Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.7 > vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Additional navbar with dropdowns Details »»
Additional navbar with dropdowns
Version: 1.02, by attroll attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Miscellaneous Hacks - Version: 3.7.5 Rating:
Released: 12-25-2007 Last Update: 06-29-2008 Installs: 306
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

After upgrading and supporting my 3.0.0 and 3.5.3 version of this hack, I have decided it was time to step into the plugin world to make this easier for people to use.

Despite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.0 up to the most recent version of 3.8.

What this does is create another navbar with drop down menus by typing $navbar2 in any of your templates. It is just like the navbar that comes with VB.

I put a lot of description tags in the navbar2 template that gets installed to help explain what everything does. Once you understand what is going on here you can removed these. With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this additional navbar.

Upgrade
To upgrade you will want to reimport this XML file and edit your options accordingly.



1.02
  • Tweak it a bit to get the border on the top of the navbar. There was not boarder on the top of the navbar in the previous version. It was not really noticeable unless you have the navbar directly below the header area.
1.01
  • removed the plugin with the Hook "parse_templates" because it was not need.
  • Added plugin with the Hook ?global_start?, this will work with, PhotoPlog, vBAdvanced, Arcade. This will alleviate having to manually add code in the php files as was required in the past.
1.00
  • Initial release.
To install the this
1. Download the zipped file.

2. Unzip the file.

3. Import the product-navbar2.xml into your Plugins & Products? Manage Plugins.

4. Next you will have to decide where you want the navbar2 to be displayed. I have included a few options below.

5A. Under current (original) Navigation bar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5B. On top of forums tables:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / PAGENAV POPUP -->
</if>
Below that place:

Code:
$navbar2
5C. Top of current navbar:
Find:
Code:
<br />
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Above that add:

Code:
$navbar2
5D. Under your header:
Find:
Code:
<br />
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Below that add:

Code:
$navbar2
5E. Under VB navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
Below that add:
Code:
$navbar2
Note:
This should now work with vBAdvance CMPS, Arcade, PhotoPlog with no other modifications. Many thanks to Mike-D for his help with this.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #152  
Old 09-11-2008, 05:40 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daisyboo View Post
Hi Attroll - just wondering if you had had a look yet
I had actually forgot to look at it. Things have been hectic around here lately.

I just got done looking at the code you posted.

You stated that you want to move the vBExperience link from you navbar 1 to you navbar 2. I do not see any vBExperience link or code in the code that you posted so I can not tell you what could to move. If you have the whole template code for you navbar 1 then send me a pm and I will send you my email address and you can send me it in a text attachment.

Code:
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:$stylevar[cellspacing]px; border-top-width:0px">
    <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
    <tr align="center">
        <if condition="$show['member']">
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[user_cp]</a></td>
        </if>
        <if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="register.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[register]</a></td>
        </if>
        $template_hook[navbar_buttons_left]
        <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="5">$vbphrase[faq]</a></td>
        <if condition="$vboptions['enablememberlist']">
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="memberlist.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></td>
        </if>
        <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="calendar.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[calendar]</a></td>
                          <if condition="$show['popups']">
            <if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
                <if condition="$show['member']">
                <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
                <else />
                <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
                </if>
                <td id="navbar_search" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[search]</a> <if condition="$show['quicksearch']"><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_search"); </script></if></td>
            </if>
            <if condition="$show['member']">
                <td id="usercptools" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#usercptools" accesskey="3">$vbphrase[quick_links]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></td>
            </if>
        <else />
            <if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
                <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4">$vbphrase[search]</a></td>
                <if condition="$show['member']">
                <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
                <else />
                <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
                </if>
            </if>
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
            <if condition="$show['member']">
                <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,menubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,width=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_contacts]</a></td>
            </if>
        </if>
        $template_hook[navbar_buttons_right]
        <if condition="$show['member']">
            <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out('$vbphrase[sure_you_want_to_log_out]')">$vbphrase[log_out]</a></td>
        </if>
        </tr>
    </table>
</div>
<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 09-16-2008, 06:59 PM
edytwinky edytwinky is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 512
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I just downloaded the newest version. It fixes my arcade navbar and my new posts issue.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 11-07-2008, 12:42 AM
kylek kylek is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 798
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks!! Works with 3.8.0 beta 2.
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 11-11-2008, 06:50 AM
Nadeemjp Nadeemjp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 601
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Code:
5A. Under current (original) Navigation bar:
Find:

Code:
<!-- / breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Below that place:

Code:
$navbar2
i added just like this, but still it appears on top of my original navbar. what could be the problem?
i want it to be dispalyed under my original navbar. any help?
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 11-11-2008, 06:52 AM
Nadeemjp Nadeemjp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 601
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i am using 3.7.4 by the way
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 11-13-2008, 05:54 PM
dmknights dmknights is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 460
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

* Installed & Nominated*
Very useful for members that want lots of navbar links
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 11-17-2008, 07:54 PM
tom212 tom212 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 26
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
i added just like this, but still it appears on top of my original navbar. what could be the problem?
i want it to be dispalyed under my original navbar. any help?
Odd, mine does the exact same thing. Seems too simple to mess up.

Any ideas what the problem is?

Thanks!

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 11-18-2008, 06:45 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nadeemjp View Post
Code:
5A. Under current (original) Navigation bar:
Find:
 
Code:
<!-- / breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Below that place:
 
Code:
$navbar2
i added just like this, but still it appears on top of my original navbar. what could be the problem?
i want it to be dispalyed under my original navbar. any help?
I think what you are doing is putting it under this one:
Code:
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->

When it should be under this one:
Code:
<!-- / breadcrumb, login, pm info -->

There is a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 11-21-2008, 10:04 AM
tom212 tom212 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 26
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Attroll,

You rock!

Thank you for the awesome support.

Tom

.
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 11-22-2008, 11:58 PM
momo2 momo2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 327
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

you uploaded your setup with all ur settings to ur forum lol
least you can do give us a clean product.. not with ur forum info in them
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05281 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,332KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (15)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete