Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs Details »»
UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs
Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.6.12 Rating:
Released: 01-03-2009 Last Update: 01-05-2009 Installs: 5
Template Edits
Re-useable Code  
No support by the author.

UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs


Credits: Christopher Ware~ Thanks

I've been playing around with creating some Menu Tabs for the top of the forums, These ones do not mess up your CSS or use Javascript and you can have it set up and running on your forums in minutes.

DEMO: http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/demo.html

Members Site Live Demo's:
http://www.gamelobby.com/Forum/
http://www.itproservices.net/forums/...php?styleid=10



I've done this in a neutral color, so it'll be fine for light colored forums, I will add some darker ones and a black one later if requested

So what do you do???

Installation is sooooo simple your gonna love this, First you need to open the html file with notepad or similar, and make a few edits, Mainly the location of the 2 gif's and the links to the urls or onsite links.

so in Note pad look for this..

Code:
 background:url("tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;
and change the word tableft1.gif to the directory you have your images in, if you use photobucket or a similar storage site then your code would look something like this

Code:
 background:url("http://i4875.photobucket.com/albums/rr1/ukbusinesslive/tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;
Then you look for the other one here

Code:
background:url("tabright1.gif") no-repeat right top;
and basically do the same as the first edit.

So thats it with the gif edits, you still need to scroll further down to the menu edits

here

Code:
                       <ul>
                                <!-- CSS Tabs -->
<li id="current"><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span>Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/group.php?"><span>Social Groups</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/online.php?"><span>Who's Online</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://astore.amazon.co.uk/ukbuli-21"><span>UKBL Bookstore</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/usercp.php"><span>Your CP</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>
basically you can have as many tabs as you need and you change the navigation from the top code, its pretty easy to do, First you add the Url of the site or link that you want tabbed, Then paste it to the first part of the tab, Then after <Span> you write the name of the tab, Easy

if you want extra tabs just add another line like this

Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
Cut and Paste the HTML Code to the header template of your style, and upload the gifs to your chosen directory, be it /images/misc or even photobucket.

For Dark Colored Sites

If your Site is Black or has a Black Background you'll want black tabs like this



Then you'll have to Download the Black_ Tabs.zip This include a new code that you need to edit as well as the 2 Black Gifs to get the correct colour. Instructions are the same as above


Please Click install if you like it

If you want to see a nice collection of downloadable Menu Tabs, Veiw My Post in the Graphics forum, and download what you need
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...79#post1704379

vBAdvanced Integration

Ther seem to be a slight problem with users that use vBAdvanced Integration

Quote:
A problem I'm having when I put this in the header template is that I click on a thread and it comes up with the menu tabs down where the thread should be instead of the thread.

Could it be a problem with having vBAdvanced integration?
The cure is quite simple, all you need to do when you've edited your code is to cut it in half and put the CSS element into the additional CSS box in your Style manger's "additional CSS" box, Then the last bit, the part which contains the menu links (See below)

Code:
</style>
                </head>

                <body>
                        
                        <div id="tabsH">
                                <ul>
                                        <!-- CSS Tabs -->
<li id="current"><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span>Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/group.php?"><span>Social Groups</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/online.php?"><span>Who's Online</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://astore.amazon.co.uk/ukbuli-21"><span>UKBL Bookstore</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/usercp.php"><span>Your CP</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>

                                </ul>
                        </div>
                </body>
</html>
Thats the part which just goes at the VERY end of your header.

Enjoy VBa Members

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/" target="_blank"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site




Changing individual Tab Font Colors

You can add some html markup between the <span> where the tab name is

Just change the first <Span> Value to

Code:
<span style="color:Green">
So your Menu Line would look something like this

Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span style="color:Green">Forums Topsite</span></a></li>


Hope that helps, just change the color Green, for a color of your choice

You could use a tab with a different color text to point to your Paypal Account and call it donations Worth a try

Tab Color Changes on Hover

Quote:
I have a request though

if you can make the current page's tab be in another color just like when hover it, it will be great.
just like vbulletin.org here.
you can see it yourself
You need to add a span attribute to the CSS



Dependant on what tab design you are using, find the following in the code

Code:
   #tabs1 a:hover {
      background-position:0% -42px;
      }
and change it to this

Code:
#tabs1 a:hover span {
       color:#000000;
      background-position:0% -42px;
      }
Where #000000 (hex Code for Black) is the new color that you want, so now you should have the tabs show up as normal and when you hover the cursor over them with the above hex code the text will be BLACK

Just change this color hex to whatever hex color you want

Enjoy

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 02-16-2009, 01:42 AM
Cybershaolin Cybershaolin is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 300
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm sorry but where do you put the file "Tab_menu1.html" on the forum? I don't see any mention of that in the instructions...

Also, what about if we want to have some of the menu items translated? We can't use phrases there?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:41 AM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybershaolin View Post
I'm sorry but where do you put the file "Tab_menu1.html" on the forum? I don't see any mention of that in the instructions...

Also, what about if we want to have some of the menu items translated? We can't use phrases there?
You need to open the tab_menu1 file in a text processor like Notepad and make your changes to the menu links, otherwise you'll be linked back to my site, The menu links can be found at the end of the code, Also, don't forget the url of where your going to put the pictures need to be changed as per the instructions.

When you finished you Copy and paste the whole code to the end of your header, Thats it

Let me know how you got on If your still stuck l'll help you later when i get home from work
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:18 PM
Cybershaolin Cybershaolin is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 300
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi, Thanks for your answer. I know I have to edit the html file but where to put it exactly?

In which header? Do you mean in the forumhome template or in the CSS Common styles header?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:19 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybershaolin View Post
Hi, Thanks for your answer. I know I have to edit the html file but where to put it exactly?

In which header? Do you mean in the forumhome template or in the CSS Common styles header?
In the header template of the style your using

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:39 PM
Cybershaolin Cybershaolin is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 300
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

OK, I got it Thanks, but I still have some issues!

1- It looks like it does not like another mod I have installed since a long time ago: Microstats: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=82900

See picture included (use the zip to see it full size).

Usually, the line appears only at the complete bottom of my home page but now it appears under the additions I made on my header with your hack! I have no idea why. I remove your code and that other line also disappear! Wow, no idea why!!

2- Still no answers how to translate the menu item. Can I use phrases?

3- Also, I tried you code for changing the color when my mouse goes over a menu item and it just does not work.

4- Finally, how to change the background color of the banner (which covers the whole width of the page under the tab buttons) to make it the same as my home page (like you see just above the banner, kind of grey-blue)? What settings must I change in your code?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-17-2009, 12:42 AM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybershaolin View Post
OK, I got it Thanks, but I still have some issues!

1- It looks like it does not like another mod I have installed since a long time ago: Microstats: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=82900

See picture included (use the zip to see it full size).

Usually, the line appears only at the complete bottom of my home page but now it appears under the additions I made on my header with your hack! I have no idea why. I remove your code and that other line also disappear! Wow, no idea why!!

2- Still no answers how to translate the menu item. Can I use phrases?

3- Also, I tried you code for changing the color when my mouse goes over a menu item and it just does not work.

4- Finally, how to change the background color of the banner (which covers the whole width of the page under the tab buttons) to make it the same as my home page (like you see just above the banner, kind of grey-blue)? What settings must I change in your code?
OK,

It looks like your having some issues

If you PM me what tabs you want and the Url of where they want to go i will code for you Especially A new super set of tabs that you can be proud of :up:

All i need from you Sir, is

The amount of tabs you want

Color or give me a link to your forum (A pm will do if you don't want to post it)

and the Url for each tab,

Also if you want any of the tabs to drop down and include anything else??

Do that for me and i'll do your tabs for you when i get home from work tommorrow

Not sure what you mean by "how to translate the menu item. Can I use phrases?"

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-17-2009, 02:04 AM
Cybershaolin Cybershaolin is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 300
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

PM sent.

P.S.: By menu items I mean the text inside the tabs... Like, if I put "Dons" (which is in French), I'd like to have those using the English version of my forum to see "Donations" instead of "Dons".

The way it is actually coded, I cannot do that, this is why I asked if vb usual phrases can be used.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-17-2009, 05:01 AM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybershaolin View Post
PM sent.

P.S.: By menu items I mean the text inside the tabs... Like, if I put "Dons" (which is in French), I'd like to have those using the English version of my forum to see "Donations" instead of "Dons".

The way it is actually coded, I cannot do that, this is why I asked if vb usual phrases can be used.
As for the translation i'm not sure of that I've not had much dealings with VB phrases

let me know if you want me to word the menu in English or in French, The actual wording of the menus is written in HTML ?? so i can see the problem????


Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04769 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,314KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (10)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (9)post_thanks_box
  • (9)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (9)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (8)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete