Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > General > Member Archives
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Details »»

Version: , by SNA (Guest)
Developer Last Online: Jan 1970 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: Unknown Rating:
Released: 03-14-2001 Last Update: Never Installs: 0
 
No support by the author.

2 Boards: 1 User Table.

I have bought 2 VBulletin boards and I would like to have one constant user table for both... is this possible?

If you register on either board you can still post on both boards...

Has this been brought up before?

Thanks.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 03-15-2001, 03:54 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I've done this before for a client and it's in use right now. It works fine, and if I recall correctly the database.table.column syntax is part of the SQL 92 standard -- all versions of MySQL should support it. Just give it a try!!

For FanHome I decided that 5 sets of identical PHP files was a waste so I cooked up my own version of co-branding and I'm using that (e.g. template / replacement var sets) on FanHome.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-16-2001, 01:45 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

All finished... I think.

I created a new user on forum2 and it was able to post and replay successfully on BOTH forums.

memberlists work on both forums...

private messages are seperate for each forum.

So id say it worked out great.

The only problem I saw was the most recent post when you are viewing a persons profile. If a more recent post was made on a different form it would show the time of that post but link it to the last post on the current forum where the memberlist is located because its taking out of different thread tables.

Woooooowww that was fun.. hehe it basically works.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-16-2001, 07:04 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The only problem arises is with the usergroup table in vB 1.X (not sure how it's handled in 2.0) -- if you add a moderator to one forum and they try and log in to the other you get a permission denied error since usergroupID XX doesn't exist in the other forum.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-16-2001, 08:51 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This shouldnt be a problem because im using the usergroup table from form1 i changed all instances of usergroup to forum1.usergroup.


Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-16-2001, 09:05 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That would give moderator status to a moderator on both forums with the same ID, no?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-16-2001, 09:12 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The user will have the same group permissions on forum1 and forum2.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-16-2001, 10:08 AM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes, yes they will. If you have identical forums I guess it won't be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-16-2001, 07:31 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

forgot to tell ya...

I hade to add the following modifications to forum2 functions.php


added:
PHP Code:
if ($idname=='user') {
$idnameold 'user';      
$idname 'forum1.user';
} else {
$idnameold $idname;


if (
$idname=='avatar') {
$idnameold 'avatar';      
$idname 'forum1.avatar';

after:

PHP Code:
if (!isset($id) or $id==or $id=="") {
    if (
$alert) {  // show alert?
      
eval("standarderror(\"".gettemplate('error_noid')."\");");
      exit;
    }
  } else {
    
$id=intval($id);
    if (
$selall==1) {
      
$selid '*';
    } else {
      
$selid $idname.'id';
    } 
then changed

PHP Code:
if ($idname=='thread' and $threadcache["$id"]) {
      if (
$selall!=1) {
        return 
$threadcache["$id"]["$selid"];
      } else {
        return 
$threadcache["$id"];
      }
    } else if (
$idname=='forum' and isset($forumcache["$id"]) and $forumcache["$id"][forumid]==$id) {
      if (
$selall!=1) {
        return 
$forumcache["$id"][forumid];
      } else {
        return 
$forumcache["$id"];
      }
    } else if (!
$check=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT $selid FROM $idname WHERE $idname"."id=$id")) {
      if (
$alert) { // show alert?
        
eval("standarderror(\"".gettemplate('error_invalidid')."\");");
        exit;
      } 
to:

PHP Code:
if ($idnameold=='thread' and $threadcache["$id"]) {
      if (
$selall!=1) {
        return 
$threadcache["$id"]["$selid"];
      } else {
        return 
$threadcache["$id"];
      }
    } else if (
$idnameold=='forum' and isset($forumcache["$id"]) and $forumcache["$id"][forumid]==$id) {
      if (
$selall!=1) {
        return 
$forumcache["$id"][forumid];
      } else {
        return 
$forumcache["$id"];
      }
    } else if (!
$check=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT $selid FROM $idname WHERE $idnameold"."id=$id")) {
      if (
$alert) { // show alert?
        
eval("standarderror(\"".gettemplate('error_invalidid')."\");");
        exit;
      } 
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-17-2001, 12:12 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can someone translate this this for a newbie?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-17-2001, 10:52 PM
Nelly X
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Could someone please redo the code for RC1?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04274 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,304KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete