Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
MySpace type User Profile Link Details »»
MySpace type User Profile Link
Version: 1.00, by MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2009 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Miscellaneous Hacks - Version: 3.6.x Rating:
Released: 02-11-2008 Last Update: 02-11-2008 Installs: 26
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

Tested with vb 3.6.7 and 3.6.8
Tested on IE7 and FF2

Ok lets say your site is:

http://Example.com/Forums/


And the path to members profiles is even longer:

http://Example.com/Forums/member.php...xampleUserName


Well lets give your members a smaller and easy link to remember.


How about:

http://Example.com/Username

Oh ya thats alot better huh?

Ok well this is how you do it.


Add this to the .htaccess in root of example.com


HTML Code:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://Example.com/Forums/member.php?username=$1 [R]
Replace this:

http://Example.com/Forums/


With the link to your forums.


All members and guests will be able to go to:

http://Example.com/ThereUserName

And automatically be forwarded to the profile of the user name they entered after the site link.


Thats it just one easy .htaccess file edit and your done.


NOTE:
Want to use a diffrent domain like:

http://ExampleTwo.com/UserName

Just add the .htaccess file to that domain instead

just make sure that whats in red below links to your site

RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://Example.com/Forums/member.php?username=$1



Enjoy and click install if you use this mod.

Also Some Credit to Eikinskjaldi for pointing me in the right way to get this working.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:35 PM
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 311
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iogames View Post
Now I see! well I will add the explanation to users
if you do the first part of this addon for this in this post
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....36&postcount=2

then they should be able to figure it out

but ya hope you like it
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-16-2008, 05:07 PM
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,537
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
I have one site, but with multiple url's pointing to it:
mymainurl.com
mysecondurl.com

I want to display mymainurl.com/forum/member.php?=member.php?username=ExampleUserName
as
mysecondurl.com/username

Is this possible?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiahBeSmokin420 View Post
yes thats the way i have mine set up

just add the .httaccess file in the other domain you have and set it to go to the domain you want it to
I do not have different directories per url. It's all the same. My profiles can be accessed on both:
mymainurl.com/forum/member.php?u=1
and
mysecondurl.com/forum/member.php?u=1

It is the same page. How do I set this in .htaccess?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-18-2008, 04:09 PM
stwilson stwilson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 209
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Does this work in 3.7B5? I tried but no go and was not sure if I was doing something wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-18-2008, 05:28 PM
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 311
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i dont know i dont have 3.7

im would imagine it would though
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-18-2008, 07:48 PM
TCE Killa TCE Killa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 330
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you want this to show up in your welcome box instead of by your navbar... Then in your navbar template, find:

PHP Code:
<if condition="$show['pmstats']"><br /><phrase 1="$vbphrase[unread_x_nav_compiled]2="$vbphrase[total_x_nav_compiled]3="$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[private_messages_nav]</phrase></if> 
And add below:

PHP Code:
<if condition="$show['member']">Your Profile URL: <a href="http://YourDomain.com/$bbuserinfo[username]">YourDomain.com/$bbuserinfo[username]</a>
</if> 
Changing 'YourDomain' with your forums domain name.

See screenshot in what I mean.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-18-2008, 07:49 PM
jeepcircle jeepcircle is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is there a way to allow this only for people in certain usergroups?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:05 AM
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 311
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

not realy i dont know why you would want to do that though

but im sure you could hide that link to user groups that way they dont know it is there for them

but doing that would just not be cool
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:23 AM
caocao1's Avatar
caocao1 caocao1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thanks for your post
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-19-2008, 01:55 PM
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,537
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

MiahBeSmokin420; do you have a solution to my question above?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-20-2008, 04:25 PM
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 311
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
MiahBeSmokin420; do you have a solution to my question above?
sorry missed that post

just add the httaccess file to both domains and then just point them to where your foums are installed i guess

but from the way you said that there it looks like you have 2 diffrent forums on 2 diffrent domains cause i dont see how you can have the same forum with 2 domains without having one of the domains redirect to the other

so honestly idk man
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06489 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,317KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete