Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[How-to] Add more tabs to the vB 3.7 profile pages
calorie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,804

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
calorie calorie is offline 12-18-2007, 10:00 PM

If you want to add more tabs to the vB 3.7 profile pages, assuming JavaScript is enabled, or more blocks if JavaScript is off, then this tutorial is for you. If you like to learn in a trial by fire sort of way, create a new template titled memberinfo_block_mymodification with the following content:
Code:
<div class="alt1 block_row">
	<ul class="list_no_decoration">
		$block_data[mymodification]
	</ul>
</div>
Add a new plugin to the member_build_blocks_start hook with the following PHP code:
Code:
$blocklist = array_merge($blocklist, array(
	'mymodification' => array(
		'class' => 'MyModification',
		'title' => 'My Modification',
		'hook_location' => 'profile_left_last'
	)
));

class vB_ProfileBlock_MyModification extends vB_ProfileBlock
{
	var $template_name = 'memberinfo_block_mymodification';

	function confirm_empty_wrap()
	{
		return false;
	}

	function confirm_display()
	{
		return ($this->block_data['mymodification'] != '');
	}

	function prepare_output($id = '', $options = array())
	{
		$this->block_data['mymodification'] = 'Content to show in the tab.';
	}
}
Now visit your profile page to test it out. You should see a 'My Modification' tab that when clicked shows you the following text: Content to show in the tab. Exciting huh? Of course you need to add your own custom code for what to display, but this tutorial isn't about that, but rather to show you how to add tabs to the profile pages.

If you want to learn a bit more of the details, first consider this part:
Code:
$blocklist = array_merge($blocklist, array(
	'mymodification' => array(
		'class' => 'MyModification',
		'title' => 'My Modification',
		'hook_location' => 'profile_left_last'
	)
));
The $blocklist variable contains the default blocks. You merge to that another array where the key 'mymodification' references an array which sets a class to use, the title of the tab on the profile page, and the hook location. You can set whatever you want for title including the use of $vbphrase but in the example 'My Modification' is used. As for the hook location, you can use profile_left_first or profile_left_last depending on whether you want your new tab to be left or right of the current tabs, respectively.

Next consider the next part:
Code:
class vB_ProfileBlock_MyModification extends vB_ProfileBlock
{
	var $template_name = 'memberinfo_block_mymodification';

	function confirm_empty_wrap()
	{
		return false;
	}

	function confirm_display()
	{
		return ($this->block_data['mymodification'] != '');
	}

	function prepare_output($id = '', $options = array())
	{
		$this->block_data['mymodification'] = 'Content to show in the tab.';
	}
}
The class needs to be called vB_ProfileBlock_MyModification extends vB_ProfileBlock and note that part of the class name is vB_ProfileBlock_MyModification where MyModification comes from the class value set in your addition to the $blocklist variable. Inside the class, $template_name is set to the template to use, the confirm_empty_wrap function returns false to not create an empty block, the confirm_display function tests whether there is any content to display, and the prepare_output function is where you?d want to add your own custom code to fetch whatever you want to display, setting $this->block_data['mymodification'] to the content you want displayed. Remember variable scope when you add your own code, as you are inside a function that is inside a class.

Now there is the new template itself:
Code:
<div class="alt1 block_row">
	<ul class="list_no_decoration">
		$block_data[mymodification]
	</ul>
</div>
Note that $block_data[mymodification] contains whatever $this->block_data['mymodification'] contains in the prepare_output function inside the class, and because a hook location is set in your addition to the $blocklist variable, there are no manual template edits to make. Hooray! You should of course replace 'mymodification', 'MyModification', and 'My Modification' throughout this tutorial with something meaningful for your modification.

Finally there are other things that can be added to modifications such as options, and these can be seen in the vB class_profileblock.php and member.php files, though this tutorial should get you on your way to adding more content to the profile pages via additional tabs, but remember not to go overboard with queries, because even though you need to click the tab to see the content, whatever queries you run get run on page load, not tab click. Enjoy!

Fine print: tutorial based on vB 3.7.0 Beta 2, no redistribution without permission.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-20-2008, 08:53 PM
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
Posts: 1,630
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

with:
PHP Code:
        'hook_location' => 'profile_left_first' 
possible locations:
PHP Code:
    ''                    => $vbphrase['only_in_about_me_tab'],
    
'profile_left_first'  => $vbphrase['main_column_first_tab'],
    
'profile_left_last'   => $vbphrase['main_column_last_tab'],
    
'profile_right_first' => $vbphrase['blocks_column_first'],
    
'profile_right_mini'  => $vbphrase['blocks_column_after_mini_stats'],
    
'profile_right_album' => $vbphrase['blocks_column_after_albums'],
    
'profile_right_last'  => $vbphrase['blocks_column_last']
); 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-26-2008, 06:51 PM
eNforce's Avatar
eNforce eNforce is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada, AB
Posts: 341
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

For the contents of the tab how can I pull a custom profile field?

Code:
$blocklist = array_merge($blocklist, array(
	'custom' => array(
		'class' => 'custom',
		'title' => 'Custom Tab (Work in Progress)',
		'hook_location' => 'profile_left_last'
	)
));

class vB_ProfileBlock_custom extends vB_ProfileBlock
{
	var $template_name = 'memberinfo_block_custom';

	function confirm_empty_wrap()
	{
		return false;
	}

	function confirm_display()
	{
		return ($this->block_data['custom'] != '');
	}

	function prepare_output($id = '', $options = array())
	{
		$this->block_data['custom'] = '<if condition="$userinfo[field8]"><strong>Stuff:</strong> $userinfo[field8]<br /></if> ';
	}
}
It just outputs as "$userinfo[field8]" instead of what was typed in via User CP.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-11-2008, 08:57 PM
marcossalazar marcossalazar is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 69
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for the article!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-23-2008, 03:16 PM
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,694
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eNforce View Post
For the contents of the tab how can I pull a custom profile field?
Do something like this for your prepare_output function
Code:
    function prepare_output($id = '', $options = array())
    {
 
        $this->block_data['custom'] = $this->profile->userinfo['field8'] : "Stuff: $this->profile->userinfo['field8']" ? "Nothing to see here";
    }
}
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-25-2008, 02:09 PM
Neutral Singh's Avatar
Neutral Singh Neutral Singh is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sikh Philosophy Network
Posts: 545
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How can we create similar tab like "About Me" contents of which are user editable on the page itself. This facility should have inbuilt into vbulletin as a default.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-28-2008, 12:48 PM
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 6,693
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

just noticed this tut - outstanding!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-09-2008, 11:42 PM
msimplay's Avatar
msimplay msimplay is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,059
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Was wondering how would i get this peice of code into a block

PHP Code:
// Champion games in profile
    
$profilegq $db->query_read("SELECT u.userid AS userid, g.gameid AS gameid, g.title AS title, g.miniimage AS image FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "arcade_games AS g LEFT JOIN " TABLE_PREFIX "user AS u ON u.userid = g.highscorerid WHERE u.userid = $userinfo[userid] ORDER BY g.title ASC");
    while (
$profileg $db->fetch_array($profilegq)){
    
$pgrow .= "<a href=\"arcade.php?do=play&gameid=$profileg[gameid]\"><img src=\"./images/arcade/$profileg[image]\" alt=\"\" title=\"Play $profileg[title]!\" border=\"0\" /></a> &nbsp;&nbsp;";
}

$acount $db->num_rows($profilegq); 
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-11-2008, 01:08 PM
Inferno Dragon's Avatar
Inferno Dragon Inferno Dragon is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 153
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Very nice tutorial indeed..thanks a lot but as MSimplay said above, I am also interested in adding some custom DB queries for displaying items from the DB is it possible?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:25 PM
Guest210212002
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne Luke View Post
Do something like this for your prepare_output function
Code:
    function prepare_output($id = '', $options = array())
    {
 
        $this->block_data['custom'] = $this->profile->userinfo['field8'] : "Stuff: $this->profile->userinfo['field8']" ? "Nothing to see here";
    }
}
This doesn't work for me - the tab disappears.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:19 PM
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,575
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

A great tutorial! Thanks!

One question, to get this to show you have to click the small arrow at the end; is there any way to get it too show all tabs by default, without having to click the arrow? This only happens when the 'Infraction' tab is showing too...any way to get them all show?

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.07090 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,343KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (8)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete