Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Additional Navbar Details »»
Additional Navbar
Version: 1.00, by attroll attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.0 Rating:
Released: 05-15-2004 Last Update: 06-05-2004 Installs: 126
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Dispite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.5. Just read the directions.

What this does is create another navbar with drop down menu?s by typing $navbar2 in any of your templates. It is just like the one that comes with vBulletin 3.

After seeing a lot of replies about users wanting another navbar besides the basic one that comes with vBulletin. I waited for someone else to write one. But no one stepped forward and wrote one. I wanted this for my site and got tired of waiting for someone else to write it. So I played around and created this one for myself. I though I would share it with everyone.

Note: If you do not want to add a separate navbar template you can also substitute the steps in 5A through 5D and insert the navbar2.txt after you have edited it the way you want and into the same places as I mentioned for the $navbar2 in your default navbar and you will not have to do any of these other steps.

I put a lot of description tags in the HTML file to help explain what everything does. Once you understand what is going on here you can removed these. With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this navbar.

1. To install this hack you will have to create a template in you ADMINCP and call it ?navbar2? and insert the contents of the attached file "navbar2.txt" into this template file. Right now it is set up for my site. So you will have to modify it to what you want in this navbar for your site.

2. Put the following command in your phpinclude_start template:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
2A. This is for users that have vB 3.5 and up. Step 2 will not work because the phpinclude_start template no longer exist in versions 3.5 and higher. So for 3.5 users ignore step 2 and use 2A.

Plugin System
Add new Plugin

Hook Location: global_start
Title: navbar2
Plugin PHP Code:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
3. Now put the following command in you header or what ever template where your want the new navbar to be displayed (samples of where to put them are in the attached photos and directions are in 5A, B, C, D.):
PHP Code:
$navbar2 
4. Since the template is uncached you will have an extra query on each page. To fix, open global.php
Find:
PHP Code:
// misc useful 
Add below:
PHP Code:
'navbar2'
5A. Under current Navigation / Breadcrumb Templaters - navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5B. On top of forums tables:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / PAGENAV POPUP -->
</if>
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5C. Under your header:
Find:
Code:
<br />
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Above that add:
Code:
$navbar2
5D. Top of current navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Under that add:
Code:
$navbar2
vBadvance CMPS using vB 3.5 or higher. To get this working with the homepage you will have to do the following.

Go into your ADMINCP-->vBa CPMS-->Default Setting-->Portal Output Global Variables and add navbar2 in the block there and save it.

Arcaded hack. You will need to go into your darcaded hack and edit a line. Here are the directions:
Go to you arcade/functions/functions.php
open it with a text editor:
Find:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits;
Replace with:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits, $navbar2;

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 05-17-2004, 03:33 AM
Red Blaze's Avatar
Red Blaze Red Blaze is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 493
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Wow, thanks for sharing this, I'll install this soon.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:53 PM
Tim Wheatley's Avatar
Tim Wheatley Tim Wheatley is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: England
Posts: 489
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Couldn't you just edit the existing navbar template??

http://forum.rscnet.org
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-17-2004, 05:38 PM
assassingod's Avatar
assassingod assassingod is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,337
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Nice idea, however since the template is uncached you will have an extra query on each page. To fix, open global.php
PHP Code:
    // misc useful 
add below
PHP Code:
    'navbar2'
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-17-2004, 06:39 PM
gmarik's Avatar
gmarik gmarik is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mocsow
Posts: 1,288
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

simple but nice
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-18-2004, 03:06 AM
neocorteqz's Avatar
neocorteqz neocorteqz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Barefoot Bay Fl
Posts: 473
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Wheatley
Couldn't you just edit the existing navbar template??

http://forum.rscnet.org
Yes, but some may want addtional space, as not to clutter the existing navbar. I have a few custom additions to mine, and I have even added some stuff to the Quick Links drop down menu, but If i were to add more, it would start looking kinda cluttered. IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-18-2004, 04:13 AM
ChurchMedia's Avatar
ChurchMedia ChurchMedia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 473
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Brilliant simplicity! I had to disable my java-menu because it was conflicting with the vB menus. Now I can add them back in. Thanks so much!!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-19-2004, 05:04 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by assassingod
Nice idea, however since the template is uncached you will have an extra query on each page. To fix, open global.php
PHP Code:
    // misc useful 
add below
PHP Code:
    'navbar2'
Thank you for pointing this out. I have added it to the instructions in the first post.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-20-2004, 09:30 PM
Holidazed's Avatar
Holidazed Holidazed is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 713
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This is awesome! I am using it now at http://www.dkdrpg.com

Thank you

~installs
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-20-2004, 11:34 PM
Vigile Vigile is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 26
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by assassingod
Nice idea, however since the template is uncached you will have an extra query on each page. To fix, open global.php
PHP Code:
    // misc useful 
add below
PHP Code:
    'navbar2'
Sorry for taking off topic here, but what is the difference (value) between uncached and cached templates? I understand that the query doesnt load on each load, but why doesnt it, I guess thats the question... does it load the tempalte on the local enduser pc?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-22-2004, 03:02 AM
Rick Sample Rick Sample is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 407
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I really want this hack, but can someone show me how I would find and add the navbar like this site has it: (you see how its directly above the login and is the same size? http://www.rs25.com


I hope one of you could help me out on this
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05588 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,332KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (10)bbcode_code
  • (11)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete