Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
v3 Arcade Lights Out Mode Details »»
v3 Arcade Lights Out Mode
Version: 1.0.2, by Gemma Gemma is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Add-On Releases - Version: 4.x.x Rating:
Released: 10-24-2011 Last Update: 11-10-2011 Installs: 14
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Additional Files  
No support by the author.

I did this a long time ago, so I'd advise you to back up your v3ARCADE_PLAY template before you do anything else, just incase I've forgotten something

I released a simplified version of this to Premium Members on v3arcade.com, now here is the more advanced version.

What Does This Do?
Basically, when you turn lights down, the entire page darkens and let you play the game in the 'dark' which cuts out distractions.

I've also added a section of code which will show a game description (if one is available) above the game instructions.

Open your headinclude template and add:
Code:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'arcade'">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://code.jquery.com/jquery-latest.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/lights.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="css/lights.css"/>
</vb:if>
Save the template.

In your v3ARCADE_PLAY template and find:
Code:
<!-- main -->
            <div class="blockrow">{vb:raw flashcode}</div>
            <vb:if condition="$game['instructions']">
                <div class="blockrow">{vb:raw game.instructions}</div>
            </vb:if>
            <!-- /main -->
        </td>

        <td valign="top" style="width: 200px; padding-left: 10px;">
            <!-- right area -->
Replace that with:
Code:
<!-- main -->
<div id="acontainer">
          <div id="header">   
            <div id="command"><a class="lightSwitcher" href="javascript:foo();">Turn off the lights</a></div>
        </div>
        <div id="movie">
            <div class="blockrow">{vb:raw flashcode}</div>
                        
            <!-- /main -->

<table width="700" border="0">
 <vb:if condition="$game['description']">
  <tr>
   <th scope="row"><span><b>Description:</b> {vb:raw game.description}<br/><br/></span></th>
    </tr>
    </vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$game['instructions']">
  <tr>
    <th scope="col"><span><b>Instructions:</b> {vb:raw game.instructions}</span></th>
    </tr>
    </vb:if>  
</table>
</td>
        <td valign="top" style="width: 200px; padding-left: 10px;">
            <!-- right area -->
Still in v3ARCADE_PLAY find:
Code:
{vb:raw footer}
Below that add:
Code:
</div>
    </div>
    <div id="shadow"></div>
Save the template.

Upload the contents of the zip file to your server using your FTP

css/lights.css
js/lights.js
images/arcade/light_bulb.png
images/arcade/light_bulb_off.png
images/arcade/shade5x5.png

You can see a live demo in our arcade, play a game and click on 'Turn The Lights Off'.

To upgrade from version 1.0.1 to version 1.0.2, unpack the archive and upload the files. No need to re-edit any templates

Version History
1.0.1 - Initial release on vB.org
1.0.2 - Added new lights.css file

If anyone wants to further develop any of my addons, you are free to do so.

Download Now

File Type: zip v3 Arcade Lights Out 1.0.2.zip (6.4 KB, 57 views)

Screenshots

File Type: jpg lights.jpg (80.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg lights_out.jpg (27.2 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 11-03-2011, 04:09 PM
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Strange, your template works perfectly on my site - are you running any javascript compressor on your site?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-03-2011, 06:19 PM
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,392
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Not that I know off.. I can't find any plugins that use compression capabilities. Maybe a conflict with another plugin?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-03-2011, 06:27 PM
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Could be, I'll put together a noConflict version and post it later

Edit: Try replacing the part between <!-- main --> and <!-- /main --> with this

Code:
<!-- main -->
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'arcade'">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.2.6/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
var lo=$.noConflict();
        lo(document).ready(function(){
    lo("#shadow").css("height", lo(document).height()).hide();
    lo(".lightSwitcher").click(function(){
        lo("#shadow").toggle();
        if (lo("#shadow").is(":hidden"))
            lo(this).html("Turn off the lights").removeClass("turnedOff");
        else
            lo(this).html("Turn on the lights").addClass("turnedOff");
    });
}); 
    </script>
</vb:if>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="css/lights.css"/>
<div id="acontainer">
          <div id="header">   
            <div id="command"><a class="lightSwitcher" href="javascript:void(0)">Turn off the lights</a></div>
        </div>
        <div id="movie">
            <div class="blockrow">{vb:raw flashcode}</div>
                        
            <!-- /main -->
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-03-2011, 09:18 PM
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,392
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry mate, still doesn't work . I have to find the plugin that is causing this.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-03-2011, 10:01 PM
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FF|Skyrider View Post
Sorry mate, still doesn't work . I have to find the plugin that is causing this.
If you cannot find a solution you can try the other version I released on v3arcade.com

http://www.v3arcade.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3952

I might go back and add some better visuals to that one when I get time at the weekend
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-07-2011, 07:41 PM
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Started working on a new version at the weekend, still got some tweaking to do but I got distracted by Battlefield 3
Attached Images
File Type: jpg guestwarn.jpg (38.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg guestwarnout.jpg (28.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Благодарность от:
stangger5
  #18  
Old 11-08-2011, 05:39 PM
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,392
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Looks actually pretty neat
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-09-2011, 01:25 AM
woffie's Avatar
woffie woffie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 264
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Gemma, this is so kewl! I have tried the old and this new version and still cant get it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-10-2011, 05:04 PM
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woffie View Post
Gemma, this is so kewl! I have tried the old and this new version and still cant get it to work.
Try changing the headinclude template edit to this

Code:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'arcade'">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://code.jquery.com/jquery-latest.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/lights.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="css/lights.css"/>
</vb:if>
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-11-2011, 02:23 AM
woffie's Avatar
woffie woffie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 264
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemma View Post
Try changing the headinclude template edit to this

Code:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'arcade'">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://code.jquery.com/jquery-latest.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/lights.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="css/lights.css"/>
</vb:if>
Well, the link for turning on and off the lights is right above the game. I click on it and it changes status but does not actually turn off the lights.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04870 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,357KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (8)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (5)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete