Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > Modification Graveyard
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Proxy to Real IP Conversion Details »»
Proxy to Real IP Conversion
Version: 4.2.0.1, by Paul M Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Administrative and Maintenance Tools - Version: 4.2.x Rating:
Released: 01-01-2010 Last Update: 01-03-2015 Installs: 686
DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Templates
Code Changes Translations  
No support by the author.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This modification has been withdrawn.
vBulletin 4.0.x and 4.1.x are no longer supported.

For vBulletin 4.2.x please use the built in reverse proxy detection.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


This hack makes the forum always use the members real ip if a proxy is detected, meaning that all existing ip functions should continue to work, basically ignoring the proxy server (other than recording it's presence).

For example ;

* The real ip is displayed in the who's online page.
* The real and proxy server ip's are accesible for each post, the button is red for members using a proxy server.
* The real ip is searchable in the admin/mod cp (but not the proxy ip).
* The real ip can be banned by admins.

Note: This hack relies on the proxy server passing the correct http variables to allow detection.
If they are not passed then detection will not work. By definition, annonymous proxies do not pass on these variables.


If a proxy is detected, then a red ip icon is displayed instead of the standard one.

To install, download and unzip the files and follow the instructions in the text file.

This modification involves changes to the class_core.php file - if you upgrade your vbulletin, you must reapply those changes.
If you forget these edits, the modification will continue to work for forum posts only (v4.0.4 +).



History:

v4.0.1 : 02-Jan-2010 : Initial release for vb 4.0.0 Gold.
v4.0.2 : 04-Jan-2010 : Added check for invalid alt ip address.
v4.0.3 : 13-Jan-2010 : Minor change to cope better when people forget the class_core file edits.
v4.0.4 : 15-Jan-2010 : Further changes to process forum posts when people forget the class_core file edits.
v4.0.5 : 20-Feb-2010 : Internal update, not released.
v4.0.6 : 27-Feb-2010 : Style code updates for vB 4.0.2.
v4.0.7 : 30-Oct-2010 : Style code updated to work when css stored as files.

v4.1.0 : 04-Dec-2010 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.x

v4.1.7.0 : 16-Oct-2011 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.7.
v4.1.8.0 : 18-Nov-2011 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.8.

v4.2.0.0 : 24-May-2012 : Updated for vBulletin 4.2.0.
v4.2.0.1 : 02-Jan-2015 : Updated for Cloudflare Changes.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #272  
Old 02-27-2015, 03:59 PM
bshield bshield is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

if anyone figured it out please share...thanks
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 03-01-2015, 03:06 AM
hsoen hsoen is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 43
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by del Drago View Post
This mod does not work. I'm attempting to use it with Cloudflare (at Cloudflare's recommendation), and I'm still only seeing Cloudflare IP addresses within vBulletin.
I am using this mod with Cloudflare, and it works well.

Below is the result which shows proxy IP is from Cloudflare, and real IP of your forum visitor.

vBulletin Message
The Real IP Address is: 183.90.37.93
The Real IP Host is: 183.90.37.93
The Proxy Server IP Address is: 103.31.5.77
The Proxy Host is: 103.31.5.77
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 04-13-2015, 03:33 PM
Nirjonadda Nirjonadda is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 739
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Any update instructions for google pagespeed : mod_pagespeed?
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 04-15-2015, 12:49 AM
Duckface Duckface is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 98
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The image in the postbit isn't showing :S, I definitely put the image in the correct directory too!
Reply With Quote
  #276  
Old 06-08-2015, 08:41 AM
fionix fionix is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is there any solution for Vbuleltin 5.1.7 please?
Reply With Quote
  #277  
Old 06-08-2015, 10:00 AM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry, atm, there is not.

There is the possibility that the functionality currently included in 4.2.3 will be included in 5.1.9.
Reply With Quote
  #278  
Old 11-13-2015, 04:54 PM
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,122
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

For me CloudFlare didn't worked using given instructions, so I made one more change, first one found on CloudFlare's support: https://support.cloudflare.com/hc/en...ith-vBulletin-

Find:

PHP Code:
    function fetch_ip()
    {
        return 
$_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'];
    } 
Replace with:

PHP Code:
    function fetch_ip() 
    { 
        if(isset(
$_SERVER['HTTP_CF_CONNECTING_IP'])) 
        { 
            return 
$_SERVER['HTTP_CF_CONNECTING_IP']; 
        } 
        return 
$_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']; 
    } 
Now I see real IP address user uses, but I still can't see proxy and real IP address, including red IP icon. For some reason, it looks like this mod doesn't work for me on different servers.

But at least I now can see real IP address.
Reply With Quote
  #279  
Old 11-17-2015, 11:09 AM
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 243
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I know this is completely my fault i just need some guidance from you kind coders,members


Ok so i have installed this and tested it with a test member qwerty using numerous proxies and posted some posts.I was on another computer signed in as admin and was hoping that qwerty would show up red and i would be able to check real ip etc.I couldnt even see the red ip icon that i have uploaded correctly.

So could it be down to this.I read the text file and it said this below

Step 1.

In class_core.php ;

Find ;

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}


Insert above it ;

// Detect ALL.
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
{
define('PROXYIP','');
}
else
{
$proxy = true;
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
}

So i did that in my class core file and it look like this below.I have highlighted what they said to put above it


// Detect ALL.
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
{
define('PROXYIP','');
}
else
{
$proxy = true;
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
}

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}


So is that code correct im having a moment lol or do you need to turn it on somewhere in settings

Once again thanks
Reply With Quote
  #280  
Old 11-17-2015, 03:37 PM
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,357
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the one View Post
I know this is completely my fault i just need some guidance from you kind coders,members


Ok so i have installed this and tested it with a test member qwerty using numerous proxies and posted some posts.I was on another computer signed in as admin and was hoping that qwerty would show up red and i would be able to check real ip etc.I couldnt even see the red ip icon that i have uploaded correctly.

So could it be down to this.I read the text file and it said this below

Step 1.

In class_core.php ;

Find ;

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}


Insert above it ;

// Detect ALL.
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
{
define('PROXYIP','');
}
else
{
$proxy = true;
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
}

So i did that in my class core file and it look like this below.I have highlighted what they said to put above it


// Detect ALL.
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
{
define('PROXYIP','');
}
else
{
$proxy = true;
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
}

if ($proxy)
{
define('ALT_IP', $this->ipaddress);
define('IPADDRESS', $this->alt_ip);
}


So is that code correct im having a moment lol or do you need to turn it on somewhere in settings

Once again thanks
What are you using to edit the file with
PHP Code:
        // Detect ALL.
        
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
        {
            
define('PROXYIP',''); 
        }
        else
        {
            
$proxy true;
            
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
        }

        if (
$proxy)
        {
            
define('ALT_IP'$this->ipaddress);
            
define('IPADDRESS'$this->alt_ip);
        }
        else
        {
            
define('IPADDRESS'$this->ipaddress);
            
define('ALT_IP'$this->alt_ip);
        } 
Reply With Quote
  #281  
Old 11-17-2015, 05:00 PM
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 243
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ForceHSS View Post
What are you using to edit the file with
PHP Code:
        // Detect ALL.
        
if ($registry->ipaddress == $registry->alt_ip)
        {
            
define('PROXYIP',''); 
        }
        else
        {
            
$proxy true;
            
define('PROXYIP',$registry->ipaddress);
        }

        if (
$proxy)
        {
            
define('ALT_IP'$this->ipaddress);
            
define('IPADDRESS'$this->alt_ip);
        }
        else
        {
            
define('IPADDRESS'$this->ipaddress);
            
define('ALT_IP'$this->alt_ip);
        } 
I just copied and pasted the code into my class core php file.I have also noticed that when i click on code edit for the class core php file its taking forever to load
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05851 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,360KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (13)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete