Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Add A Drop Down Menu In Nav Details »»
Add A Drop Down Menu In Nav
Version: 1.00, by v5etboyphc v5etboyphc is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2007 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.6.4 Rating:
Released: 01-19-2007 Last Update: Never Installs: 26
 
No support by the author.

Add A Drop Down Menu In Your Navigation

What does it do?
add a drop down list for your navigation

Template to edit: Navbar

Instructions:
open template: navbar
find:
Code:
<if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="register.php?$session[sessionurl]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[register]</a></td>
</if>
Add below
Code:
				<td id="yourmenu" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#YOURMENU">NAME</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("YOURMENU"); </script></td>

In same template
Find:
Code:
<!-- / NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->
Above add:
Code:
	<if condition="$show['member']">
	<!-- your tools menu -->
	<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="YOURMENU_menu" style="display:none">
		<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
		<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[name]</td></tr>		
		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="LINK">NAME</a></td></tr>
		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="LINK">NAME</a></td></tr>
		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="LINK">NAME</a></td></tr>
		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="LINK">NAME</a></td></tr>
		</if>

		</table>
	</div>
	<!-- / your tools menu -->
	</if>
If you want more links simple just add
Code:
		<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="LINK">NAME</a></td></tr>
before the
Code:
</if>
Last Part
Change all
Code:
YOURMENU
Code:
LINK
Code:
NAME
change all those and you all set


It seem hard but it pretty easy if you understand those and where to find and edit them

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 08-09-2007, 05:52 PM
toolmanwill toolmanwill is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 72
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

ok i have a problem here, I have made this and is working but having a class issue.

with certain non default skins the background is not right, when i remove the class=vbmenu_control part it displays correctly in non-default type skins but then messes up button background on default type skins(we have 4 installed 2 default type using class and 2 that are diff type, using no class).
Any help to fix this so it shows properly on all skins would be awesome!!

TIA,

Will
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-10-2007, 09:57 AM
tminus's Avatar
tminus tminus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 69
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raiderlax View Post
Thanks, but I'm moving this code everywhere and it is not fixing the problem, what to do please?
Well, I thought it would work. I haven't actually been able to get it to run on 3.6.8. I ended up customizing a small product that installs a navbar menu. I used this product and added this code in with it. I am still learning how to understand and write it from scratch, but I can go into more detail on the quick solution when I have time again. Probably this time tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolmanwill
ok i have a problem here, I have made this and is working but having a class issue.

with certain non default skins the background is not right, when i remove the class=vbmenu_control part it displays correctly in non-default type skins but then messes up button background on default type skins(we have 4 installed 2 default type using class and 2 that are diff type, using no class).
Any help to fix this so it shows properly on all skins would be awesome!!
It doesn't have any global hooks. I suggest you do what I did too and either write a product for it, or use the method I described above. Another solution is to get TMS and you can apply your template mods globally. The only thing with that is I am running 3.6.8 and having problems with it so I don't use it. I just decided to write product/s instead that will install all of my mod related navbar links/menus quickly.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-08-2007, 05:56 PM
Gharibe Gharibe is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 35
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i couldn't use it
it just add a simple link in the navbar
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-02-2008, 05:29 PM
Chris Sotier Chris Sotier is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Nelson View Post
I can't get this to work in 3.6.5

It shows the link on the navbar, but no little downarrow. And when you click it, the page reloads with the non-js navbar displayed.
I cant get it same problem!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:50 PM
ade_dnb ade_dnb is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 23
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Sotier View Post
I cant get it same problem!
Quote:
Hi, I've just substitued all the YOURMENU (4 in navbar) with "Gallery".
And now it works. I don't know why, honestly

greetings

Stefano
That works. Try it and see if it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:56 PM
yinyang's Avatar
yinyang yinyang is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 580
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

installed and working in vb3.7 beta5... thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-06-2008, 10:30 AM
karnevil karnevil is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 83
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

installed and works perfectly first time Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-08-2008, 11:09 AM
xHLHx Darkskilz xHLHx Darkskilz is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 49
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Im not getting a dropdown menu.

When i clink on NAME, it opens stuff in the nav bar link, mark forum as read, view buddy list. This has never been in there. This was in my Quick Links drop down menu.

Edit: Could it be a problem is im using 3.6.8?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-09-2008, 01:15 AM
Edog Edog is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 43
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xHLHx Darkskilz View Post
Im not getting a dropdown menu.

When i clink on NAME, it opens stuff in the nav bar link, mark forum as read, view buddy list. This has never been in there. This was in my Quick Links drop down menu.

Edit: Could it be a problem is im using 3.6.8?

Same here
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 03-09-2008, 11:25 AM
Outbackmark's Avatar
Outbackmark Outbackmark is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 125
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I had all sorts of problems with it, ended up adding links into the "Quick Links" drop down menu as my Navbar was getting a bit cluttered.
I am using 3.5.8 as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.10616 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,316KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (9)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete