Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs Details »»
UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs
Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.8.0 RC 2 Rating:
Released: 01-03-2009 Last Update: 01-05-2009 Installs: 62
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

UKBL- Easy Menu Tabs


I've been playing around with creating some Menu Tabs for the top of the forums, These ones do not mess up your CSS or use Javascript and you can have it set up and running on your forums in minutes.

Credits: Christopher Ware ~ Thanks

DEMO: http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/demo.html

Members Site Live Demo's:
http://www.gamelobby.com/Forum/
http://www.itproservices.net/forums/...php?styleid=10



I've done this in a neutral color, so it'll be fine for light colored forums, I will add some darker ones and a black one later if requested

So what do you do???

Installation is sooooo simple your gonna love this, First you need to open the html file with notepad or similar, and make a few edits, Mainly the location of the 2 gif's and the links to the urls or onsite links.

so in Note pad look for this..

Code:
 background:url("tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;
and change the word tableft1.gif to the directory you have your images in, if you use photobucket or a similar storage site then your code would look something like this

Code:
 background:url("http://i4875.photobucket.com/albums/rr1/ukbusinesslive/tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;
Then you look for the other one here

Code:
background:url("tabright1.gif") no-repeat right top;
and basically do the same as the first edit.

So thats it with the gif edits, you still need to scroll further down to the menu edits

here

Code:
                       <ul>
                                <!-- CSS Tabs -->
<li id="current"><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span>Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/group.php?"><span>Social Groups</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/online.php?"><span>Who's Online</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://astore.amazon.co.uk/ukbuli-21"><span>UKBL Bookstore</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/usercp.php"><span>Your CP</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>
basically you can have as many tabs as you need and you change the navigation from the top code, its pretty easy to do, First you add the Url of the site or link that you want tabbed, Then paste it to the first part of the tab, Then after <Span> you write the name of the tab, Easy

if you want extra tabs just add another line like this

Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
Cut and Paste the HTML Code to the header template of your style, and upload the gifs to your chosen directory, be it /images/misc or even photobucket.

For Dark Colored Sites

If your Site is Black or has a Black Background you'll want black tabs like this



Then you'll have to Download the Black_ Tabs.zip This include a new code that you need to edit as well as the 2 Black Gifs to get the correct colour. Instructions are the same as above

Please Click install if you like it

If you want to see a nice collection of downloadable Menu Tabs, Veiw My Post in the Graphics forum, and download what you need
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...79#post1704379

vBAdvanced Integration

Ther seem to be a slight problem with users that use vBAdvanced Integration

Quote:
A problem I'm having when I put this in the header template is that I click on a thread and it comes up with the menu tabs down where the thread should be instead of the thread.

Could it be a problem with having vBAdvanced integration?
The cure is quite simple, all you need to do when you've edited your code is to cut it in half and put the CSS element into the additional CSS box in your Style manger's "additional CSS" box, Then the last bit, the part which contains the menu links (See below)

Code:
</style>
                </head>

                <body>
                        
                        <div id="tabsH">
                                <ul>
                                        <!-- CSS Tabs -->
<li id="current"><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span>Forums Topsite</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/group.php?"><span>Social Groups</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/online.php?"><span>Who's Online</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://astore.amazon.co.uk/ukbuli-21"><span>UKBL Bookstore</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/usercp.php"><span>Your CP</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php"><span>Member List</span></a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>

                                </ul>
                        </div>
                </body>
</html>
Thats the part which just goes at the VERY end of your header.

Enjoy VBa Members

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/" target="_blank"><span>UK Business Live</span></a></li>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site





Changing individual Tab Font Colors

You can add some html markup between the <span> where the tab name is

Just change the first <Span> Value to

Code:
<span style="color:Green">
So your Menu Line would look something like this

Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/topsite/"><span style="color:Green">Forums Topsite</span></a></li>


Hope that helps, just change the color Green, for a color of your choice

You could use a tab with a different color text to point to your Paypal Account and call it donations Worth a try

Tab Color Changes on Hover

Quote:
I have a request though

if you can make the current page's tab be in another color just like when hover it, it will be great.
just like vbulletin.org here.
you can see it yourself
You need to add a span attribute to the CSS



Dependant on what tab design you are using, find the following in the code

Code:
   #tabs1 a:hover {
      background-position:0% -42px;
      }
and change it to this

Code:
#tabs1 a:hover span {
       color:#000000;
      background-position:0% -42px;
      }
Where #000000 (hex Code for Black) is the new color that you want, so now you should have the tabs show up as normal and when you hover the cursor over them with the above hex code the text will be BLACK

Just change this color hex to whatever hex color you want

Enjoy

Download Now

File Type: zip tab_menu_1.zip (21.8 KB, 372 views)
File Type: zip Black_Tabs.zip (3.2 KB, 188 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 01-05-2009, 05:39 PM
Fungsten's Avatar
Fungsten Fungsten is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,131
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
Thats the default VBulletin forum style, i can't see no tabs in there???

Sorry. Now try it. I had that style hidden. :erm:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-05-2009, 05:47 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fungsten View Post
Sorry. Now try it. I had that style hidden. :erm:
Thats because the url to your .gif files is not right

Code:
   #tabs1 a {
      float:left;
      background:url("styles/Experimental/Upload/misc/tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;
      margin:0;
      padding:0 0 0 4px;
      text-decoration:none;
      }
    #tabs1 a span {
      float:left;
      display:block;
      background:url("styles/Experimental/Upload/misc/tabright1.gif") no-repeat right top;
      padding:5px 15px 4px 6px;
      color:#627EB7;
      }
Where you have styles/Experimental/Upload/misc/tableft1.gif, Thats not correct you need to use the full url for example

Code:
http://yourforum.com/styles/Experimental/Upload/misc/tableft1.gif
Just edit those and it will work

Have fun
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-05-2009, 06:01 PM
Fungsten's Avatar
Fungsten Fungsten is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,131
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
Thats because the url to your .gif files is not right

Code:
   #tabs1 a {
      float:left;
      background:url("styles/Experimental/Upload/misc/tableft1.gif") no-repeat left top;
      margin:0;
      padding:0 0 0 4px;
      text-decoration:none;
      }
    #tabs1 a span {
      float:left;
      display:block;
      background:url("styles/Experimental/Upload/misc/tabright1.gif") no-repeat right top;
      padding:5px 15px 4px 6px;
      color:#627EB7;
      }
Where you have styles/Experimental/Upload/misc/tableft1.gif, Thats not correct you need to use the full url for example

Code:
http://yourforum.com/styles/Experimental/Upload/misc/tableft1.gif
Just edit those and it will work

Have fun
Thank you!!

One more thing I noticed! In Firefox the Logo is pushed way over to the right. TIA.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-05-2009, 06:29 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Try putting the code at the very end of your style header template as oppose to the top and see if that makes a difference
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-05-2009, 06:34 PM
Fungsten's Avatar
Fungsten Fungsten is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,131
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
Try putting the code at the very end of your style header template as oppose to the top and see if that makes a difference
:up::up::up::up:
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-05-2009, 06:40 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fungsten View Post
:up::up::up::up:
I can see your happy now Try and make your tabs central by editing this

Find in the HTML code

Code:
    }
    #tabs1 ul {
          margin:0;
          padding:10px 10px 0 50px;
          list-style:none;
in the HTML code and change the 50px value to say 300px, dependant on how many tabs you have an how wide they are, you can centralise them by just playing with this value.

Have Fun
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-05-2009, 06:57 PM
Fungsten's Avatar
Fungsten Fungsten is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,131
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
I can see your happy now Try and make your tabs central by editing this

Find in the HTML code

Code:
    }
    #tabs1 ul {
          margin:0;
          padding:10px 10px 0 50px;
          list-style:none;
in the HTML code and change the 50px value to say 300px, dependant on how many tabs you have an how wide they are, you can centralise them by just playing with this value.

Have Fun
You are fantastic!! Nominated too!!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-05-2009, 07:09 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for that, Glad it works well on your site
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:32 PM
DanTHEGREAT's Avatar
DanTHEGREAT DanTHEGREAT is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 194
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Question

My forum is www.freerealmsforums.com

Is there any way to change the color to suit that?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:39 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanTHEGREAT View Post
Question

My forum is www.freerealmsforums.com

Is there any way to change the color to suit that?
How about these



Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04720 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,370KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (16)bbcode_code
  • (9)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (2)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete