Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
AJAX Tabs Content Script - Version 3.0 (YUI) Details »»
AJAX Tabs Content Script - Version 3.0 (YUI)
Version: 3.0, by bobster65 bobster65 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Add-On Releases - Version: 3.8.x Rating:
Released: 09-16-2008 Last Update: Never Installs: 125
Additional Files Translations  
No support by the author.

AJAX Tabs Content Script - Version 3.0 (YUI)

This is written for implementation within both vBa CMPS AND within vbulletin (can add to any existing vbulletin template or custom template for use on custom vB pages)

Description/Whats changed within this new release?: This newest released version is based on YUI TabView http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/tabview/.

NOTE
: This is an initial release with some of the basic features of YUI TabView. More Powerful Enhancements Addons/Enhanced Configuration settings will be released as soon as I write them up. I already have multiple enhancements underway. All Content Files that have been release with previous versions still work.

Note: I've included sample content files in the attached Zip File to use with the step by step how to.


THE BASICS TO GET YOU STARTED

The Following 5 easy steps will get the base system installed. Once you have the base system installed and tested, then move onto the Advanced Customization Steps.

Step 1. Upload the clientscript directory (located in the attached Zip File) to your vbulletin root directory (This will add all the new YUI files to the existing vbulletin clientscript/yui directory).

Step 2. EDIT and Upload the 3 sample content files (located in the SAMPLE CONTENT FILES FOLDER within the attached Zip File) to your vbulletin root directory.

NOTE: Edit the 3 sample content files to change the MODIFICATION CONTROL OPTIONS (starting at line 31) for your testing (mainly the ForumIDs so you can see sample result data)

NOTE 2: For those of you that have used previous versions, you can use your existing content files. (simple edit the template in step 4 to use your existing content files to test instead of the samples)

Step 3. Add the below code to the end of your HEADINCLUDE TEMPLATE.

Code:
<!-- YUI CSS for TabView -->
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="clientscript/yui/tabview/assets/tabview.css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="clientscript/yui/tabview/assets/tabview-skin.css" />
<!-- JavaScript Dependencies for Tabview: -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/utilities/utilities.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/element/element-beta-min.js"></script>
<!-- Source file for TabView -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/tabview/tabview-min.js"></script>
<!-- Source file for Dispatcher -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/tabview/dispatcher-min.js"></script>

STEPS 4 and 5 are for vBa CMPS Use Only.... Skip these steps and follow the ALT Step for vB Pages.

Step 4 (FOR vBa CMPS ONLY). Create a new TEMPLATE Module.

Module Title: What ever you want to name it.(ie, Tab Content)
Template to Include: What ever you want to name it (ie, Tab_Content_Main)
Select the Styles you want it added to.
Template Content: Paste the below code into the box.
Use Module Wrapper Template: NO
Usergroup Permissions: Set your perms to your liking

Code:
<!-- YUI Tabs Display Start -->

<div id="tab_container"></div>

<script type="text/javascript">
var tabView = new YAHOO.widget.TabView();

	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 1', dataSrc: 'tabsample1.php', cacheData: false, active: true }), tabView);
	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 2', dataSrc: 'tabsample2.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);
   	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 3', dataSrc: 'tabsample3.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);
   	tabView.appendTo('tab_container');

</script>

<!-- YUI Tabs Display End  -->

Step 5 (FOR vBa CMPS ONLY). Add the New Module to a page and test it out. You should have a Tabbed Module with 3 Tabs (tab 1, tab 2 and tab 3) and all 3 should display a layout similar to the Recent Threads Module (unless you used your own custom content modules).


ALT Step for vB Pages(To Use on any vB Page). Simply add the following code to any vBulletin Template for where you want Tabs to display.

Code:
<!-- YUI Tabs Display Start -->

<div id="tab_container"></div>

<script type="text/javascript">
var tabView = new YAHOO.widget.TabView();

	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 1', dataSrc: 'tabsample1.php', cacheData: false, active: true }), tabView);
	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 2', dataSrc: 'tabsample2.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);
   	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 3', dataSrc: 'tabsample3.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);
   	tabView.appendTo('tab_container');

</script>

<!-- YUI Tabs Display End  -->
Now that you have added the code to a template, test the page out. You should have a Tabbed Layout with 3 Tabs (tab 1, tab 2 and tab 3) and all 3 should display a layout similar to the Recent Threads Module (unless you used your own custom content modules)



ADVANCED CUSTOMIZATION

Now that you have the new base system installed, its time to Customize the Tabs. Customization includes CSS to match your style(s), Controlling the Tabs and Custom Content for each Tab


TABS

To control the tabs, you will need to modify the template created in Step 4.

Lets examine a tab (the line of code in the template for each tab). The first example is for the ACTIVE tab (the one that is launched when the page is first displayed). The 2nd is for all other tabs since you only have one active tab.

What you need to be concerned with is what is inside the {} (I've highlited this in RED)

lable: This is the Display Name of the Tab
dataSrc: This is the content file associated with the specific tab
cacheData: This allows you to control whether the content from the dataSrc is to be cached or to be called each time the tab is selected. Set this to false if you want the data to be updated when you click on the tab. Set it to True if you want the data to be cached upon page launch
active: true .. only use this for the first tab.

ACTIVE TAB EXAMPLE
Code:
YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 1', dataSrc: 'tabsample1.php', cacheData: false, active: true }), tabView);
NON ACTIVE TAB EXAMPLE
Code:
YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 2', dataSrc: 'tabsample2.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);

CSS

You will probably notice that there are TWO CSS Files that are being called in the HEADINCLUDE template (tabview.css & tabview-skin.css). I broke the CSS into two files so that the control elements that SHOULD NOT be edited are contained in one file (tabview.css) and the control elements that CAN be edited are in the other (tabview-skin.css).

I made plenty of comments in the tabview-skin.css file that should help you change the tab colors to match your style. Just simply look for the Color Elements and match them to the color elements of your Styles CSS. I am FAR from a CSS guru.. I learned by playing around with the settings

The tabview-skin.css file is located in: clientscript/yui/tabview/assets/tabview-skin.css


Content Files

Please see posts 2&3 of this thread for additional enhancements. Members are encourage to provide their custom content file for inclusion in Post 3.

Download Now

File Type: zip AJAX Tabs YUI.zip (101.0 KB, 1052 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
3 благодарности(ей) от:
caoducanh9x, kotkerk

Comments
  #172  
Old 07-21-2009, 11:32 PM
DjEddie DjEddie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 244
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi,... does this work on vb 3.8.3 . or is it not meant to lol. i have it workin on one site which is 3.8.1, which works fine in FF and IE ... but on my 3.8.3 site.. it only shows in FF .. but not in IE

Any suggestions...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 07-22-2009, 04:15 PM
masterweb's Avatar
masterweb masterweb is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 164
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Downloaded and installed (also marked as installed plus nominated), thanks dude for your great job... go ahead and release some new content files too
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:45 PM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

need the thread prefix to show in the tabs on both my form tabs and vbacmps tabs. Since the current version does not handle thread prefixes.... I installed a inline thread icon rotator because I need the prefix to show in my help forum where threads are marked as SOLVED or UNSOLVED.... At least with the thread icon rotator I can now rotate between the ? icon and a check mark. So I can quickly see what is a question that is unsolved and what is checked for solved.

If anyone need a check mark for post icons for their editor here is mine in transparent PNG format.

Looking forward this this set of mods' next version with new content files.
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 07-29-2009, 11:43 PM
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,169
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotsume View Post
need the thread prefix to show in the tabs on both my form tabs and vbacmps tabs. Since the current version does not handle thread prefixes.... I installed a inline thread icon rotator because I need the prefix to show in my help forum where threads are marked as SOLVED or UNSOLVED.... At least with the thread icon rotator I can now rotate between the ? icon and a check mark. So I can quickly see what is a question that is unsolved and what is checked for solved.

If anyone need a check mark for post icons for their editor here is mine in transparent PNG format.

Looking forward this this set of mods' next version with new content files.
here is a recent threads content file that includes thread prefixes.. not sure which one of the recent thread content files you are using tho (There are many versions running around), so you might need to do some editing to this one to match the one you are using (this one is the most recent that I've released here or at vBa)..
Attached Files
File Type: php tab_recent_threads.php (10.0 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 07-30-2009, 12:27 AM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok I will try it out in a new tab is all and compare. THANKS!
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 07-30-2009, 12:46 AM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Oh BUMMER! your new version is missing the Forum Name. I need the Forum Name to replace the 2 columns of replies and views.

Here is the file I am using. Can you add the thread prefix code to my file version please. I really need my version of the file to include the thread prefix and keep forum names. Replies and views is much less useful for me. THANKS!

MY SUGGESTION:
We need to have these content files with even more code options in them we can comment out or include that are described in the file like the editable section towards the top. So if some want replies and views they can uncomment that block of code and if others want Forum Names they can uncomment that and block what they don't want.
Attached Files
File Type: php tab_help.php (9.5 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 07-30-2009, 12:51 AM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Security Issue Question
My site is a locked members only site. No content is shown to guests.

HOWEVER! Now that I am using your tab mods if you access the tab php files directly a bunch of private info can been seen. How can I prevent this please.

THANKS!
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:01 AM
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,169
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotsume View Post
Oh BUMMER! your new version is missing the Forum Name. I need the Forum Name to replace the 2 columns of replies and views.

Here is the file I am using. Can you add the thread prefix code to my file version please. I really need my version of the file to include the thread prefix and keep forum names. Replies and views is much less useful for me. THANKS!

MY SUGGESTION:
We need to have these content files with even more code options in them we can comment out or include that are described in the file like the editable section towards the top. So if some want replies and views they can uncomment that block of code and if others want Forum Names they can uncomment that and block what they don't want.
here ya go..
Attached Files
File Type: php tab_help.php (9.6 KB, 13 views)
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:04 AM
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,169
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotsume View Post
Security Issue Question
My site is a locked members only site. No content is shown to guests.

HOWEVER! Now that I am using your tab mods if you access the tab php files directly a bunch of private info can been seen. How can I prevent this please.

THANKS!
wrap the content file(s) with a permissions conditional .. simple as that
Reply With Quote
  #181  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:14 AM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
wrap the content file(s) with a permissions conditional .. simple as that
I know my name says coder but there are things I don't know yet....

For instance I could use some code help with that. PLEASE

Maybe usng my help file as an example.

SUGGESTION 2

You need to buy your own church so we all can worship you as god! HAHAHA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05148 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,369KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (2)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (4)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete