Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Datastore cache to WinCache - boost your vBulletin Details »»
Datastore cache to WinCache - boost your vBulletin
Version: 1.02, by hydn hydn is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2013 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Board Optimization - Version: 3.8.x Rating:
Released: 03-21-2010 Last Update: Never Installs: 14
Code Changes  
No support by the author.

Also see: Wincache for vb 4.0.2

This allows you to use WinCache as a datastore cache in vBulletin. This also assumes that you have already installed Wincache version 1.1 or later. This is definitely your choice if you have already installed and enabled WinCache on your IIS server. Use at your own risk!

(See screenshot of stats below after 30mins up-time)

Prerequisites
  • a working php installation
  • a working vBulletin 3.8.x installation
  • a working WinCache 1.1 or Better.
Install the modification
  1. Add the following code to the end of class_datastore.php just above "?>"
Code:
// #############################################################################
// WINCACHE

/**
* Class for fetching and initializing the vBulletin datastore from WINCACHE
*/

class vB_Datastore_WINCACHE extends vB_Datastore
{
                /**
                * Indicates if the result of a call to the register function should store the value in memory
                *
                * @var  boolean
                */

                var $store_result = false;
 
                /**
                * Fetches the contents of the datastore from WINCACHE
                *
                * @param           array      Array of items to fetch from the datastore
                *
                * @return           void
                */
                function fetch($itemarray)
                {
                                if (!function_exists('wincache_ucache_get'))
                                {
                                                trigger_error('WINCACHE not installed', E_USER_ERROR);
                                }
 
                                $db =& $this->dbobject;
 
                                $itemlist = array();
 
                                foreach ($this->defaultitems AS $item)
                                {
                                                $this->do_fetch($item, $itemlist);
                                }
 
                                if (is_array($itemarray))
                                {
                                                foreach ($itemarray AS $item)
                                                {
                                                                $this->do_fetch($item, $itemlist);
                                                }
                                }
 
                                $this->store_result = true;
 
                                // some of the items we are looking for were not found, lets get them in one go
                                if (!empty($itemlist))
                                {
                                                $this->do_db_fetch(implode(',', $itemlist));
                                }
 
                                $this->check_options();
 
                                // set the version number variable
                                $this->registry->versionnumber =& $this->registry->options['templateversion'];
                }
 
                /**
                * Fetches the data from shared memory and detects errors
                *
                * @param           string     title of the datastore item
                * @param           array      A reference to an array of items that failed and need to fetched from the database
                *
                * @return           boolean
                */
                function do_fetch($title, &$itemlist)
                {
                                $ptitle = $this->prefix . $title;
 
                                if (($data = wincache_ucache_get($ptitle)) === false)
                                { // appears its not there, lets grab the data, lock the shared memory and put it in
                                                $itemlist[] = "'" . $this->dbobject->escape_string($title) . "'";
                                                return false;
                                }
                                $this->register($title, $data);
                                return true;
                }
 
                /**
                * Sorts the data returned from the cache and places it into appropriate places
                *
                * @param           string     The name of the data item to be processed
                * @param           mixed   The data associated with the title
                *
                * @return           void
                */
                function register($title, $data, $unserialize_detect = 2)
                {
                                if ($this->store_result === true)
                                {
                                                $this->build($title, $data);
                                }
                                parent::register($title, $data, $unserialize_detect);
                }
 
                /**
                * Updates the appropriate cache file
                *
                * @param           string     title of the datastore item
                * @param           mixed   The data associated with the title
                *
                * @return           void
                */
                function build($title, $data)
                {
                                $ptitle = $this->prefix . $title;
                                //The below line is not required as wincache_ucache_set will override the data if it is already present
                                //wincache_ucache_delete($ptitle);
                                wincache_ucache_set($ptitle, $data);
                }
}
2. Set your config.php to use wincache for datastore:

Code:
$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_WINCACHE';
Done!

Check the "User and Session Cache" section of your wincache.php (screenshot) in your browser to see stats!

Special thanks to the guys at Microsoft for their help! Official IIS support at http://forums.iis.net

Enjoy!

Screenshots

File Type: jpg wincache_datastore_stats.jpg (199.8 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 03-28-2010, 11:27 PM
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ps2wiz View Post
Will this work in VB4?
no sorry
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-05-2010, 07:32 PM
ps2wiz ps2wiz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 217
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydn View Post
no sorry
How about 3.7?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-06-2010, 01:09 PM
Hostboard's Avatar
Hostboard Hostboard is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 843
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Why do you recommend V1.1 or higher when it is a beta release. Shouldn't 1.0 work as well since that was the last stable release?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-06-2010, 10:31 PM
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hostboard View Post
Why do you recommend V1.1 or higher when it is a beta release. Shouldn't 1.0 work as well since that was the last stable release?
Use version 1.0 and let me know how that works out for you.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-07-2010, 01:34 AM
ps2wiz ps2wiz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 217
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ps2wiz View Post
How about 3.7?
Will this mod work in a 3.7 board?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hostboard View Post
Why do you recommend V1.1 or higher when it is a beta release. Shouldn't 1.0 work as well since that was the last stable release?
Quote:
Windows Cache Extension 1.1 for PHP is an incremental release that includes all the features from version 1.0 and adds support for user and session cache. The extension provides API's that can be used by PHP applications to store variables in shared memory. In addition the extension includes the PHP session handler that can be used by PHP engine to store session data in shared memory instead of file system.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-07-2010, 02:48 AM
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I never tested 3.7. Don't know if it works.

Upgrade the speed is worth it
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-10-2010, 04:43 PM
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AzzidReign View Post
This is great! Thx.
y welcome
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-26-2010, 07:20 AM
MichaelDance MichaelDance is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Warwickshire, UK
Posts: 156
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks im using this all installed, hope it improves the board.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-01-2010, 08:15 PM
ps2wiz ps2wiz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 217
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydn View Post
I never tested 3.7. Don't know if it works.
I just tried it out, and I can confirm that it does not work with my 3.7 board.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-12-2010, 05:43 AM
|Jordan|'s Avatar
|Jordan| |Jordan| is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 479
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I installed this mod and I dont see "User and Session Cache" tab on my wincache.php and i have the latest Wincache installed.

P.S. I found out i had to manually enable the user cache, but doing so still doesnt display the user cache tab.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04379 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,345KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (8)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (1)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete