vBa may need to edit the .xml file.
REMEMBER you still need to upload the subnav.js file to your forum root

Many Thanks to Mal for this Code

Enjoy
*****************************UPDATE*************** *******************

12 January 2009

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk" target="_blank">UKBusinesslive Store</option>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site



Download Now

File Type: zip subnav.zip (270 Bytes, 163 views)
File Type: xml quicklinks-VBA Module.xml (1.0 KB, 109 views)

Screenshots

File Type: png page22.png (47.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png page23.png (65.8 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 01-17-2009, 09:23 PM
shane greer shane greer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 65
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have tried to install it in a couple of different threads. See my forum.

www.thefewgoodmen.com/FGMForum

The links from the first drop down are replicating int he second drop down.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-17-2009, 09:49 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi Shane,

You seem to still show my discriprtions to my sites as in the demo in the second link menu, but as you say they are pointing to the 1st link menu items?? Are you making sure you've edited the Menu Links correctly ??

Not sure what else it could be, have you tried it in a different forum category to see if that works?? I can't really see a problem with it not working directly below anotherone, they are two seperate forums
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-17-2009, 11:00 PM
shane greer shane greer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 65
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I moved it to a different section completely and it still sends me to the links from the first drop down.

In the second links I added it as you had laid out with your pre-programmed links and they still changed to my links from my first drop down menu.

I have removed the second drop down until we can find a solution.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-18-2009, 08:39 AM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane greer View Post
I moved it to a different section completely and it still sends me to the links from the first drop down.

In the second links I added it as you had laid out with your pre-programmed links and they still changed to my links from my first drop down menu.

I have removed the second drop down until we can find a solution.
Thanks shane, pehaps the javascript is getting confused with two examples running in the same page

Why don't you add some tabs to the top of your forum and add the extra content there??

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=200686

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:12 AM
shane greer shane greer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 65
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok thanks anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-18-2009, 03:22 PM
rapidphim rapidphim is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 733
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Instead of having all subforum listed, can we use this hack to drop down all subforum(s)?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-18-2009, 03:24 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rapidphim View Post
Instead of having all subforum listed, can we use this hack to drop down all subforum(s)?
Sure :up:
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-18-2009, 03:33 PM
rapidphim rapidphim is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 733
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

the process of doing that is the same as above instruction?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-18-2009, 03:53 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rapidphim View Post
the process of doing that is the same as above instruction?
Sure just add your sub forums urls
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 04-15-2009, 10:47 AM
simoncauchi simoncauchi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Malta (Europe)
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Installed. Thankyou
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05289 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,345KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (4)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete