Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[ForumOps] vBulletin Development Environment Details »»
[ForumOps] vBulletin Development Environment
Version: 2.1, by ForumOps ForumOps is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Administrative and Maintenance Tools - Version: 4.x.x Rating:
Released: 06-01-2011 Last Update: Never Installs: 35
Uses Plugins
Re-useable Code Code Changes Additional Files Translations  
No support by the author.



vBulletin Development Environment

vBulletin Development Environment (VDE) is a tool that allows you to build vBulletin products entirely from the filesystem. By using the filesystem, it allows you to follow best practises such as using version control, and simply working on actual files. Having to switch between browser windows and copy/paste is extremely inefficient.

This product has been updated to work with with vBulletin 3.5 and up to the latest 4.x series.

Runtime Environment

Assuming all of your files are in place, VDE checks your ./projects directory on every page load, and injects all of your projects' templates, plugins, etc. into memory and runs them as if they were natively installed into vBulletin.

Product Builder

VDE also comes with a project builder, which allows you to export your project into a standard product XML, and also any associated files with your project.

Open Source

This product is open source, and I encourage everyone who uses it to contribute back via GitHub.

Installation Instructions

Short version: upload files, import product XML. There are slightly different instructions based on whether or not you are running vBulletin 3 or 4.

Full instructions can be found at:
https://github.com/ForumOps/vBulleti...nt-Environment

I will not be posting any change logs or detailed instructions here, because they may change heavily with each version. Please refer to the GitHub page.

Disclaimer: this product was originally developed by SirAdrian / Adrian Schneider, who is part of our staff, and the primary maintainer of the product still.

Download Now

File Type: zip forumops_vde.zip (10.5 KB, 183 views)

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 06-03-2011, 07:05 PM
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,528
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I actually needed the ability to port an existing product into VDE today so it has been written! I'll update Github first within the next few days (maybe sooner) and the actual packages a bit later as time permits.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-04-2011, 07:42 PM
ForumOps's Avatar
ForumOps ForumOps is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Update: you can now specify entire directories by name rather than having to list each of their files in a project's config.php file.

Example,

Code:
array('files' => array(
    '/my_dir'
));
Is automatically expanded to

Code:
array('files' => array(
    '/my_dir'/index.php',
    '/my_dir/another_file.php'
));

Also, you can now import existing products into VDE automatically, by using the 'port' command:

Code:
php vde.php port existing_product_id projects/save_here
Next up is adding is removing the required edit as per Andreas' comment above. The latest code is on GitHub - I will only have time to update the official packages once per week or so.

Has anyone had a chance to build a plugin from scratch with this yet? Would love some feedback, especially on the documentation side of things as it was quite rushed. I've been using this method for years, so my steps are probably lacking.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-04-2011, 10:00 PM
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon Sheley View Post
I voted for ya :up:
TY TY!

And Adrian coming along even better I should have been eying this closer per your comments on messenger... I believe Adrian said it took them 3 hours to port a product that should have normally taken 30+ hours via the admincp (huge btw) so all-in-all this is killer imo! I still have not tested this myself however I have installed it on the forum some of us Advisors here use as I thought it might be helpful to BirdofPrey5 and DigitalJedi if they wanted to utilize it and well me too eventually.

Just plain awesome .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-04-2011, 10:04 PM
Hareth Hareth is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Great work Adrian,, Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-05-2011, 08:55 PM
Hareth Hareth is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 49
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Not working with me!

Warning: scandir([path]/projects) [function.scandir]: failed to open dir: No error in [path]\includes\vde\runtime.php on line 115

Warning: scandir() [function.scandir]: (errno 0): No error in [path]\includes\vde\runtime.php on line 115

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]\includes\vde\runtime.php on line
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-06-2011, 12:07 AM
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hareth View Post
Not working with me!

Warning: scandir([path]/projects) [function.scandir]: failed to open dir: No error in [path]\includes\vde\runtime.php on line 115

Warning: scandir() [function.scandir]: (errno 0): No error in [path]\includes\vde\runtime.php on line 115

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]\includes\vde\runtime.php on line
You've uploaded the files and made the proper file edit (different for 3.x than it is 4.x please note) mentioned in the README.txt on GitHub correct?

https://github.com/ForumOps/vBulleti...nt-Environment
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-06-2011, 03:29 PM
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,528
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hareth View Post
Not working with me!

Warning: scandir([path]/projects) [function.scandir]: failed to open dir: No error in [path]\includes\vde\runtime.php on line 115

Warning: scandir() [function.scandir]: (errno 0): No error in [path]\includes\vde\runtime.php on line 115

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]\includes\vde\runtime.php on line
You need to create a 'projects' directory in your forum path. Let me know if that doesn't fix it... will mend instructions if this is the case.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-06-2011, 07:16 PM
nhawk nhawk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,604
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Getting an error when trying to port an existing mod..

From the style of the command, I would assume this needs to be run from a terminal window.

Code:
 php vde.php port advapp projects/advapp
Invalid command.  Use build or run
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-06-2011, 07:25 PM
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,528
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The download package here is old... I will be updating it today. We've made few updates since it was released.

If you download the latest version from GitHub it should solve your problems.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-06-2011, 08:28 PM
nhawk nhawk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,604
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks, that worked.

But, I must be missing something really simple....

With the development environment enabled, my mod stops working completely. Disable the development environment and it works fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05208 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,354KB
  • Queries Executed 27 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (13)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (1)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete