Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Live Search 1.0 (AJAX) Details »»
Live Search 1.0 (AJAX)
Version: 1.00, by coderphp coderphp is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Add-On Releases - Version: 3.6.8 Rating:
Released: 08-07-2007 Last Update: 08-08-2007 Installs: 93
Template Edits
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

About the hack
==============

The hack adds a quick live search form to your forum's at any place you want it,
results are to be shown exactly under the search field as you type (by ajax)

Supported browsers
==============

IE6, IE7, FF2, Opera 9

Demo
====================

http://www.montadaphp.net
right under the logo

How to Install
==============

1- Add the following code to the end of ur "headinclude" template:
Code:
<script type="text/javascript">
/***********************************************
* Drop Down/ Overlapping Content- ? Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice must stay intact for legal use.
* Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/
function getposOffset(overlay, offsettype){
var totaloffset=(offsettype=="left")? overlay.offsetLeft : overlay.offsetTop;
var parentEl=overlay.offsetParent;
while (parentEl!=null){
totaloffset=(offsettype=="left")? totaloffset+parentEl.offsetLeft : totaloffset+parentEl.offsetTop;
parentEl=parentEl.offsetParent;
}
return totaloffset;
}
function overlay(curobj, subobjstr, opt_position){
if (document.getElementById){
var subobj=document.getElementById(subobjstr)
subobj.style.display="block"
var xpos=getposOffset(curobj, "left")+((typeof opt_position!="undefined" && opt_position.indexOf("right")!=-1)? -(subobj.offsetWidth-curobj.offsetWidth) : 0) 
var ypos=getposOffset(curobj, "top")+((typeof opt_position!="undefined" && opt_position.indexOf("bottom")!=-1)? curobj.offsetHeight : 0)
subobj.style.left=xpos+"px"
subobj.style.top=ypos+"px"
return false
}
else
return true
}

function overlayclose(subobj){
document.getElementById(subobj).style.display="none"
}
var xmlHttp3 
function showHint(word) 
{ 
document.getElementById('search_results').innerHTML = '<p></p><p></p><p align="center" class="smallfont"><img src="images/progress.gif" />Searching..</p>';
    xmlHttp3=GetXmlHttpObject3() 
    if (xmlHttp3==null) 
    { 
        alert ("Browser does not support HTTP Request") 
        return 
    } 
    var url="ajax_search.php" 
    url=url+"?query="+word 
    xmlHttp3.onreadystatechange=stateChanged3 
    xmlHttp3.open("GET",url,true) 
    xmlHttp3.send(null) 
} 

function stateChanged3() 
{ 
    if (xmlHttp3.readyState==4 || xmlHttp3.readyState=="complete") 
    { 
        document.getElementById("search_results"). innerHTML='<div align="left"><a href="#" onClick="overlayclose(\'search_results\'); return false">x</a></div>'+xmlHttp3.responseText; 
return overlay(this, 'search_results')
    } 
} 

function GetXmlHttpObject3() 
{ 
    var objXMLHttp3=null 
    if (window.XMLHttpRequest) 
    { 
        objXMLHttp3=new XMLHttpRequest() 
    } 
    else if (window.ActiveXObject) 
    { 
        objXMLHttp3=new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP") 
    } 
    return objXMLHttp3 
}
</script>
2- Add the following code wherever you want the search field to appear, for me i added to the "header" template exactly under the logo:
Code:
<form action="search.php?do=process" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
<input type="hidden" name="quicksearch" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="childforums" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="exactname" value="1" />
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
Live search <input type="text" name="query" size="25" class="header_search_field" onkeyup="showHint(this.value)" />
</form>
<div id="search_results" class="smallfont" style="position:absolute; border: 2px solid orange; color:blue; background-color: white; width: 300px; padding: 8px; display:none;overflow:auto; height:200px">
<div align="left"><a href="#" onClick="overlayclose('search_results'); return false">x</a></div>
</div>
3- Upload the contents of folder "Upload" to ur froum's home directory.

and u r done

If u like the hack please dont forget to click INSTALL

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:33 PM
TheBlackPoet's Avatar
TheBlackPoet TheBlackPoet is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Posts: 577
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

this is very nice... it is efficient.. and it gives my site that...... RIGHT NOW feel.. for a microwave age....

installed!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:04 PM
4x4 Mecca 4x4 Mecca is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 396
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I still see some foreign language when I am changing search terms... How do I fix that?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:45 PM
4x4 Mecca 4x4 Mecca is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 396
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok, I found it in the first edit, and changed it to "Searching..."
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:55 PM
asw asw is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

And I'm glad you did! I've been looking and looking on how to remove the foreign language as well.
Many thanks! Great Hack!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:04 AM
4x4 Mecca 4x4 Mecca is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 396
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Right now all my search result text is white for some reason.. I made the background navy to see the text, where would I change the text color?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:45 AM
coderphp's Avatar
coderphp coderphp is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Egypt
Posts: 204
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iogames View Post
Queries?
Only one query which searches the database
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:46 AM
coderphp's Avatar
coderphp coderphp is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Egypt
Posts: 204
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cairocairo View Post
Goog work mahmoud
thanx
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:46 AM
coderphp's Avatar
coderphp coderphp is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Egypt
Posts: 204
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBlackPoet View Post
this is very nice... it is efficient.. and it gives my site that...... RIGHT NOW feel.. for a microwave age....

installed!
thank u
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:47 AM
coderphp's Avatar
coderphp coderphp is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Egypt
Posts: 204
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4 Mecca View Post
I still see some foreign language when I am changing search terms... How do I fix that?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4 Mecca View Post
Ok, I found it in the first edit, and changed it to "Searching..."
fixed in the original post... sorry for the mess
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:50 AM
coderphp's Avatar
coderphp coderphp is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Egypt
Posts: 204
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw View Post
And I'm glad you did! I've been looking and looking on how to remove the foreign language as well.
Many thanks! Great Hack!
many thanx to u

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4 Mecca View Post
Right now all my search result text is white for some reason.. I made the background navy to see the text, where would I change the text color?
the search results text is taking the color of ur "smallfont" class..
if it is white it will be white too
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04581 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,309KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (7)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete