Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
AJAX Tabs Content Script - Version 3.0 (YUI) Details »»
AJAX Tabs Content Script - Version 3.0 (YUI)
Version: 3.0, by bobster65 bobster65 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Add-On Releases - Version: 3.8.x Rating:
Released: 09-16-2008 Last Update: Never Installs: 125
Additional Files Translations  
No support by the author.

AJAX Tabs Content Script - Version 3.0 (YUI)

This is written for implementation within both vBa CMPS AND within vbulletin (can add to any existing vbulletin template or custom template for use on custom vB pages)

Description/Whats changed within this new release?: This newest released version is based on YUI TabView http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/tabview/.

NOTE
: This is an initial release with some of the basic features of YUI TabView. More Powerful Enhancements Addons/Enhanced Configuration settings will be released as soon as I write them up. I already have multiple enhancements underway. All Content Files that have been release with previous versions still work.

Note: I've included sample content files in the attached Zip File to use with the step by step how to.


THE BASICS TO GET YOU STARTED

The Following 5 easy steps will get the base system installed. Once you have the base system installed and tested, then move onto the Advanced Customization Steps.

Step 1. Upload the clientscript directory (located in the attached Zip File) to your vbulletin root directory (This will add all the new YUI files to the existing vbulletin clientscript/yui directory).

Step 2. EDIT and Upload the 3 sample content files (located in the SAMPLE CONTENT FILES FOLDER within the attached Zip File) to your vbulletin root directory.

NOTE: Edit the 3 sample content files to change the MODIFICATION CONTROL OPTIONS (starting at line 31) for your testing (mainly the ForumIDs so you can see sample result data)

NOTE 2: For those of you that have used previous versions, you can use your existing content files. (simple edit the template in step 4 to use your existing content files to test instead of the samples)

Step 3. Add the below code to the end of your HEADINCLUDE TEMPLATE.

Code:
<!-- YUI CSS for TabView -->
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="clientscript/yui/tabview/assets/tabview.css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="clientscript/yui/tabview/assets/tabview-skin.css" />
<!-- JavaScript Dependencies for Tabview: -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/utilities/utilities.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/element/element-beta-min.js"></script>
<!-- Source file for TabView -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/tabview/tabview-min.js"></script>
<!-- Source file for Dispatcher -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/yui/tabview/dispatcher-min.js"></script>

STEPS 4 and 5 are for vBa CMPS Use Only.... Skip these steps and follow the ALT Step for vB Pages.

Step 4 (FOR vBa CMPS ONLY). Create a new TEMPLATE Module.

Module Title: What ever you want to name it.(ie, Tab Content)
Template to Include: What ever you want to name it (ie, Tab_Content_Main)
Select the Styles you want it added to.
Template Content: Paste the below code into the box.
Use Module Wrapper Template: NO
Usergroup Permissions: Set your perms to your liking

Code:
<!-- YUI Tabs Display Start -->

<div id="tab_container"></div>

<script type="text/javascript">
var tabView = new YAHOO.widget.TabView();

	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 1', dataSrc: 'tabsample1.php', cacheData: false, active: true }), tabView);
	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 2', dataSrc: 'tabsample2.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);
   	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 3', dataSrc: 'tabsample3.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);
   	tabView.appendTo('tab_container');

</script>

<!-- YUI Tabs Display End  -->

Step 5 (FOR vBa CMPS ONLY). Add the New Module to a page and test it out. You should have a Tabbed Module with 3 Tabs (tab 1, tab 2 and tab 3) and all 3 should display a layout similar to the Recent Threads Module (unless you used your own custom content modules).


ALT Step for vB Pages(To Use on any vB Page). Simply add the following code to any vBulletin Template for where you want Tabs to display.

Code:
<!-- YUI Tabs Display Start -->

<div id="tab_container"></div>

<script type="text/javascript">
var tabView = new YAHOO.widget.TabView();

	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 1', dataSrc: 'tabsample1.php', cacheData: false, active: true }), tabView);
	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 2', dataSrc: 'tabsample2.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);
   	YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 3', dataSrc: 'tabsample3.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);
   	tabView.appendTo('tab_container');

</script>

<!-- YUI Tabs Display End  -->
Now that you have added the code to a template, test the page out. You should have a Tabbed Layout with 3 Tabs (tab 1, tab 2 and tab 3) and all 3 should display a layout similar to the Recent Threads Module (unless you used your own custom content modules)



ADVANCED CUSTOMIZATION

Now that you have the new base system installed, its time to Customize the Tabs. Customization includes CSS to match your style(s), Controlling the Tabs and Custom Content for each Tab


TABS

To control the tabs, you will need to modify the template created in Step 4.

Lets examine a tab (the line of code in the template for each tab). The first example is for the ACTIVE tab (the one that is launched when the page is first displayed). The 2nd is for all other tabs since you only have one active tab.

What you need to be concerned with is what is inside the {} (I've highlited this in RED)

lable: This is the Display Name of the Tab
dataSrc: This is the content file associated with the specific tab
cacheData: This allows you to control whether the content from the dataSrc is to be cached or to be called each time the tab is selected. Set this to false if you want the data to be updated when you click on the tab. Set it to True if you want the data to be cached upon page launch
active: true .. only use this for the first tab.

ACTIVE TAB EXAMPLE
Code:
YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 1', dataSrc: 'tabsample1.php', cacheData: false, active: true }), tabView);
NON ACTIVE TAB EXAMPLE
Code:
YAHOO.plugin.Dispatcher.delegate( new YAHOO.widget.Tab({ label: 'tab 2', dataSrc: 'tabsample2.php', cacheData: false }), tabView);

CSS

You will probably notice that there are TWO CSS Files that are being called in the HEADINCLUDE template (tabview.css & tabview-skin.css). I broke the CSS into two files so that the control elements that SHOULD NOT be edited are contained in one file (tabview.css) and the control elements that CAN be edited are in the other (tabview-skin.css).

I made plenty of comments in the tabview-skin.css file that should help you change the tab colors to match your style. Just simply look for the Color Elements and match them to the color elements of your Styles CSS. I am FAR from a CSS guru.. I learned by playing around with the settings

The tabview-skin.css file is located in: clientscript/yui/tabview/assets/tabview-skin.css


Content Files

Please see posts 2&3 of this thread for additional enhancements. Members are encourage to provide their custom content file for inclusion in Post 3.

Download Now

File Type: zip AJAX Tabs YUI.zip (101.0 KB, 1052 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
3 благодарности(ей) от:
caoducanh9x, kotkerk

Comments
  #162  
Old 07-16-2009, 04:28 PM
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,169
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JVCode View Post
How do I add custom content? the tutorial doesn't tell me how.
Simply create your own content files.. can be as basic is simple html in a .html file or as complex as you want with php in a .php file .. I've provided a few common content files (like recent threads and blogs) that you can modify to your liking, but the true power is coming up with your own custom content files..
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 07-16-2009, 04:43 PM
JVCode's Avatar
JVCode JVCode is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 137
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ah, I get it now... thanks for your quick reply - I'm already using your other script for my A-Z game tabs, and I'll use this to generate what new 'Achievements' 'Media' and etc, have been added.

ConsoleCommunity
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 07-21-2009, 07:45 AM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Include Thread Prefix in Recent Threads?

How can I include thread prefixes in the recent threads tab? I really need that.

Attached is the file I am using.

Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: php tab_instructions.php (9.5 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 07-21-2009, 01:20 PM
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,169
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotsume View Post
Include Thread Prefix in Recent Threads?

How can I include thread prefixes in the recent threads tab? I really need that.

Attached is the file I am using.

Thanks!
I need up update the recent threads content file(s) to include them. They were written prior to thread prefixes... just need to update the SQL statement and the output is all..
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 07-21-2009, 06:32 PM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
I need up update the recent threads content file(s) to include them. They were written prior to thread prefixes... just need to update the SQL statement and the output is all..
Ummm is there any chance of getting that soon? I just busted my @SS with another designer getting a certain prefix mod working which allows me to open and close threads based on inline prefix changing to create a help forum where the prefixs are color coded. Sort of useless in the help tab I made with your mod doesn't even list the prefixs in the first place.

Is this the point where I have to get down and beg? :erm:
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 07-21-2009, 06:56 PM
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,169
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotsume View Post
Ummm is there any chance of getting that soon? I just busted my @SS with another designer getting a certain prefix mod working which allows me to open and close threads based on inline prefix changing to create a help forum where the prefixs are color coded. Sort of useless in the help tab I made with your mod doesn't even list the prefixs in the first place.

Is this the point where I have to get down and beg? :erm:
Ya, I will be updating a few of the basic content files next week (recent threads will be one of them)..
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 07-21-2009, 07:18 PM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
Ya, I will be updating a few of the basic content files next week (recent threads will be one of them)..
THANKS! So needed! BTW aren't the content files missing a line break code to provide a space between vba blocks which are underneath...
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 07-21-2009, 07:27 PM
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,169
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yotsume View Post
THANKS! So needed! BTW aren't the content files missing a line break code to provide a space between vba blocks which are underneath...
That would be handled by the Module Wrapper, not each content file.
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:01 PM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
That would be handled by the Module Wrapper, not each content file.
OPPS missed that so I added the br code to each of my content files which seemed to work. LOL

Better to place it in one central place then in many! DOH! Ill look into correcting that.

THANKS!
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:38 PM
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Chatbox Evo and Tabs Bug

There is a problem with the tabs and Chatbox Evo. Since I have my tabs block under the chatbox block, the drop menu inside the chatbox where we can admin the messages opens up under the Tabs blocking the view of the menu.

(See attached screenshot)

Can this be fixed?

THANKS!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Chatbox Menu Under Tabs.jpg (105.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06418 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,368KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (7)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (2)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (3)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete