Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Nested Quotes Details »»
Nested Quotes
Version: 1.00, by DJ XtAzY DJ XtAzY is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2014 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Show Thread Enhancements - Version: 3.6.4 Rating:
Released: 08-17-2006 Last Update: 12-06-2006 Installs: 60
Code Changes  
No support by the author.

UPDATE 12/7/06: The hack is updated with CoreIssue's code edit mentioned in the posts. It's more simple and you only add one line to it. Tested on vb3.6.4 so it now works fine!

Difficulty: Extremely Easy
Time take to install: 15 seconds

Version Info
v1.01 Hack updated with CoreIssue simple file edit. Should work with all version of vb now.
v1.0 Initial Release

I made a suggestion on vb.com but it seems like the developers are not interested. But then a nice member rossco2005 helped me out since we both like the idea to have nested quote feature in our boards WHEN we click on the Quote button. Nested quotes are used in phpbb and IB forums. Nested quotes are used in VB's private message area, but for some reason they wont work for the forums.

So let me show you an example on how this works. Let say i made this post.

------Post #1------
There are 11 planets in our solar system
-------------------

And if someone (let say Bot) click on the Quote button and submit a new post it should turn out like this

------Post #2------
Quote:
Originally Posted by XtAzY
There are 11 planets in our solar system
Welcome!
--------------------

But if another person (let say Bot1) hit the quote button for that previous post it will return this

------Post #3------
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bot
No there are 20
You guys are both rong idiots!
--------------------

But instead we want it to turn like this when we click on the quote button

------Post #3-------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bot
Quote:
Originally Posted by XtAzY
There are 11 planets in our solar system
No there are 20
You guys are both wrong idiots!
--------------------

Get the picture?

So here is the code modification on how to put nested quotes on your forums.

Files to edit: functions.php

In file functions.php, find:

Code:
function strip_quotes($text)
{
        $lowertext = strtolower($text);
Replace with:

Code:
function strip_quotes($text)
{
        return $text;
        $lowertext = strtolower($text);
Easy as cake! Go thank CoreIssue for this easy hack =]

Upgrading from 1.0 to 1.01
Replace the original functions.php from vb and then perform the edits.

Anyways i hope this is useful for peeps who need nest quotes. If someone can make it more advanced, like into a product or plugin, go ahead =]. I was hoping this can be built into the vb admin panel and lets u control how many nested quotes are allow per post, so that u dunt need to edit the file every upgrade or edit the file whenever u want to change the amount of nested quotes.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 09-08-2006, 06:26 AM
pauloo pauloo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 94
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Nice thank you !
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-17-2006, 03:27 PM
CoreIssue CoreIssue is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 69
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I had this in before. Worked find.

But it doesn't work on 3.6.1.

And I really would like it back.

What is with the developers not giving us an option to set our own depths? I have run phpBB and have an SMF on. Both nest, and SMF has the option of not allowing nested.

Gee. Paying for vB you would think we can have an option included in a feebie.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-17-2006, 03:44 PM
rezapci rezapci is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: U.S.K.C.
Posts: 141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

some screenshots please
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-23-2006, 06:58 PM
silurius silurius is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 404
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Will install when it's a product. Looks great.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-23-2006, 07:29 PM
Noonster Noonster is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 80
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coldhands
This didn't seem to do the trick for me. It still only quotes 2 as oppose to 4. What gives?
Having the same problem here!!!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-26-2006, 07:50 AM
pauloo pauloo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 94
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Very nice ! thanks
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-26-2006, 08:29 AM
Avalon111 Avalon111 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austria
Posts: 84
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

anyone of you noticed that nested quotes are working in pm's in 3.6.1?

without that modification
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-26-2006, 08:33 AM
pauloo pauloo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 94
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

yes fine with 3.6.1
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-26-2006, 11:43 AM
kash2k kash2k is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: The Toon
Posts: 12
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avalon111
anyone of you noticed that nested quotes are working in pm's in 3.6.1?

without that modification
Worked in older versions too.

Shame this thing is limited to 2 quotes and not the value you set in that one line of code

XtAzY, you wanna take a look see and tell us what's wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 10-06-2006, 04:02 PM
CoreIssue CoreIssue is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 69
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Now make them work in the posts. Grrrr!

I need that function for my members. We use it 3 or 4 deep on many topics.

Make it able to turn off, for those who don't want it, like they do in SMF.

My comments are really aimed at the vB developers. I don't know what they are thinking to not have it in place.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06470 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,307KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete