Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
UKBL ~ Google friends Connect Details »»
UKBL ~ Google friends Connect
Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Miscellaneous Hacks - Version: 3.8.2 Rating:
Released: 05-27-2009 Last Update: Never Installs: 9
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.


UKBL ~ Google friends Connect


A simple and effective way to let your members sign up to their google friends from your forum


Lets start...

This will add a small Google friends connect box next to your username in the navbar, This is just one of many possabilities for using this new Google friends Connect



Ok so first we need to set up a Google friends connect account at google so go to this link here and sign up

http://www.google.com/friendconnect/...start?hl=en_US

1. Click on "Friends Connect for websites"

2. Add your site name and Url

3. Download and save to your server the two files which are then shown, these are
rpc_relay.html and canvas.html

You need to save them onto your root directory, if you see the instructions it will show you where

Don't worry if you've made a mistake, google will soon tell you :up:

4. Once you've done that you need to click on the members gadgets on the left hand side menu, Click on "Sign in Gadget"

5. Then "Create HTML Code"

and thats the first part done.

Now to add it to the Navbar

In Notepad or a text editor of your choice add the following code

Code:
<!--<UKBL Google Friends Start>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

<td class="alt2">

<DIV ALIGN=RIGHT>
<if condition="!is_member_of($bbuserinfo, X, Y, Z)">



******** Add your Downloaded google friends Script here - Don't forget to change the X,Y,Z of the condition above to allow whatever usergroup you want this visable too, Just add the usergroup id number and space with a comma  ********


</DIV>
</td>
</if>
<!--<UKBL Google friends End>----------------------------------------------------------------------->
you should have something along the lines of this

Code:
<!--<UKBL Google Friends Start>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

<td class="alt2">

<DIV ALIGN=RIGHT>
<if condition="!is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 1, 2, 3)">
<td class="alt2">
<!-- Include the Google Friend Connect javascript library. -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/friendconnect/script/friendconnect.js"></script>
<!-- Define the div tag where the gadget will be inserted. -->
<div id="div-6496169506965828886" style="width:250px;border:0px solid #ffffff;"></div>
<!-- Render the gadget into a div. -->
<script type="text/javascript">
var skin = {};
skin['BORDER_COLOR'] = '#ffffff';
skin['ENDCAP_BG_COLOR'] = '#e0ecff';
skin['ENDCAP_TEXT_COLOR'] = '#333333';
skin['ENDCAP_LINK_COLOR'] = '#0000cc';
skin['ALTERNATE_BG_COLOR'] = '#ffffff';
skin['CONTENT_BG_COLOR'] = '#ffffff';
skin['CONTENT_LINK_COLOR'] = '#0000cc';
skin['CONTENT_TEXT_COLOR'] = '#333333';
skin['CONTENT_SECONDARY_LINK_COLOR'] = '#7777cc';
skin['CONTENT_SECONDARY_TEXT_COLOR'] = '#666666';
skin['CONTENT_HEADLINE_COLOR'] = '#333333';
skin['ALIGNMENT'] = 'right';
google.friendconnect.container.setParentUrl('/' /* location of rpc_relay.html and canvas.html */);
google.friendconnect.container.renderSignInGadget(
 { id: 'div-6496169506965828886',
   site: '02417642747277593193' },
  skin);
</script>
</DIV>
</td>
</if>
<!--<UKBL Google friends End>----------------------------------------------------------------------->

Now save this in Notepad, because we now need to upload this onto our Navbar template

Go to edit the following template in your admin CP

AdminCP > Styles & Templates> Style Manager> Your Chosen Style> All style options> Edit templates> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates> navbar

In template NAVBAR find

Code:
<div class="navbar" style="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> <strong>$vboptions[bbtitle]</strong></div>
		</if>
	</td>
and directly below it add your saved code.

Then save, and thats it

Members will be able to sign up, Using their Google, Aim and Yahoo id's



and then the login box will turn like this...



where members can then sort out their friends and send invites etc..



Enjoy

UPDATE:

For those of you That would prefer the Social Bar that goes accross the top of your screen, then here are the instructions



LIVE DEMO : http://www.ossamples.com/freestyle/

1. Sign up to Google friends as described above and the from the menu on the left choose "Social Bar"

Quote:
Add a social bar to your site

Put a social bar at the top of your site's pages to give your visitors easy access to Friend Connect's social features.

Enable your visitors to easily join and discover each other
Let visitors read and post comments together
Activities taking place in social gadgets throughout your site bubble to the top
No need to redesign your pages
2. Fill in the Options 1 on that page, thats easy enough.

3. Option 2 creates the HTML code that we'll need to ad to our site it looks something like this...

Code:
<!-- Include the Google Friend Connect javascript library. -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/friendconnect/script/friendconnect.js"></script>
<!-- Define the div tag where the gadget will be inserted. -->
<div id="div-6077485798636155185"></div>
<!-- Render the gadget into a div. -->
<script type="text/javascript">
var skin = {};
skin['BORDER_COLOR'] = '#cccccc';
skin['ENDCAP_BG_COLOR'] = '#e0ecff';
skin['ENDCAP_TEXT_COLOR'] = '#333333';
skin['ENDCAP_LINK_COLOR'] = '#0000cc';
skin['ALTERNATE_BG_COLOR'] = '#ffffff';
skin['CONTENT_BG_COLOR'] = '#ffffff';
skin['CONTENT_LINK_COLOR'] = '#0000cc';
skin['CONTENT_TEXT_COLOR'] = '#333333';
skin['CONTENT_SECONDARY_LINK_COLOR'] = '#7777cc';
skin['CONTENT_SECONDARY_TEXT_COLOR'] = '#666666';
skin['CONTENT_HEADLINE_COLOR'] = '#333333';
skin['POSITION'] = 'top';
skin['DEFAULT_COMMENT_TEXT'] = '- add your comment here -';
skin['HEADER_TEXT'] = 'Comments';
google.friendconnect.container.setParentUrl('/' /* location of rpc_relay.html and canvas.html */);
google.friendconnect.container.renderSocialBar(
 { id: 'div-6077485798636155185',
   site: '02417642747277593193',
   'view-params':{"scope":"SITE","features":"video,comment","showWall":"true"}
 },
  skin);
</script>
So now we need to ad the code to our site, and its so easy, First we go to our adminCP and Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Your Style >

and at the top of your header template add the code, then save.

Thats it, You should see your sites new google social bar at the top of your forum




As always Please Click installed if you use

Download Now

File Type: zip google_friends.zip (209.6 KB, 72 views)

Screenshots

File Type: png signin1.png (43.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png signin2.png (51.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png signin3.png (45.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png signin4.png (78.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: gif friendconnect-logo.gif (4.8 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 05-28-2009, 04:02 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamashid View Post
okay! i did something wrong I dont see it on my navbar.....where is it that i upload on ftp??? I'm kinda new to all of this...
You need to upload the two html files which you've saved doing the google sign up, to your Root directory.

You then need to add the HTML code which was generated for you, to your navbar template in your admincp, see below

AdminCP > Styles & Templates> Style Manager> Your Chosen Style> All style options> Edit templates> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates> navbar

Then save, it should work then, let me know how you got on
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-28-2009, 04:18 PM
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

okay thanks for replying. I opened up my ftp and then have the server up, from there do I juse upload it, or do I need to open any other files??? Not sure if this is where I am confused or not, as its just not showing up on the board....I did the edit template but got nothing....is it okay if i paste the code here so you can see if its right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
You need to upload the two html files which you've saved doing the google sign up, to your Root directory.

You then need to add the HTML code which was generated for you, to your navbar template in your admincp, see below

AdminCP > Styles & Templates> Style Manager> Your Chosen Style> All style options> Edit templates> Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates> navbar

Then save, it should work then, let me know how you got on
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-28-2009, 04:22 PM
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

like do i need to open any certain files in my root directory...please explain in not so computer savvy terms...lol
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-28-2009, 04:24 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamashid View Post
okay thanks for replying. I opened up my ftp and then have the server up, from there do I juse upload it, or do I need to open any other files??? Not sure if this is where I am confused or not, as its just not showing up on the board....I did the edit template but got nothing....is it okay if i paste the code here so you can see if its right?
I can see it


Perhaps you need to refresh your screen, Press Ctrl + F5 at the same time, that refreshes the page direct from the server

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-28-2009, 04:25 PM
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

wait i see it but its only there if i use firefox...how do i get it to show up on IE too.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-28-2009, 04:31 PM
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

and once we are signed into our MHO accounts we cant see the box
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-28-2009, 04:39 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamashid View Post
and once we are signed into our MHO accounts we cant see the box
have you set the Usergroup conditionals right you need to change the ones i add to your usergroups, then only signed up members will be able to view

Code:
<if condition="!is_member_of($bbuserinfo, X, Y, Z)">
Change the X, Y, Z for the usergroups that you want this to show for
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-28-2009, 04:43 PM
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

<if condition="!is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6, 7, 5, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16)">

those are the members I want to see it right? thats what i place there?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-28-2009, 04:44 PM
mamashid mamashid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

figured it out...i have to place the people I dont want to see it there not the other way around....duh!

thank you for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:18 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamashid View Post
figured it out...i have to place the people I dont want to see it there not the other way around....duh!

thank you for your help!
No worries Glad to help
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04771 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,359KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (6)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete