Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
MySpace type User Profile Link Details »»
MySpace type User Profile Link
Version: 1.00, by MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2009 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Miscellaneous Hacks - Version: 3.6.x Rating:
Released: 02-11-2008 Last Update: 02-11-2008 Installs: 26
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

Tested with vb 3.6.7 and 3.6.8
Tested on IE7 and FF2

Ok lets say your site is:

http://Example.com/Forums/


And the path to members profiles is even longer:

http://Example.com/Forums/member.php...xampleUserName


Well lets give your members a smaller and easy link to remember.


How about:

http://Example.com/Username

Oh ya thats alot better huh?

Ok well this is how you do it.


Add this to the .htaccess in root of example.com


HTML Code:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://Example.com/Forums/member.php?username=$1 [R]
Replace this:

http://Example.com/Forums/


With the link to your forums.


All members and guests will be able to go to:

http://Example.com/ThereUserName

And automatically be forwarded to the profile of the user name they entered after the site link.


Thats it just one easy .htaccess file edit and your done.


NOTE:
Want to use a diffrent domain like:

http://ExampleTwo.com/UserName

Just add the .htaccess file to that domain instead

just make sure that whats in red below links to your site

RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://Example.com/Forums/member.php?username=$1



Enjoy and click install if you use this mod.

Also Some Credit to Eikinskjaldi for pointing me in the right way to get this working.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 02-12-2008, 10:17 PM
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,537
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have one site, but with multiple url's pointing to it:
mymainurl.com
mysecondurl.com

I want to display mymainurl.com/forum/member.php?=member.php?username=ExampleUserName
as
mysecondurl.com/username

Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-12-2008, 11:10 PM
iogames's Avatar
iogames iogames is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 1,433
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Bulletproof?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-12-2008, 11:42 PM
mystic10 mystic10 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 298
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

what if i want the same thing but for admincp...and put their ip so when then log on with their id it must match the ip for them to log on to admin cp or mod cp can u kindly help
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-13-2008, 01:44 AM
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 311
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallieJo2 View Post
I see...very clever


Good work!

Does this also change the url noted in the profile to reflect the new url?
it dose not change any of the urls its just a basic redirect type deal

the link that you enter http://example.com/username is not even a real link it just redirects you to http://example.com/forums/member.php?=username

which would be the profile of the members name you entered after http://Example.com/

also please make sure you click install if you are using this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
I have one site, but with multiple url's pointing to it:
mymainurl.com
mysecondurl.com

I want to display mymainurl.com/forum/member.php?=member.php?username=ExampleUserName
as
mysecondurl.com/username

Is this possible?
yes thats the way i have mine set up

just add the .httaccess file in the other domain you have and set it to go to the domain you want it to



Quote:
Originally Posted by iogames View Post
Bulletproof?
not really sure what that means

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystic10 View Post
what if i want the same thing but for admincp...and put their ip so when then log on with their id it must match the ip for them to log on to admin cp or mod cp can u kindly help

i dont know you would have to ask someone else im not sure that would most likely need a totaly diffrent mod
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-13-2008, 01:48 AM
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 311
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

**Updated** Added info the my reserved post.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-13-2008, 05:49 PM
iogames's Avatar
iogames iogames is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 1,433
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well, actually it sends me to the Profile Page of the User... BUT!
still looks the same!
Why?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-13-2008, 06:02 PM
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 311
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

ya its supoesed to

this is just so that members do not have to remember the whole link

do you think that a member wants to go to his friend and be like:

Hey man check out my profile the link is
http://www.iogames.com/chat/member.php?username=coder

no i dont think they want to try to remember that whole thing when all they have to do is remember a much smaller link which would be your site link and then there username

see the point of this?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-13-2008, 06:13 PM
TCE Killa TCE Killa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 330
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks alot for this Stillfallin, I've been looking for this for awhile. Marked installed

Btw, are you online on COD4 PS3? If so, get back to me through PM. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-13-2008, 08:36 PM
MiahBeSmokin420 MiahBeSmokin420 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 311
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

nope i dont have a ps3 yet i should have one here probally next month
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:10 PM
iogames's Avatar
iogames iogames is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 1,433
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiahBeSmokin420 View Post
ya its supoesed to

this is just so that members do not have to remember the whole link

do you think that a member wants to go to his friend and be like:

Hey man check out my profile the link is
http://www.iogames.com/chat/member.php?username=coder

no i dont think they want to try to remember that whole thing when all they have to do is remember a much smaller link which would be your site link and then there username

see the point of this?
Now I see! well I will add the explanation to users
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.09136 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,316KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete