Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Ventrilo Stats Block without needing vBadvanced Details »»
Ventrilo Stats Block without needing vBadvanced
Version: 3.00, by Crimm Crimm is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.8.1 Rating:
Released: 02-10-2009 Last Update: 02-11-2009 Installs: 17
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

This mod has been replaced! https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=240495

This mod does NOT require vbadvanced. So some people liked my vbadvanced mod that displayed the Ventrilo Status, but didn't want vbadvanced.

I have now made this one that doesn't require vbadvanced, but it does require Style changes. I hope you enjoy!

Support Thread: http://www.mmo-mods.com/forum/showthread.php?p=13858

Author:

Crimm - Included because I have been finding my mods all over the internet taken via RSS :P

Description:

This will place a Ventrilo status block in a column on your vbulletin home. It uses some of the files found on Ventrilo.com's download section plus things I have learned to integrate them into vBulletin.

NOTE 1: Debug option may display server information. Hide the block to non-admins when debugging the block or else malicious individuals could get their hands on your server information.

NOTE 2: Style Changes required! To place this on your forum home, you must make some changes to your forumhome template. All styles are not made the exact same. I will offer examples below, but I can NOT support all the styles for vBulletin. If you have trouble I suggest you contact the style developer for your style.

Difficulty:

6/10 - It's mainly normal installs, but it's difficult to debug this ventrilo status script and it requires template edits.

Requirements:

Safe mode being off is very important and will be the biggest problem people have with this script. To test and see if you pass this requirement follow these steps:

1. Create a file called info.php
2. Put this line inside it:

Code:
<?php phpinfo(); ?>
3. Upload it to your website.
4. Visit the new page by going to: http://yoursite.com/info.php or wherever you uploaded it.
5. Look for a line that says: "safe_mode"
6. If that says - On next to it... then contact your host, because you can't go any further.

**I was going to try and implement a check, but can't seem to figure out how to do that.**


Support:

Here or my site: mmo-mods.com I spend the majority of my online time at my site so feel free to stop by and ask for help.

FAQ's:

Q: Yes I have seen this mod: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...age=5&t=113432 Isn't this the same mod?

A: No, it isn't like that. It's a side block. - See screenshots.

Q: I'm getting this: CVentriloStatus->Request() failed. PHP Unable to start external status process. Or this error: (Since friendly errors were turned on in version .2) "Can't find or run ventrilo_status"

A: Please post and I will try to help, best bet is to visit my site where this information is being culminated as a community and where I spend most of my time. http://mmo-mods.com. Experience tells me it has to be one of these three things:

1. Permissions: Make sure to chmod your ventrilo_status to 755 if you are on linux. If you are on Windows, make sure that whatever is running your IIS process can execute ventrilo_status.exe
2. You are in PHP safe mode. This won't work in PHP Safe mode.
3. It's a path problem - I made everything relative. I have included some testing scripts, please use them as directed below.
4. Make sure that you have chosen the correct environment set in your settings.

Q: I'm getting this error: "No response."

A: Check your Server information. You can obtain this from your ventrilo host.

Q: I'm getting this error: "Unknown Error."

A: Copy/Paste the exact error and post it here with your domain so that I can take a look

Q: Whats the best way to debug an issue?

A: I included a debug option in the Ventrilo Status Block Options in vBulletin options, but note be very careful as it displays server information that could be useful to hackers. Make sure to hide the block from non-admins when you have this option checked.

Q: I need to hide this block for non-administrators until I can get it working... What do I do?

A: I was going to show you guys how to do IF statements to hide it from Non administrators but it became to combersome. If you need to hide it. Then do this:
  • Go to admincp->Style Manager
  • Click add new style
  • For title put in: Testing
  • Hit save.
  • Do the template edits below in the testing style instead of your forum style.
  • Once completed go back to admincp->Style manager
  • Click the style you just created and you will see what it looks like.
  • After you are done testing you can go back to admincp->Style manager and delete the style and click your default style to go back to it.

In future version coming soon ... I will add a way to hide this in the vb options.


Installation:
  1. Download the ZIP file attached
  2. Upload the includes folder to your forum folder
  3. Browse to the includes/ventrilo folder and chmod ventrilo_status to 755 for linux and check execute permissions if you are using Windows.
  4. Go to admincp -> Products -> Install the product in the zip file
  5. Go to Admincp -> vb options -> Ventrilo Block Settings
  6. Put in your server information and check your environment and other settings
  7. Now edit go to Styles & Templates -> Edit the FORUMHOME template of your style (MAKE A BACKUP FIRST!!!!!) and input the following information:

    Special note: This has been tested and operational on the default style. For other styles, please contact your style author as I can't troubleshoot other people's work in respect of that developer.
    • [For a right column status block do this:]
      • FIND

        Code:
        $navbar
      • BELOW ADD:

        Code:
        <!-- Ventrilo Status side column -->
        <table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" align="center">
        <tr>
        <td valign="top">
        <!-- / Ventrilo Status side column -->
      • FIND

        Code:
        $footer
      • ABOVE ADD

        Code:
        <!-- Ventrilo Status side column -->
        </td>
        <td width="10px"></td>
        <td valign="top" width="160px">
        <table class="tborder" border="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" width="100%" align="center">
        <tr>
        <td class="thead">
        <center>Ventrilo Status</center>
        </td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
        <td class="alt1">
        $ventrilo_include 
        </td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
        <td class="alt2">
        <center><font size="-3">$display2</font></center>
        </td>
        </tr>
        </table>
        </td>
        </tr>
        </table>
        <!-- / Ventrilo Status side column -->
    • [For a left column do this:]
      • FIND

        Code:
        $navbar
      • ADD BELOW
        Code:
        <!-- Ventrilo Status side column -->
        <table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" align="center">
        <tr>
        <td valign="top" width="160px">
        <table class="tborder" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" width="100%" align="center">
        <tr>
        <td class="thead">
        <center>Ventrilo Status</center>
        </td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
        <td class="alt1">
        $ventrilo_include 
        </td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
        <td class="alt2">
        <center><font size="-3">$display2</font></center>
        </td>
        </tr>
        </table>
        </td>
        <td width="10px"></td>
        <td valign="top">
        
        <!-- / Ventrilo Status side column -->
      • FIND

        Code:
        $footer
      • ABOVE ADD

        Code:
        <!-- Ventrilo Status side column -->
        </td>
        </tr>
        </table>
        <!-- / Ventrilo Status side column -->

  8. If you get an error check the FAQ's above before asking for help.
  9. Problems? Post here No problems? Then you are good to go.

Crimm notation on block:

Please leave the notation back to me in the block to help spread the word. I left it small, so it wouldn't bother your site. Us freelancers have to get some fame somehow

Mark as installed:

Please mark as installed if you use this script, and I will assist you with a higher priority than everyone else.

Special Thanks!:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=119933 - This tutorial and those mods are how I figured out how to add the columns successfully. Thank you very much to Kerry-Anne.

Revisions:

Version 1: Starting to gather scripts together
Version 2: Updated installer and worked on style changes
Version 3: Tested and completed install of product and removed call to global.php
Version 4: Updated Readme and FAQ because of copy/paste mistake :P

Also: Added screenshots

EDIT: Added Product updating code from vb.org

Download Now

File Type: zip Crimm - Ventrilo Status column for vBulletin Rev 4.zip (281.1 KB, 124 views)

Screenshots

File Type: jpg overviewleft.jpg (71.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg overviewright.jpg (71.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png rightblock.png (14.0 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 02-11-2009, 11:10 PM
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 170
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Everyone easy.

Readme is a typo.

Ill fix later. This one doesn't require vba. My other one does.

Also edit your vent information publicly. Send to me via PM. I will check later for you.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-11-2009, 11:13 PM
Doctor Death Doctor Death is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 449
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks Crimm, I am excited about this mod... been looking for one like it for a few years! Thanks for putting the time and effort into it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:26 AM
DJ29Joesph DJ29Joesph is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 70
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Dude I was just about to ask you if there was away to do this without vbadvance yesterday..and then you release the product I want without even asking you....amazing...

BTW great job!:up:

Make sure to hide the block from non-admins when you have this option checked.

How would I do that?

and...

Just a quick note for you...

The absolute path with windows that the program debug returns "\" for seperators...

and it doesn't work if you use "\" you have to use "/". In order for me to get it to work I had to edit ventrilo.php

and looking for this:

$stat->m_cmdprog = $statusscriptpath;

changed to

$stat->m_cmdprog = "G:/Forums/includes/ventrilo/ventrilo_status";

But thats on my trial thread!

Btw..I cant seem to get this to work on the actually live site...gives me the

"Can't find or run ventrilo_status"

any tips...I think it has to do with exec permissions even though I chmod it to 775 and it saids "safe-mode" is off. So I have no clue! Has anyone got this to work with godaddy as their host?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:17 PM
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 170
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ29Joesph View Post
Make sure to hide the block from non-admins when you have this option checked.


How would I do that?
You would have to add an if statement. I'll add that to the FAQ's later today.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-12-2009, 12:18 PM
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 170
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ29Joesph View Post
Just a quick note for you...

The absolute path with windows that the program debug returns "\" for seperators...

and it doesn't work if you use "\" you have to use "/". In order for me to get it to work I had to edit ventrilo.php

and looking for this:

$stat->m_cmdprog = $statusscriptpath;

changed to

$stat->m_cmdprog = "G:/Forums/includes/ventrilo/ventrilo_status";

But thats on my trial thread!

Btw..I cant seem to get this to work on the actually live site...gives me the

"Can't find or run ventrilo_status"

any tips...I think it has to do with exec permissions even though I chmod it to 775 and it saids "safe-mode" is off. So I have no clue! Has anyone got this to work with godaddy as their host?

Thanks
Thank you. I'll update ventrilo.php to change paths on options set.

As for "Can't find or run ventrilo_status".

I have a godaddy account. I'll test for you later today.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-12-2009, 02:18 PM
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 170
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ29Joesph View Post
Make sure to hide the block from non-admins when you have this option checked.

How would I do that?
I updated the FAQ's to help with that.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-12-2009, 03:24 PM
DJ29Joesph DJ29Joesph is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 70
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-12-2009, 03:50 PM
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 170
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimm View Post
Thank you. I'll update ventrilo.php to change paths on options set.

As for "Can't find or run ventrilo_status".

I have a godaddy account. I'll test for you later today.
Bad news everyone.

I knew some hosts were going to cause an issue, but I guess I can start to make a list.

GoDaddy blocks this script.

http://echelonalliance.net/ventrilo/ventrilo.php - Is a test display.

Looks like the same issue:

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=446827
http://www.badsquad.net/modules.php?...ote=viewresult
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-12-2009, 03:57 PM
DJ29Joesph DJ29Joesph is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 70
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ah Bummer! Thanks anyway!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:01 PM
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 170
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04980 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,364KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (9)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (4)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete