Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
datastore cache to XCache - boost your vBulletin Details »»
datastore cache to XCache - boost your vBulletin
Version: 0.8.5, by phpxcache phpxcache is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2008 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Board Optimization - Version: 3.6.5 Rating:
Released: 03-02-2007 Last Update: 03-03-2007 Installs: 142
Code Changes Additional Files  
No support by the author.


(note: do not apply this patch on vBulletin 3.7 as it's included already)
This patch allow you to use XCache as a datastore cache in vBulletin. This is definitely your choice if you have installed and enabled XCache on you server already.

Take care that this is a beta version and was not heavily tested. And i'm not familiar with vBulletin source code as i just started reading it today, but i don't have any difficulty reading it thanks to my years of php skill

Take aware that some vB plugin is not compatible with vB_datastore_*, not just vB_datastore_XCache. So, in case you find vB_datastore_XCache won't work, you'd better try datastore to file or memcache. If one of the others works but not vB_datastore_XCache, do report it to me so i can fix it.

Pre-requirement
Install the modification
for those of you who can't run "patch", u may patch the file manually
  • download Attachment 61372 (class_datastore_xcache.php)
  • save the file as vBulletin.3.6/upload/includes/class_datastore_xcache.php
  • open vBulletin.3.6/upload/includes/class_datastore.php in your favor editor
  • add a line in class_datastore.php (see below)
  • update upload/includes/config.php to enable it (see below)

example class_datastore.php after modification:
PHP Code:
        }
        return 
true;
    }
}

// add class_datastore_xcache, enable it in config.php
require_once(DIR '/includes/class_datastore_xcache.php');

/*======================================================================*\
|| ####################################################################
|| # Downloaded: 12:33, Fri Mar 2nd 2007
|| # CVS: $RCSfile$ - $Revision: 15474 $
|| ####################################################################
\*======================================================================*/ 
example config.php after modification:
PHP Code:

    
// vB_Datastore_Filecache  - for using a cache file
// $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';
$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_XCache';
    
// vB_Datastore_Memcached - for using a Memcache server
    // It is also necessary to specify the hostname or IP address and the port the server is listening on 
Trouble Shooting
q. i have multiple vBulletin instance installed, the seems to mix data after install this plugin
a. this applies to apc too because, if you wanna fix it, try
open class_core.php, look for:
$this->prefix =& $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'];
and modify to:
$this->prefix = $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'] . $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME']; // or HTTP_HOST

q. Warning: unserialize() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in $a.php on line $b
a. upgrade your plugin/hack that $a.php belongs to, e.g. vbjournal/vbgallery etc. OR open $a.php and locate at line $b, remove unserialize call, e.g.:
replace $var = unserialize($this->data);
with $var = $this->data;
be careful do not remove the whole line, just the unseralize( and )

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #162  
Old 11-28-2007, 11:39 AM
rwilkins108's Avatar
rwilkins108 rwilkins108 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 77
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I've searched this mod for vbseo as in 3.1 it now supports xcache, but the only references I found were that vbseo works, but no information about the new version. Anyone know if there's any conflict between this mod and vbseo's xcache support?

Thanks,
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 11-28-2007, 01:03 PM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm running vbseo 3.1, with xcache and this mod.
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 11-28-2007, 02:14 PM
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 59
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phpxcache View Post
this applies to apc too, if you wanna fix it, try
open class_core.php, look for:
$this->prefix =& $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'];
and modify to:
$this->prefix = $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'] . $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME']; // or HTTP_HOST
Ok yah i could try that... thats a good idea.. I did setup memcached for my other forum as a test..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
I'm running vbseo 3.1, with xcache and this mod.
ditto that, same here.. two boards and no issue.. although my xcache deleted count never goes up.. odd..
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 11-28-2007, 02:19 PM
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 59
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phpxcache View Post
this applies to apc too, if you wanna fix it, try
open class_core.php, look for:
$this->prefix =& $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'];
and modify to:
$this->prefix = $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'] . $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME']; // or HTTP_HOST
Just tried this, it works great! thanks! now i'll killl mcached..
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 11-30-2007, 10:37 AM
SemperFideles's Avatar
SemperFideles SemperFideles is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 223
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I had to uninstall this hack as it caused issues with products as I was installing them. I actually think it is more of an Xcache issue:

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...20#post1311520
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 11-30-2007, 10:40 AM
SemperFideles's Avatar
SemperFideles SemperFideles is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 223
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwilkins108 View Post
I've searched this mod for vbseo as in 3.1 it now supports xcache, but the only references I found were that vbseo works, but no information about the new version. Anyone know if there's any conflict between this mod and vbseo's xcache support?

Thanks,
Ron
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
I'm running vbseo 3.1, with xcache and this mod.
I was running this mod and had xCache support turned on for vBSEO 3.1.0 but ran into the problem of the preceding post. Disabling this hack solved the problem while I've been able to leave Xcache on for vBSEO. I may try APC though based on that thread that I just referenced.
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 11-30-2007, 10:07 PM
the Sandman's Avatar
the Sandman the Sandman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm running this mod as well as the Template Cache mod on a dual core dual Opteron 265 with 4 GB RAM. XCache has been running on the most recent settings for 12 hours or so:



Why do you suppose there are so many misses (and so many hits) in the var#3 cache?
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 11-30-2007, 11:15 PM
SemperFideles's Avatar
SemperFideles SemperFideles is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 223
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sandman,

Misses, hits, and clogs are OK. What you need to watch out for are OOM's. I've found my server will actually crash if I don't watch that. If that happens then bump up your xcache.size and/or xcache.var.size until you hit the sweet spot.
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 12-01-2007, 05:39 AM
Zia's Avatar
Zia Zia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: golpo.net
Posts: 931
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the Sandman View Post
I'm running this mod as well as the Template Cache mod on a dual core dual Opteron 265 with 4 GB RAM. XCache has been running on the most recent settings for 12 hours or so:



Why do you suppose there are so many misses (and so many hits) in the var#3 cache?
regarding the misses & clogs- many times i have discussed with the author(phpxcache)
he always assured me..this is not a problem---this is purely okay.

mm do u mind to post ur var.cache list's screen shot -how come ur site got that much :erm: varbiable to be cached ,i know TAZ ..
either ur using temp.cache hack by lendy ?

---
and yes we are using vbseo3 gold + xcache+datastore (this hack) no problem at all
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 12-01-2007, 05:42 AM
Hemanth's Avatar
Hemanth Hemanth is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 83
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Misses, hits, and clogs are OK. What you need to watch out for are OOM's.
Thanks.. But what are OOM's?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.09077 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,329KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (7)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete