Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Dynamic License Plate & Text in Postbit. Details »»
Dynamic License Plate & Text in Postbit.
Version: 1.00, by demo7up demo7up is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Show Thread Enhancements - Version: 4.0.0 Rating:
Released: 12-03-2011 Last Update: Never Installs: 6
Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

~~~~~MARK INSTALLED~~~~~~


Here is it is for all Car Enthusiast Site's all i ask is that you link back to my site in way, shape or form. Site: http://www.nycjdm.com Or please throw a donation my way I will not help support this unless you have marked this installed, can either send me a link with the link back to my site or have placed a donation.

This Mod should work for any vB 4.+

So first we need to setup the CSS for the custom div that positions the License Plate & Text

so
1. Navigate to Admin CP => Styles & Templates => Style Manager => Edit Templates => CSS Templates => additional.css

At the bottom of this file add (you can change the css to match your site width etc..

Code:
div.jdm_plate{
height:66px;
}
div.jdm_plate p {
padding-top: 25px;
margin: 0 auto;
font-size:24px;
text-transform:uppercase;
color:black;
}
2. Navigate to AdminCP => User Profile Fields =>Add New User Profile Field

You will need to create 2 fields, one to Select License Plates the Other to Add the Text to it.

So create the first custom field we will call this x (make sure u get the field id)
Code:
Profile Field Type: Single Selection Menu

Title: License Plate

Description: Please choose your License Plate from the drop down list above. If you do not see yours listed please request them <a href="www.yoursite.com/your_forum_for_requests">here.</a>
<br/>

<img src="path-to/license_plates/Japan.png" alt="Japan" />
<img src="path-to/license_plates/New_York.png" alt="NY" />

Options: Now this is case sensitive and each option must be named exactly like the corresponding image so for me its: 

Japan
New_York

The Second Profile Field we will call y (make sure u get the field id)

Profile Field Type: Single-Line Text

Title: License Plate Text

Description: Enter your License Plate Text Here.

Max length of allowed user input: 6 or 7

Default Value: What ever you want up to 6 or 7 Characters.


Now save that ... Hopefully you have both Field Id's and now on to the next step




3. Navigate to Admin CP => Styles & Templates => Style Manager => Edit Templates => Postbit Templates => postbit_legacy

find and place code between the code in the box or place it where you would like it to show in the post bit.

Code:
</vb:if> 
{insert bottom code here}
<vb:if condition="$post['userid']">
Display Code make sure you change the X and Y to the correct profile id's

Code:
<vb:if condition="$post['userid']">
<vb:if condition="$post['fieldxx']">

    <div class="jdm_plate" style="background-image:url(http://path-to/license_plates/{vb:raw post.fieldxx}.png);">
<p><b>{vb:raw post.fieldyy}</b></p>
</div>
</vb:if> 
</vb:if>
Note: Blank License Plates can be found @ http://www.blankplates.com/

Screenshots

File Type: png image1.png (32.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg image2.jpg (31.3 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 12-05-2011, 09:35 PM
bosanci28's Avatar
bosanci28 bosanci28 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA - West Coast
Posts: 271
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

worked perfect ,thanks!....
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-07-2011, 08:01 PM
demo7up demo7up is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 92
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

awesome good news!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-08-2011, 12:14 AM
Jebadiah04 Jebadiah04 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

4.18 compatible?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-30-2011, 05:34 PM
demo7up demo7up is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 92
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

yeah im using in 4.1.9
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-30-2011, 11:44 PM
1320Nation 1320Nation is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 246
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry guy but your instructions are not setup for someone installing this mod for the first time. Starting with the #2. instructions I think you are saying to add all the text I have in the quote in the Description Area? All of it? Also whats up with using the Japan and Newyork, are just a reference?

Quote:
Please choose your License Plate from the drop down list above. If you do not see yours listed please request them <a href="www.yoursite.com/your_forum_for_requests">here.</a>
<br/>

<img src="path-to/license_plates/Japan.png" alt="Japan" />
<img src="path-to/license_plates/New_York.png" alt="NY" />

Options: Now this is case sensitive and each option must be named exactly like the corresponding image so for me its:
Japan
New_York
Then from the same text you have whats in this quote added-
Quote:
<a href="www.yoursite.com/your_forum_for_requests">here.</a>
Since there is nothing mentioned in you instructions I'm to think that above quoted text about yoursite.com is part of the directions for members with what they need to? Otherwise if it is meant for the person installing the mod, you do not have it listed in the instructions.

Next in #3. you have-
Quote:
</vb:if>
{insert bottom code here}
<vb:if condition="$post['userid']">
What code are talking about. Nowhere anywhere have you mentioned about code or the code that needs to be included in this part of the instructions.

And lastly you have-
Quote:
<div class="jdm_plate" style="background-image:url(http://path-to/license_plates/{vb:raw post.fieldxx}.png);">
<p><b>{vb:raw post.fieldyy}</b></p>
What in the world is 'path-to'? Is this suppose to be a directory we were to have uploaded somewhere on our own websites, or?

The better it is explained how to do a mod, the less people like myself are going to be asking questions that are not necessary. This is another reason why most people will skip over from getting involved in adding a mod. Or giving the developer a donation. I say that because I have given several developers donations as my way of saying I appreciate the efforts put into a well put together mod.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-31-2011, 01:01 AM
demo7up demo7up is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 92
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ask for help nicely and apologize for your dumb remarks or beat it!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-31-2011, 06:51 AM
1320Nation 1320Nation is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 246
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demo7up View Post
Ask for help nicely and apologize for your dumb remarks or beat it!
Hey man, please DO NOT waste any time on anything I mentioned. Your mod means very little to me. I simply tried helping you out by pointing out some areas you are lacking in. Look at other developers detail their instructions. Look at those that take pride in what they do as you can see from the mod's of the month, ect. You might also take a look around and notice you are not on your own website to be bulling people around.

Btw, if you can't deal with constructive criticism, then you have no business being involved with public websites.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-31-2011, 07:45 AM
demo7up demo7up is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 92
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

lol your a d**k i didnt post it to get MotM or could careless about it some one asked for it and i gave it to them.. Thats pretty much it... Your right im not on my own site but this page belongs to my mod.

whats constructive about
Quote:
The better it is explained how to do a mod, the less people like myself are going to be asking questions that are not necessary. This is another reason why most people will skip over from getting involved in adding a mod. Or giving the developer a donation. I say that because I have given several developers donations as my way of saying I appreciate the efforts put into a well put together mod.
please do tell me.... I dont care to be like other developers... and if my mod meant very little to you, you wouldnt have take the time to rip it apart.... Im sorry but I cant help but laugh @ your Bully comment. Go read a book... then come back to the forums when you can actually be useful. Instead of thriving on other peoples work. Why don't you learn how to do it yourself? Lazy? Or the intelligence just isn't there? Also If you havent noticed this is a template mod if you dont know wtf you are doing you probably shouldn't be doing it. Learn what a URL is before actually writing some trash as you did. People who cant even speak english were able to install this without issue.

And just for shits and giggles

Answer to Statement #1

If you followed the direction as described you would have noticed that I listed each input field and the corresponding value.

as for japan and new york This was built for my site. If you had just the tiniest bit of common sense. You would have realized that OBVIOUSLY you can add or remove you own license plates hence the reason i did not prepackage any and I provided a link to download some.

Statement Number #2

If you actually Read what was going on.

Description:
Code:
Please choose your License Plate from the drop down list above. If you do not see yours listed please request them <a href="www.yoursite.com/your_forum_for_requests">here.</a>
www. YOURSITE .com/ YOUR FORUM FOR REQUESTS

To me that means the link that my user can click to make a request. Dont know how you could of possibly messed that up. Ask yourself DO YOU KNOW WHAT A LINK MEANS OR LOOKS LIKE?

Statement #3

Code:
</vb:if>
{insert bottom code here}
<vb:if condition="$post['userid']">
Its exactly as it states Right under this code box is another code box

Code:
<vb:if condition="$post['userid']">
<vb:if condition="$post['fieldxx']">

    <div class="jdm_plate" style="background-image:url(http://path-to/license_plates/{vb:raw post.fieldxx}.png);">
<p><b>{vb:raw post.fieldyy}</b></p>
</div>
</vb:if> 
</vb:if>
Thats what you enter where this is {insert bottom code here}

Statement #4

What in the world is 'path-to'?

Why is it so hard to read!!!!!!! http://path-to/license_plates/ What does that mean to you again cause to me it means where on my website i am going to store my license plate images.


Again There was nothing constructive about anything you wrote. Your just a plain idiot who cant follow directions. And if you did have trouble installing it all you had to do was ask for help not be some critic of something you absolutely know nothing about.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-01-2012, 12:41 PM
demo7up demo7up is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 92
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooban12 View Post
Hi,

I'm trying to install this mod, but I got a problem here,
You mentioned that we have to create 2 fields, do we need to do them one by one or in one go?

Thank you
Hey,

So The Custom Fields needs to be created one by one.

One Field would be for a dropdown menu that allows you to select the License Plate

and

The Second Field would be for the text input that displays on the License Plate.

If you continue to have any issues let me know and ill try to walk you though it step by step.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-01-2012, 01:25 PM
demo7up demo7up is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 92
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quick note please mark as installed if you havent already thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooban12 View Post
Hi,

Its working now and thank you for your help, but could you tell me how can centre the License Plate?

http://a2ziphones.com/forums/games-d...d.html#post606

Thank you
I don't see the license plate on this page?

Do you have a page where it is active?

Quote:
Also, please tell me how can I change the font colour.

Thanks
In the css the you change the color from black to what ever you like you can also use hex color codes. #000000 etc... or Red, white, black etc

Code:
div.jdm_plate{
height:66px;
}
div.jdm_plate p {
padding-top: 25px;
margin: 0 auto;
font-size:24px;
text-transform:uppercase;
color:black;
}
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04983 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,346KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (8)bbcode_code
  • (9)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (2)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete