Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Social Networking Fieldset in User Profile & Postbit Details »»
Social Networking Fieldset in User Profile & Postbit
Version: 1.00, by ChU v2 ChU v2 is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2013 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Profile Enhancements - Version: 3.6.x Rating:
Released: 04-01-2008 Last Update: Never Installs: 34
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

This template modification adds links to user's social networking profiles like MySpace, FaceBook, Youtube, eBay, Xbox etc.

Instructions:

In order to add each site ie. MySpace, FaceBook, Youtube, etc. You will need to add Profile Fields via the Admin Control Panel. Like this:


Admin CP > User Profile Fields > Add new profile field

Title: *Social Networking Site*
Description: *Your Social Networking Site Profile*
Max length of allowed user input: 20
Field editable by user: Yes
Private Field: No

And a new profile field for each site. Each profile field will be represented by a field number. ie. field5 . You will need to know which field number represents which site in the template editing!

- Don't forget to upload the images to YOUR SKINS /misc folder.

:: Refer to the attached text file for template edits and further instructions! ::

*Please Mark as Installed*

Make the Fieldset not show when the user hasn't entered anything in the profile fields!

Go to the MEMBERINFO template:

Find:
Code:
<!--Social Networking-->
Add Below:
Code:
<if condition="$userinfo['fieldXX'] OR $userinfo['fieldXX'] OR $userinfo['fieldXX'] OR $userinfo['fieldXX'] OR $userinfo['fieldXX']">
Replacing the XX's with your field numbers.

Then Find:
Code:
</fieldset>
</div>
Add After:
Code:
</if>

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 05-05-2008, 01:11 PM
sdavis2702 sdavis2702 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 116
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

*********One more thing. This one is important though*********

There is a mistake in the Facebook section of the MEMBERINFO text given in the zip. Here is what it reads with the issues in BOLD:
Quote:
Facebook:

<if condition="$userinfo['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/user/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]"target="_blank">http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]</a>
<br />
</if>
Notice the difference in the links. 2 different URLs are created for the icon that displays in the postbit and the link that will show in the member's profile. Also.... the word "user" in the second URL has no place there at all... no need for it.

They should either both read "facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "profile.php?id=1234567" in their profile field...

OR

They should both read "facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "1234567" in their profile.

I chose the second choice... less room for error for the user. Until those two URLs match, you will have an issue. In the member's profile, you'll have the icon sitting next to the link like it's supposed to. However, one will work, and one won't.

Here is my code now...
Quote:
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[field14]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/facebook.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's FaceBook Profile"></a>
<a href="http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[field14]"target="_blank">http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[field14]</a>
Everything works perfectly now
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-07-2008, 02:23 AM
trackpads's Avatar
trackpads trackpads is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Armyville
Posts: 1,074
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I added some info for linked in. This hack is awesome! Thanks for the work!

Just add this code into the postbit setting above:

Code:
<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">
<a href="http://http://www.linkedin.com/in/$post[fieldXX]"target="_blank"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/linkedin.gif"border="0"alt="View Member's LinkedIn Profile"></a>
</if>
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-07-2008, 06:31 AM
sdavis2702 sdavis2702 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 116
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

^^^ awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-13-2008, 06:04 PM
goddess_dix's Avatar
goddess_dix goddess_dix is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 99
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

sdavis-if you're doing them without a containing field, your probably don't need this conditional
Code:
<if condition="$post['field13'] OR $post['field14']"> 
from what i can tell, that was added to decide whether or not there are any of the social networking icons to decide whether or not to make the container for them. since you're not using the container at all, and using an individual conditional to decide whether or not their is a value for a specific site in order to show the icon, you can get rid of that if statement and the corresponding closing of the if statement.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-20-2008, 05:10 AM
edgeyveggie edgeyveggie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 84
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkmeister View Post
Thanks for the ideas, but the only option that helps is the one I was asking about initially.

If I make the new profile field NOT private, it does indeed work in the Postbit as well, but then I'm left with that field name and user info shown in the Member Profile, under "Additional Information". So it's displaying there on it's own and also to the right of that, in the new "Social Networking" section. Which is not really good to look at

Is this not what everyone else is experiencing? Am I alone with this? I don't understand what could be different for me? Or is this the way it's supposed to display?

Thanks.
I'm getting this too. As far as I'm concerned this renders this other wise useful hack utterly useless, someone please help with this.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-20-2008, 05:19 AM
edgeyveggie edgeyveggie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 84
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok I got this to work. You might want to include in the main description that you as an admin WILL see that information in the "Additional Information" section but normal users will not so it doesn't matter.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-24-2008, 05:18 AM
sdavis2702 sdavis2702 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 116
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goddess_dix View Post
sdavis-if you're doing them without a containing field, your probably don't need this conditional
Code:
<if condition="$post['field13'] OR $post['field14']"> 
from what i can tell, that was added to decide whether or not there are any of the social networking icons to decide whether or not to make the container for them. since you're not using the container at all, and using an individual conditional to decide whether or not their is a value for a specific site in order to show the icon, you can get rid of that if statement and the corresponding closing of the if statement.
Yup I just realized that... thanks
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-26-2008, 09:45 PM
Weapon-x Weapon-x is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 117
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It shows up for me in Firefox but not in IE....how to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-11-2008, 09:21 PM
bestmilan's Avatar
bestmilan bestmilan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdavis2702 View Post
*********One more thing. This one is important though*********

There is a mistake in the Facebook section of the MEMBERINFO text given in the zip. Here is what it reads with the issues in BOLD:

Notice the difference in the links. 2 different URLs are created for the icon that displays in the postbit and the link that will show in the member's profile. Also.... the word "user" in the second URL has no place there at all... no need for it.

They should either both read "facebook.com/$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "profile.php?id=1234567" in their profile field...

OR

They should both read "facebook.com/profile.php?id=$userinfo[fieldXX]" which means the user would have to put "1234567" in their profile.

I chose the second choice... less room for error for the user. Until those two URLs match, you will have an issue. In the member's profile, you'll have the icon sitting next to the link like it's supposed to. However, one will work, and one won't.

Here is my code now...

Everything works perfectly now

Thank you sdavis for sharing this info -- very helpful !!

Great hack. :up:
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 09-12-2008, 03:43 AM
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 649
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Anyone knows how to edit the MEMBERINFO template to show the facebook, linkedin links?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04788 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,321KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (7)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete