Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.5 > vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Additional Navbar 3.5.3 and up Details »»
Additional Navbar 3.5.3 and up
Version: 1.00, by attroll attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.5.3 Rating:
Released: 01-31-2006 Last Update: Never Installs: 48
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

After upgrading my 3.0.0 version of this hack a long time back and repeatedly asking for it to be moved here in the 3.5.3 area with no success. I decided to add it here myself.

Despite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.0 up to the most recent version of 3.5.3. Just read the directions.

What this does is create another navbar with drop down menu?s by typing $navbar2 in any of your templates. It is just like the one that comes with vBulletin 3.

After seeing a lot of replies about users wanting another navbar besides the basic one that comes with vBulletin. I waited for someone else to write one. But no one stepped forward and wrote one. I wanted this for my site and got tired of waiting for someone else to write it. So I played around and created this one for myself. I though I would share it with everyone.

Note#1: If you do not want to add a separate navbar template you can also substitute the steps in 5A through 5D and insert the navbar2.txt after you have edited it the way you want and into the same places as I mentioned for the $navbar2 in your default navbar and you will not have to do any of these other steps.

I put a lot of description tags in the HTML file to help explain what everything does. Once you understand what is going on here you can removed these. With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this navbar.

1. To install this hack you will have to create a template in you ADMINCP and call it ?navbar2? and insert the contents of the attached file "navbar2.txt" into this template file. Right now it is set up for my site. So you will have to modify it to what you want in this navbar for your site.

2. Put the following command in your phpinclude_start template:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
2A. This is for users that have vB 3.5 and up. Step 2 will not work because the phpinclude_start template no longer exist in versions 3.5 and higher. So for 3.5 users ignore step 2 and use 2A.

Plugin System
Add new Plugin

Hook Location: global_start
Title: navbar2
Plugin PHP Code:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
3. Now put the following command in you header or what ever template where your want the new navbar to be displayed (samples of where to put them are in the attached photos and directions are in 5A, B, C, D.):
PHP Code:
$navbar2 
4. Since the template is uncached you will have an extra query on each page. To fix, open global.php
Find:
PHP Code:
// misc useful 
Add below:
PHP Code:
'navbar2'
5A. Under current Navigation / Breadcrumb Templaters - navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5B. On top of forums tables:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / PAGENAV POPUP -->
</if>
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5C. Under your header:
Find:
Code:
<br />
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Above that add:
Code:
$navbar2
5D. Top of current navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Under that add:
Code:
$navbar2
vBadvance CMPS using vB 3.5 or higher. To get this working with the homepage you will have to do the following.

Go into your ADMINCP-->vBa CPMS-->Default Setting-->Portal Output Global Variables and add navbar2 in the block there and save it.

Arcaded hack. You will need to go into your darcaded hack and edit a line. Here are the directions:
Go to you arcade/functions/functions.php
open it with a text editor:
Find:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits;
Replace with:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits, $navbar2;

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:43 PM
EasyTarget EasyTarget is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 660
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

attroll I was wondering if you could add some code (just with lots of comments) so that we could use a login like in the default navbar. I'd like to use this to replace the default navbar on some pages I'm using which are built with webtemplates.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-02-2006, 11:40 PM
TitanJeff's Avatar
TitanJeff TitanJeff is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 208
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Many thanks for this.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-06-2006, 04:01 PM
Ohiosweetheart Ohiosweetheart is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 2,291
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

where do I look, to find global.php as instructed in step #4 above?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-06-2006, 04:21 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohiosweetheart
question....for 3.5.3 do we still have to make the 2nd navbar template?
I am confused at what you are asking.

It depends on how you install this as to whether you need the 2nd navbar template. If you installing it in the default navbar as explained above in Note#1 then you do not have to do any of the other steps.

If your not doing it as described in Note#1 then you are going to have to go through all the other steps.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-06-2006, 04:54 PM
Ohiosweetheart Ohiosweetheart is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 2,291
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

LOL... I edited my post almost immediately, but it must have been slow.

I figured all that out and already have all my styles done. You might want to add in your note above that if they do the 2nd navbar scenario they have to do that for each style they have installed on their forum. Alot of people have more than 1 or 2 styles.... I have 6
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-25-2006, 11:33 AM
patsalko patsalko is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 31
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hello
Nice hack!
But I have VbAdvanced 2.1.0 and the hack does not work with it.
I followed the directions you gave but it does not show on the main page.

Any idea??
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-27-2006, 02:08 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by patsalko
Hello
Nice hack!
But I have VbAdvanced 2.1.0 and the hack does not work with it.
I followed the directions you gave but it does not show on the main page.

Any idea??
I just installed VbAdvanced 2.1.0 into my site about 5 minutes ago and I have it working with the main page. Did you do this step that was listed in the directions.

vBadvance CMPS using vB 3.5 or higher. To get this working with the homepage you will have to do the following.

Go into your ADMINCP-->vBa CPMS-->Default Setting-->Portal Output Global Variables and add navbar2 in the block there and save it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-06-2006, 11:08 PM
Ohiosweetheart Ohiosweetheart is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 2,291
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok I have a question.... I have my estore on my navbar2 template, but the estore popup menu code calls for it to be placed on the navbar template above the <!-- / NAVBAR POPUP MENUS --> code.

But I noticed that you have a pop up (or drop down) menu on your second nav bar... where did you place the code??
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:48 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohiosweetheart
Ok I have a question.... I have my estore on my navbar2 template, but the estore popup menu code calls for it to be placed on the navbar template above the <!-- / NAVBAR POPUP MENUS --> code.

But I noticed that you have a pop up (or drop down) menu on your second nav bar... where did you place the code??
Does the estore require a drop down menu or just a single link?

If you could post the code that the estore need to have in the navbar I could help you.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-15-2006, 05:05 AM
manutdvn manutdvn is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 147
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you. Great hack. But I donot understand step 3. I want to creat like 5A but I donot know how to do. Where I should put this? "$navbar2"

Can you tell me?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05612 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,324KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (10)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete