Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > General > Member Archives
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Details »»

Version: , by Mark0380 (Guest)
Developer Last Online: Jan 1970 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: Unknown Rating:
Released: 05-27-2001 Last Update: Never Installs: 0
 
No support by the author.

Credit for this should predominantly go to forum users Tim Mousel and Trog for giving me two necessary coding springboards for getting this hack (or is it mod?!?) together - thanks guys!!!!!

I am sure someone has already done this with MultiCity Chat anyway, so apologies for the duplicity - but I thought newbies might appreciate having this feature all the same.

Basically, the hack enables you to have a free MultiCity Chatroom integrated with your vBulletin forum. It automatically logs in registered forum users with their member-name, and an error message and login prompt is presented for those unregistered/not logged-in. And when you disconnect from the chat room, it refreshes to the main page of your forum.

Step 1.
Set yourself up with a free MultiCity chat account at http://www.multicity.com - don't worry about configuring variables such as color and chatroom description on their site, its all editable later.

Step 2.
Add a new template and call it 'chat_hack'.

Step 3.
Insert the following code into your 'chat_hack' template, remembering to insert the script code you obtained from MultiCity, rather than what's displayed here.

There are a lot of variable parameters for the customisation of the MultiCity chat. Most of these are cosmetic things, but a couple of them are vital for getting the auto-login functions to work properly. So check through my pasted script code here and look for the entries marked with asterixes - these are the configurable options that I tweaked OR added to the default code that MultiCity give you. Note: "AutoLogin" and "AutoLoginName" parameters are essential. Hope that makes sense!!!!

PHP Code:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/loose.dtd">
<
HTML>
<
HEAD>
<
TITLE>$bbtitle Live Chat</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<
body>
$header

<table border="0" width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr>
<
td width="100%">$navbar<br></TD>
</
tr></table>

<
div align="center">

<
center>
   
<!--
Change the code between the applet tags to the code you are given when you sign up for your free chat account.-->

<
APPLET CODEBASE="http://www.multichat.com/ChatBox" ARCHIVE="multichat.jar" CODE="GUIClient.class" WIDTH="562" HEIGHT="385" ALIGN="BOTTOM">
<
PARAM NAME="cabbase" VALUE="multichat.cab">
<
PARAM NAME="affiliate" VALUE="">
<
PARAM NAME="AllowCreateForum" VALUE="TRUE">
<
PARAM NAME="AppletBackground" VALUE="#CCCCCC">
*****<
PARAM NAME="AutoForwardingURL" VALUE="http://www.yoursiteurl.com">****
<
PARAM NAME="BannerImage" VALUE="">
<
PARAM NAME="Category" VALUE="6">
<
PARAM NAME="ChatAreaBackground" VALUE="white">
<
PARAM NAME="ChatAreaForeground" VALUE="black">
*****<
PARAM NAME="Description" VALUE="Put a description for your site or chat room here!!!">*****
<
PARAM NAME="Domain" VALUE="0">
*****<
PARAM NAME="FontName" VALUE="Helvetica">*****
*****<
PARAM NAME="FontSize" VALUE="12">*****
<
PARAM NAME="HelpURL" VALUE="http://www.multicity.com/support/chat/index.htm">
*****<
PARAM NAME="hidepassword" VALUE="TRUE">*****
*****<
PARAM NAME="HomepageURL" VALUE="www.yoursiteurl.com">*****
<
PARAM NAME="Language" VALUE="EN">
<
PARAM NAME="LocatorEnabled" VALUE="TRUE">
<
PARAM NAME="ShowLiveChat" VALUE="T">
*****<
PARAM NAME="ShowUserInfoLine" VALUE="FALSE">*****
*****<
PARAM NAME="Subject" VALUE="*Put your chatroom subject here">*****
<
PARAM NAME="Translation" VALUE="FALSE">
<
PARAM NAME="UseGraphicText" VALUE="F">
<
PARAM NAME="Registered" VALUE="FALSE">
*****<
param name="AutoLogin" value="TRUE">*****
*****<
param name="AutoLoginName" value="{$bbuserinfo[username]}">*****
Your browser does not support Java applets.
Upgrade to a newer browser or use the Options menu to enable Java.
You may also use the link below to access the HTML version of your chat room.
</
APPLET>

</
center>

</
div>

<!-- 
Time-->
<
table border="0" width="100%" cellpadding="4" cellspacing="0"><tr>

<
td width="100%" valign="middle" align="center" nowrap><b><smallfont>$timezone</smallfont></b></td>
</
tr></table>
<!-- /
Time-->

$footer
</body>
</
html
Step 4.
Create a new file and name it 'chat.php', or whatever you need. Place the following code inside.

PHP Code:
<? 
require( "global.php" ); 

if( $bbuserid ) { 

$user = $DB_site->query_first( "SELECT username 
FROM user 
WHERE userid = $bbuserid" ); 
$bbusername = $user[ username ]; 
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate('chat_hack')."\");"); 
} else { 
eval("dooutput(\"".show_nopermission()."\");"); 
} // end if 
?>
Step 5.
Upload 'chat.php' to your main forums directory.

Step 6.
Test the file, and assuming everything is working okay, link into your forums page.

I truly hope it works for everyone. It is certainly working for me!

Just point your browser to my forums page (http://www.leatherforums.com) and look for the button 'live chat' in the header menu at the top of any page. And if you do register with my forums simply to test this mod, please please PLEASE do the decent thing and contact me to request your account is removed afterwards, okay? Thanks.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 06-05-2001, 03:58 AM
ToraTora! ToraTora! is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 255
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

the hack worked great, and I thank you very much for the time and effort put into this idea, however we switched, and found info chat to be much more to our liking. We have it in our site, but we would like to have the auto member log in set up like it was previously for multicity, incorperated for info chat.
Any help on this would be appreciated.

and yes, we did a seach, and nothing showed up except the same question, about the same topic.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-10-2001, 06:43 PM
GeorgeofCS's Avatar
GeorgeofCS GeorgeofCS is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 100
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm new to php, but is there anyway to make it so moderators and admin see a different template than other users. I'm wanting to use this hack for another chat service, but I need to allow my mods to be able to moderate the chats.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-12-2001, 12:37 PM
chilliboy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi,

Just tried this out and I must say it worked really well. Excuse me for being dumb - but is the multicitychat remotely hosted?? Its just that unfortunately my host (hostrocket) do not allow java applets on there servers.

Cheers in advance

PS - would it be possible to incorporate different chat rooms for different forum sections??
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-12-2001, 01:40 PM
julius julius is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 80
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yes it is remotely hosted.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-12-2001, 07:42 PM
chris frolic chris frolic is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fazle
Users can still detach, then log back in with another name.
is there a parameter to turn off the detach button? anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-13-2001, 02:27 AM
Dakota's Avatar
Dakota Dakota is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 102
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok, I would like to know if there is a way that I can increase the size of the chat window. I have several thousand members on my forum, and this little window won't cut it once I get the normal amout of users in there. Thats around 100 for most of the day.
www.bidforpower.com/forum/chat.php

Edit: Nm, I found out what the Detatch button does. I just found out that I want to get rid if the disconnect button.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-13-2001, 03:21 AM
akiy's Avatar
akiy akiy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 74
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chris frolic
is there a parameter to turn off the detach button? anyone know?
<PARAM NAME="ShowDetach" VALUE="FALSE">

also:

<PARAM NAME="LocatorEnabled" VALUE="FALSE">

... will turn the "Active Chats" button into a "Home Page" button (so people won't be wandering over to another channel).

Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
Ok, I would like to know if there is a way that I can increase the size of the chat window.
Change the HEIGHT parameter in the APPLET tag from 385 to something larger.

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-13-2001, 03:41 AM
Dakota's Avatar
Dakota Dakota is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 102
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

well I like the detatch button, it lets you use a window to resize it. I wanna get rid of the disconnect.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-13-2001, 11:54 PM
Dakota's Avatar
Dakota Dakota is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 102
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well I decided that I didn't like the multicity applet when I saw how little control I had. So I am using irc now. You only have to register a channel, and then replace the applet in the chat_hack template with this. The stars specify that you need to change something on that line. Usually just putting in the server and channel name.

PHP Code:
        <TBODY>
        <
TR bgColor=#999900 borderColor=#000000>
          
<TD width="100%">
            <
DIV align=center><FONT color=#999999 
            
face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size=1><FONT 
            size
=2><FONT color=#ffffff size=1><B><FONT color=#cccccc>.<FONT 
            
color=#ffffff>Chat</FONT>. 
        
</FONT></B></FONT></FONT></FONT></DIV></TD></TR>
        <
TR vAlign=top>
          <
TD height=50 width="100%">
            <
P align=left><FONT face="Verdana, Arial" size=2><FONT 
            face
="Verdana, Arial" size=2>
*****<
APPLET code=Chat.class height=400 width=444 alt="server #channelname" archive="jirc_nss.zip">
<
PARAM NAME="CABBASE" VALUE="jirc_mss.cab">
<
PARAM NAME="ServerPort" VALUE="6667">
*****<
PARAM NAME="ServerName1" VALUE="server">
*****<
PARAM NAME="Channel1" VALUE="#channel">
<
PARAM NAME="AllowURL" VALUE="true">
<
PARAM NAME="AllowIdentd" VALUE="true">
<
PARAM NAME="WelcomeMessage" VALUE="">
<
PARAM NAME="RealName" VALUE="Site Applet User">
<
PARAM NAME="NickName" VALUE="{$bbuserinfo[username]}">
<
PARAM NAME="UserName" VALUE="None">
<
PARAM NAME="isLimitedServers" VALUE="true">
<
PARAM NAME="isLimitedChannels" VALUE="true">
<
PARAM NAME="MessageCol" VALUE="80">
<
PARAM NAME="BackgroundColor" VALUE="99,132,181">
<
PARAM NAME="TextColor" VALUE="black">
<
PARAM NAME="TextScreenColor" VALUE="white">
<
PARAM NAME="ListTextColor" VALUE="black">
<
PARAM NAME="TextFontName" VALUE="Verdana">
<
PARAM NAME="TextFontSize" VALUE="10">
<
PARAM NAME="ConfigNickOnly" VALUE="true">
<
PARAM NAME="NickNChannelOnly" VALUE="true">
<
PARAM NAME="LogoBgColor" VALUE="white">
<
PARAM NAME="BorderVsp" VALUE="3">
<
PARAM NAME="DirectStart" VALUE="true">
<
PARAM NAME="FGColor" VALUE="black">
<
PARAM NAME="TitleBackgroundColor" VALUE="black">
<
PARAM NAME="TitleForegroundColor" VALUE="white">
<
PARAM NAME="InputTextColor" VALUE="black">
<
PARAM NAME="InputScreenColor" VALUE="white">
<
PARAM NAME="IgnoreLevel" VALUE="3">
<
PARAM NAME="DisplayConfigRealName" VALUE="false">
<
PARAM NAME="DisplayConfigServer" VALUE="false">
<
PARAM NAME="DisplayConfigPort" VALUE="false">
<
PARAM NAME="DisplayConfigMisc" VALUE="false">
<
PARAM NAME="LicenseKey" VALUE="2727595959-37230483858208-133434764482443414852391-372304838582686393652391349333821334">
<
PARAM NAME="code" VALUE="Chat.class">
<
PARAM NAME="height" VALUE="480">
<
PARAM NAME="width" VALUE="640">
<
PARAM NAME="archive" VALUE="jirc_nss.zip">
*****<
PARAM NAME="codeBase" VALUE="website url">
*****<
PARAM NAME="alt" VALUE="server #channel">
</
APPLET></FONT></FONT></P
It works fine for me. If you wanna see what it looks like the click here. Keep in mind that I changed the dimensions of mine.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 06-14-2001, 01:30 AM
RobAC RobAC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 314
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is there a way to temporarily allow non-forum members access to the chat room? In other words, say I want to open the chat room to members and nonmembers alike one night a week. Is there an easy way to do this?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05342 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,373KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • postbit_imicons
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete